PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper

Professional 2-speed small animal clipper with a detachable size 10 UltraEdge blade operates quietly and is completely maintenance-free. Ideal for do-it-yourself groomers and professional groomers alike.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
20 of 21(95%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Review 1 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Excellent clipper

December 17, 2013
by Pattyann
fromWest Chester, pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Lightweight, with a long cord . Easy to handle, fits good in my medium size hand. This clipper can cut thru a very heavy coat and is just as good when grooming a thin coat. Been using this clipper for years and will not buy any other brand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

December 8, 2013
by LovesPuppyBreath
fromIdaho
How many pets do you have?4
These clippers are amazing. They get pretty hot after about 15 minutes so if you are planning on purchasing these clippers, be sure to get the Andis Cool clipper spray to cool them down faster. They do cut great though, worth the extra money!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

So worth the extra $!

November 6, 2013
by newbie2
fromOrange, ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I don't usually review the purchases I make, but I had to in this case! I was really going back and forth on what clippers to buy. I am new at clipping and rescued a poodle mix a year ago and was tired of paying so much money for grooming. The inexpensive clippers I use on my spaniel mix did not work on her. I am SO happy I bought the Andis ultraedge - they are wonderful! Cuts like butter!! So easy, quick, and did not heat up very much! I am going to buy a longer blade because the #10 is a bit too short for my liking and expertise level. I relied on reviews to make my decision, so I decided to give back and see if this helps someone else decide. You won't be sorry with these.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Excellent, easy to use, long cord which is nice

October 29, 2013
by cocobear
fromAlberta, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Very pleased with this product, own 3 dogs and have spent many dollars on various other clippers. Think I finally found the right one, cuts hair like a knife through butter. Would recommend this product, don't waste your money on the cheaper brands.
Pros: gentle
Cons: expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

good tool for home use

October 27, 2013
by 3DnFlorida
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Worked great on my poodle and bichon, both of which had mats and had to be shaved doen. Did heat up but not too badly. With some coolant on hand it would be unstoppable I think.
Cons: expensive
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Top quality.

October 24, 2013
by art123
fromCasselberry, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I purchased this product to groom 2 dogs and 3 cats. Initially used comb attachments with the #10 blade. This worked pretty well on the dogs, but with the long-haired cat, the comb attachments just pushed down the hair and made cutting more difficult. Purchased #7FC CeramicEdge blade and this works better, providing a smoother finish cut.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Works great for my maltese

September 5, 2013
by Cas821
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
was an amazing purchase. After the hassle of purchasing several other clipper sets i did not regret purchasing this one at all! It works how it should and cuts with perfection. The cable is extremely long which can be annoying since i am able to do it on my bathroom counter and we both get tangled with the long cord. It does take patience but i was very happy with the way it cuts. It does get hot after a while but i do tend to use it for much longer than others? With a maltese it is hard to find a blade that will cut like this! I usually have to spray it with the cooling spray to keep it cool and we do take little breaks so we can both relax for a few minutes. I do not use it often so i am unsure how it would hold up with constant use. Every few months for a full cut that can last 2-3 hours to make him completely even. Also, every 2 weeks or so to trim in between his eyes/belly and sanitary cut. I do wish the blades were not as pricey but they are worth purchasing. With a little patience i am able to give him the same haircut as the groomer (even better than groomer)!. I am not a pro but many groomers are not good with cutting maltese hair so they leave them looking like the machine took random bites out of their hair. I would totally recommend purchasing especially with a coupon. Would rate higher if it did not get hot.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

Ultra Edge Special Edition 2 speed

August 14, 2013
by rodeo01
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
February of this year purchased, have a 18 lb Schnoodle , 30 lb schnauzer only used them 3 times since purchasing. Tonight I attempted again, the clippers are hot to the touch after only doing upper back of the 18 lb doggie...has been this way to begin with...so I waqit 15 mins or so , and do his stomach and ears...time to stop again...too hot to use !!!
Cons: expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

June 26, 2013
by Porkchopcat
fromPrince Edward Island, P.E.I.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I used these clippers to shave my aunts golden retriever they worked amazing!! my grandmother gave me a pair of "heavy duty" clippers of a different brand, that she used on her yorkie. but they didn't clip properly. so i went out and purchased these it took me almost 1 hour to do the whole dog. i definetly recommend this product!!
Pros: gentle
Cons: expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

