PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits

Simple, no tool assembly Chew-proof all natural construction Perfect for Rabbits Made exclusively for PetSmart
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
7 of 15(47%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Review 1 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits

November 6, 2013
by Nette32211
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
You do not really get what you pay for on this since the cage is not cheap. As a new rabbit owner I am extremely disappointed that a company would make a cage that does not have a slide out pan for easy cleaning. You have to take the cage off, move the rabbit out, lift out the bottom and then you have access to the pan. In order to keep my home urine free I need to remove the urine spots promptly. This cage does not allow ready access for cleaning. I am sooooooooo disappointed. At least the bottom could have been attached to the cage walls, which would allow someone to pick up the cage to get to the pan.
Cons: price, hard to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

very good

March 1, 2013
by dirab
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I got this for my small rabbit we have a it for over 2yr and it is still like now we use a litter pan with it becaues it started to rust on the pan other than that we love it.
Pros: sturdy
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Fell apart

January 4, 2013
by rexrugby
fromWest Babylon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
The metal on this cage was very good. It fell apart by the handles and the hinges fell off. Since I threw the box away I couldn't return it.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: low quality
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Fabulous! :)

June 19, 2012
by UnicornLoverWithDonuts
fromUnicornville, Rainbowtown
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this cage when I realized that my mini bunn Mickey shouldn't be running around my house at night.
She really has never been in a cage in her past homes, so she was kinda freaked out when I locked her in the thing. The only thing I hate would have to be the grid thingy. Its super annoying, and her bedding falls through and its just- ugh. But the cage is very spacious which is a great thing for my girl. Mickey totally loves it so far.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

OK starter cage but not for long !

September 3, 2011
by Rachel1324
fromCherryhill, nj
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
I had this cage for my baby coco when she was little. As MOST of you who have rabbits... should know they can't have wire on the bottom. So i had to remove that grid. She was okay with it, the bars bend and break very easily. Its VERY low so they can't stand up. She out grew it in 2 months. I actually have her in a c&c cage now which she LOVES and that giant cage was the same price as this ;] But it does make a good travel cage. Fits nicely in the back of the suv
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: low quality
+9points
15of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Not for rabbits

August 19, 2011
by costello
fromBuffalo, New York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
i bought this for my rabbit smuffy and she didnt complain. (she was a rescue) but i did! i didnt know this when i purchased it but drop through cages are VERY BAD. they hurt the bunnys feet and they are pain full to sleep on! your rabbits cage if you must have a drop through cage MUST HAVE at least 1/3 or 1/2 of the cage a flat SOLID surface with out holes or mesh or drop through. or you can remove the drop through all together and line your bunnys home with bedding and clean it every day. which you have to do with a drop through cage anyway. bunnys are a big responsabilty and are NOT easter gifts. a bunny is more work than a dog please take that into consideration.
Cons: low quality
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

It's a great cage, but not enought to reach Great!

April 23, 2011
by raceja
fromGainesville, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
This is a good rabbit cage, worth the price and everything but it takes about 30 minutes to clean the cage thorougly and put everything back in the cage. I wouldnt recommend this cage to a busy person but to any student or someone who has enough time a week, I would recommend it. But for the rest, Its a great cage! :)
Pros: stylish, sturdy
Cons: hard to clean
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Leaks after a few months

April 14, 2011
by SweetSol95
fromDFW, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
The gel coat on the pan doesn't hold up after a few months and the pan will start leaking. If you buy this, I suggest always putting puppy pads under the pan.
Cons: low quality, hard to clean
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

really poor cage...

February 5, 2011
by NDPunk
fromBeach Park, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
I started breeding papered New Zealand white rabbits for meat production and show. I really like these rabbits and got them from Crull rabbitry in Popular Grove,IL. Before I got the rabbits, I started with a budget of $150. So i picked the cheapest cages and started with 2 Great Choice rabbit cages and some cheap toys and bowls. When I got home from petsmart i started putting the cages together, which was very easy until i was trying to clamp the cage clips down on the side of the cage... THE BARS HOLDING THE CAGE CLIPS WERE SO FLIMSY THEY FELL OFF! The cage isn't even worth the small amount of money i paid. I don't use the brackets at the bottom of the cage because it made it soooooooo hard to clean. I have the Rabbits out in the horse barn, under a heat lamp. The cage collects heat from the heat lamp and stays warm, but not too hot. It isn't a cage i will ad to my rabbitry again. Instead a better cage that is very easy to clean would be the Wahabitat cage.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