June 1, 2013
by Retronique
fromUpper Marlboro, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is an EXCELLENT pair of clippers. I never groomed any type of pet and this was my first time. My neighbors thought my dog was professionally groomed. Blade number 10 is absolutely fantastic. I purchased the Andis guides and I really don't need they because using the blades are very easy to use so the blade guides are going back. I also purchased the Andis COOL Blade spray. The blades get warm after 20 minutes, but I can use the clippers and blades for about 35 minutes after using the Andis COOL Blade. You will not regret purchasing these clippers. All of the Andis Ceramic blades are a very good investment so don't waste your money on purchasing the guides; buy the blades.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Worth the Money

January 26, 2013
by xGrizzlyivx
fromPA
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
We have purchased many clippers in different price range , but never spent this much. It was worth every penny. The others we've tried worked once or twice before they would die. The set we bought before this was, on the same day, was the Andis set in the 80 dollar range (the purple Andis® Groom™ Ceramic Blade Clipper Kit) and it didn't make it through the Bishon, the set would stop working if we angled it a certain way. We had to do something she looked funny, So the manager of the store helped us with the return and recommended this set and gave it to us at the price of Andis® AGC® 1-Speed Detachable Blade Clipper Kit clippers. Awesome :) We also bought a comb set at the same ending up spending 120 more the we budgeted. Glad we did, today we did our second hair cut on our 2 dogs. At this point we are at break even what we paid Petsmart for grooming. the 2 dogs
What everyone said about the clippers is true. They are great, cut the hair with out any issue, the power cord is extra long, easy to clean. This is the same set the Petsmart groomers use. I looked :)
Next thing we are buying are a couple different sizes of the Andis CeramicEdge Detachable Blades, instead of using the Oster Universal Comb Attachment 10-Piece Set,
So spend the extra money. In the long run you are saving money.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Awesome

May 19, 2012
by KathyR
fromWest Branch, Michigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I did a lot of research online before choosing this clipper. I ultimately chose this one due to the great reviews. The manufacturers can list all the attributes of their product but I go by peoples personal experience with it. I used this on my lab/retriever mix Murphy. Until this year we have taken her to the groomers every spring for a buzz job. She has tons of hair and is jet black; she gets hot. Each time we went to the groomers it got more and more expensive so we decided to try it ourselves. As we are inexperienced we worked slowly. The clippers worked like a hot knife through butter. It took us about 1 hour to complete the clip and although the clipper got hot it it was not too hot to hold. It has an extra long cord and runs quietly with little vibration. I was very satisfied with this product. Now the cons; it did not come with any guards for different lengths of hair and there is no carrying case. I would think at this price these two things should be included.
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Still going strong after 5 years

March 11, 2012
by PortieMom
fromJacksonville, FL
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I have a wavy hair portuguese water dog and got these clippers when I got tired of paying $60/month to have his hair cut. I haven't gone to the groomer since, and I've never had a single problem. The clippers get hot after about 20 minutes - I spray them down with cooling spray, take the blade off, and take a 5 minute break. Given how hard they work, 20 minutes is a great chunk of time for clippers before they heat up. Great buy!!!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Finally, a machine that works!

July 19, 2011
by moonlightsiren18
fromWPB, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had a Cocker Spaniel with heavy wavy hair for 9 years now and I've always had trouble grooming her hair. Some of the machines I've had have been too loud, or they vibrate too much, and have been overall lousy and would not cut her hair thoroughly.
For the last two years I have been using human clippers with the heavy help of scissors. But that is just too difficult and frustrating. Finally, we decided to spend the money that needed to be spent and researched for the right clippers. After reading all the reviews we decided that these would be the perfect ones and went out and go them at Petsmart.
That same day, I used it on my dog and it was just amazing to see how easily the hair came off. It was like nothing I had ever seen, the way it just cut through all the knots and the matted hair.
Basically, my Jenny looks amazing and I am so happy I got these clippers. The only issue is with the fact that they heat up, but that is easily and quickly solved with a coolant spray that a Petsmart groomer recommended when we bought the machine.
I plan on taking very good care of these clippers so that they will help me take care of my dog (and future ones as well) for many years to come. :)
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