would not buy this again

January 25, 2011
by jmurray058
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Easy to assemble and one of the few that included a pan, although I wish it had legs too. Floor section does not attach to the cage, so rabbit must be take out of cage before cleaning since the cage is not totally enclosed when lifted out of pan. We resolved this by using cable ties to connect the floor to the bottom of the 4 walls. Floor section has supports, which is nice because wire is very flimsy, but supports, cage sides, and the bottom edge of the floor all sit directly in pan, which will easily become corroded. Also, floor supports sometimes prevent droppings from falling through to pan. Nice that the floor has smaller holes so their feet don't get sore, but holes are a little too small for droppings sometimes. Pan seems nice, no seams for leaking and good coat of paint so it should hold up for longer than those that are plain metal. All wire is coated, which is nice for not having sharp edges, but wire is very flimsy, not good for a large/heavy rabbit. Doors don't stay latched well due to wire being very flexible. Lightweight and able to be folded up, if necessary, although unlikely. Somewhat of an unusual size/layout compared to other brands, very long and narrow as opposed to a more square shape. Possibly too short for some rabbits that like to stand up a lot. Pan is fairly shallow, so depending on what bedding you use, it may come up through the floor wires or droppings could easily accumulate and come up through. Not many vertical wires for hanging toys/etc. and no optional opening for an exterior-mounted hopper-style feeder, which takes up a lot of room when mounted inside the cage. All in all, it works fine but probably won't last very long and will be too small for my rabbit when she is fully grown since she does not live loose in the house, the cage is her living space. If your rabbit lives loose and only uses the cage for eating/bathroom/sleeping, it will be fine, providing it is a small breed.
Pros: smooth wire, easy fold-up, well-sealed pan
Cons: flimsy wire, floor is separate, doors don't have additional latches, pan is shallow, no legs
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

New Rabbit

November 5, 2010
by kiggins800
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
This cage is very basic. It was difficult to assemle due to the sides not being perfectly straight. Wire bottom not the best for rabbits and it does have one. Overall, it is very simple and there is not much space after everything is in it.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Good cage.

March 9, 2010
by laurenr
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Like I wrote about a different cage that I have, you'll find that most of cages made for rabbits will almost always be too small.. unless you make your own.
Right now I have a baby lionhead bunny in the cage. In time I'm sure she will grow into a bit as she gets older and bigger. For now it suites her. It's actually pretty great in length.. but it could be a wider.
I probably won't spend anymore money on any bigger cages for my rabbits. I give my bun buns a whole room to run around and stretch their legs in. They pretty much only use their cages to sleep and eat in.
I thought assembly of the cage was simple. I didn't need instructions.
Also, litter train your rabbits. It's easier than cats.. and makes cleaning the cage 90% easier.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Ugh

October 21, 2009
by MidnightLovr13
fromSt. Louis, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
There is not much to say here. I got this cage about a year ago in the store. I must say the reason I am on the website in the first place is to look at new cages. I have had my rabbit, Midnight for roughly over a year now. I have been wanting to get a new cage at the beggining of 2009. Midnight was our first rabbit in a while, and this was his first cage.
I HATE IT SOOO MUCH!!!! While I was looking for a new cage tonight, I reviewed what I wanted. First, I wanted a deep bottom. My number 1 turn off is it is soo thin. It does have a underneath shelf for debree but paper and hay falls all over the floor. Now, I just use newspaper instead of shreaded paper, which is much less comfortable for my rabbit. I tried so many and different things to try to prevent this, but none of them worked. I tried things underneath the whole cage, homemade walls, cloth, and I just ended up moving the whole cage from my room to the basement the stains got so bad. Downstairs is better because it has wooden floors but I was pulling my hair out trying to keep things from falling out.
Second, I wanted a cage with a door on the roof. MY rabbit tries to bite me everytime I try to get him from the sides. Of course, that is not the cages fault but it is still a problem if you have a pet like mine. It would be muche easier to have a door at the top. Just DO NOT GET THIS CAGE. I REPEAT. DO NOT GET THIS CAGE. Don't get a starter cage, get an expensive, well rated & commented one that will last a long time without many problems.
Pros: the door is large, waterbottles easily fit in the holes, pretty good in size
Cons: terrible to clean, one door, paper falls out sooo easily
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

rabbit cage

May 27, 2009
by sharong
fromFort Jennings, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
We thought it was easy to assemble and a great starter cage. It's big enough if we decide to get another rabbit.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grreat Choice(tm) Pet Home for Rabbits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

March 8, 2009
by ILoveTortoiseDutchRabbits
fromTampa, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
This product is a good sized cage and it is of good quality. The only problem I had with it is that since there are no sides my rabbits were able to go to the bathroom out the sides. If you are considering buying this product, also consider buying a litterbox to go with it, unless you want to clean up big messes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.