# 1 Clipper Availible, works beyond expectations

May 30, 2011
by Russell33
fromSt. Louis, MO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Luckily I bought this clipper, choosing it above all of the others. This clipper cut my parents three farm dogs in 1 hour and 45 minutes. I am talking about totally over grown with some heavy matting. It shaved them straight down, with not pre-trimming.
Could not be happier, for those of you worried about matting, don't give this trimmer a second thought. This cut all three dogs in a row without any rest time. Did not overheat etc. etc.
Pros: Fragrance, shiny coat, Shed Prevention, gentle
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Very pleased

May 21, 2011
by SaraT0
fromAtlanta, GA
After buying a cheaper Wahl clipper last year, I finally realized I was going to have to upgrade. These clippers were well worth the money spent. I shaved down my Siberian Huskies with ease. The blade does get hot, but that is to be expected with any clippers, so keep tabs on how hot it is getting as you clip. They also come with a great long cord so you can move around easily. If these can get through a husky's coat, they can get through anything.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Best clippers ever!

September 5, 2010
by AussieLover02
fromWest Virginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
These are pricey, they also only come with a 10# blade. BUT they cut through fur like butter, and mine still look brand new after 5 years of continued use! If you have a double or triple coated dog and you need to use clippers, these are the ONLY way to go. They are the only clippers I have had that are so durable. Trust me- you will not regret spending the money!
Pros: cuts through everything
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Worth Every Penny!!

June 27, 2010
by jettasmom
fromBaton Rouge, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
These clippers are awesome..Definitely worth the money!! I have a lab/border colley mix with very thick fur and these clippers just cut right through. Trust me, don't waste your time with the $40 or $50 clippers like I did. You will not be disappointed in these!! I do find that the blade heats up pretty quickly, but the cooling spray cools it right off and you can keep going without having to take breaks. Highly recommend these clippers!!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Better than I could have expected...

December 19, 2009
by groomnewby
fromPort Orange, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
First, let me say that I have read the other reviews posted here for this product, and the 4 of 5 poster I can only asume is incorrectly posted their review to this product because this particular modle by Andis doesn't come with the comb attachments, and since it's one of their newer models, I don't think it's been around for two years.
That said, let me give my two cents. I have two medium / large dogs. One is a short hair Lab mix that doesn't need clipped. The other is an Australian Shephard mix and if she grows a very heavy thick coat of hair. I have tried cheaper clippers (the ones for $50 or so) and they didn't even begin to cut her hair. My sister in-law even tried her horse trimming clippers on her with not much better luck. Well, after some time, I was determined to avoid the expense of continued grooming costs for this dog. After doing some research on the different brands and models, I really leaned toward this unit. Also, because it was available at my local PetSmart. It was a little bit pricier than I wanted to pay, but after reading the initial reviews, I figured I would give it a try.
My first impression wasn't that great, because when I opened the box for the new clippers, I realized that I had been sold used clippers. A quick trip back to PetSmart and the manager appologized and switched it for a brand new unit.
As soon as I got home, I wasted no time to try them out. I told my wife how much I spend on them, and she said "They better work". Well, from the first stroke I took with the clippers, I was in awed amazement at how these clippers poured through the fur like a hot knife through butter. Not to say that they got over hot (as the first reviewer said). The blade did get a little hot, but no more than you should expect. The barrel stayed cool to the touch (well, just warm). I could not believe how quickly I was able to go through the hair on my dog. Even in the back where some of the hair had started to matt, it just went right through it.
After I was done, I removed the blade and gave it a thorough cleaning. I recommend this to anyone who uses them. If you don't keep them clean, you can expect them to not work properly or overheat. But, that's true of any precision instument.
Bottom line... they performed better than I hoped. I'm completely happy and I highly recommmend them to anyone who want's to groom their dog(s) at home.
Pros: quiet., two speed (great for thick hair), long cord, easy removable blade, runs cool (compared to others)
Cons: expensive, does not include carying case, doesn't include combs
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Andis UltraEdge AGC Super 2-Speed Animal Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

good, not great

July 16, 2009
by PoodleMama
fromLeague City, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
I bougt this clipper because this is what the groomers used at my Petsmart. I have tried every clipper available at Petsmart, and this one has lasted the longest. I have had it for more than two years. and I use it at least once a week to clip my three poodles. The motor is powerful and relatively quiet. It is super easy to change blades, and it comes with several clipping guide combs that snap on and off in a flash. However, this clipper heats up faster than any I have ever used. Within three minutes it gets hot enough to burn hair! I recomend you stock up on cooling spray if you buy these clippers.
Pros: powerful, quiet, easy to switch out the blades, nice long cord
Cons: gets hot fast!, price
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next