PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control

Uses ultrasonic sound to deter nuisance barking Inconspicuous device looks like a bird house Detects bark up to 50 feet away Controls your dog & the neighbor's dog, too!
Overall rating:
3.266 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 106
62 of 109(57%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Review 1 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews

This thing is awesome!!

March 1, 2012
by steph2323
fromPALATKA, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews
I read through the reviews before asking my BF to get this for me for my birthday and the reviews were 50/50 but i wanted to try it anyway.
My dogs and my neighbors dogs bark at each other through the fence and it drives me crazy!!
I bought this and set it up facing the fence so it affects my dogs and hers. After i put it up, one of my dogs barked and i could feel the vibration in my ear, but no sound....but my dogs all walked away!
They have barked a few times near that fence since i put it up, but it never lasts more then one or two barks before they walk away.
VERY much worth the money!
Just remember that some dogs can ignore annoying sounds just like people can so it may not work on everyone's dogs...but it work great for mine!
Pros: looks great, Easy to ControlDog
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 109 reviews

Device is set off by other noises also.

December 16, 2013
by none1
fromJanesville, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 109 reviews
We have two shelties that bark often enough that we wanted to try something to deter them. It seemed to work some, but I found that it was also set off with any other loud noise like a wood splitter, snow blower and people yelling. I did not think this was the proper fit for our dogs. I also tried the indoor egg. That was set off by the vaccuum, piano and loud talking.
Pros: looks great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 109 reviews

May or may not work

November 28, 2013
by FLEngineer
fromshalimar, FL
What is your gender?M
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 109 reviews
Bought this product to try and control the neighbors barking dogs - 3 of them! The product seems to work for 2 of them, but the one that is the worst barker and untrained could care less about the ultra sonic noise. The Terrier seems to be the most affected and the Golden Retriever moderately affected, but Fluffy, who appears to be a Bijon, it has no effect.
Pros: looks great
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 109 reviews

Every noise sets it off

November 25, 2013
by LoveMyPack
fromWashington
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I didn't bother reading the directions first, and I popped in batteries, held the thing right in front of my face and barked into it. This godawful sound came out of it that actually vibrated my eardrums. It felt like my ears were going to explode. It was a horrible feeling. Then I noticed it says right on the directions not to do that. Anyway, once the batteries were in, before I could even carry it outside, the thing went off multiple times. The TV set it off, my talking set it off, putting it on the counter set it off.... I already felt guilty because it bothered my own ears so much, but then to have every minute noise setting it off... But I took it outside and hung it up. My barky dog barked and set it off. He was utterly unphased. My other dogs, however, were nervous and showing signs of stress. I figured I'd give it a few minutes and sat outside with them. Meanwhile, the loudmouth is sprinting about the yard barking wildly, and the other dogs are now in the corner huddled together, shaking and stress panting. When a car door slamming set it off, I just called it quits and ripped out the batteries and took it back to the store. It didn't phase my barker in the least and utterly traumatized my other dogs. It also really bothered ME. It is wholly unfair to the dogs to have every single noise set it off. Me calling my dogs set it off. I don't want my dogs being punished for me calling them or to be punished when the neighbors mow their lawn or simply talk in their own yard. It is WAY too sensitive to sound.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews

great product

November 12, 2013
by nickifish
fromhooksett, nh
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews
I have a dog that was on the verge of being on the way out because we could not get her to stop barking, it was causing havoc on our household (we have multiple dogs)! We tried remote bark collars, and static bark collars, but nothing would work... Although the package said you should see improvements in two weeks, all it took was one day, and there silence in our yard... not only from her, but the other dogs as well! i would definitely recommend this to anyone with the same problem.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 109 reviews

no

November 11, 2013
by meemaw
fromBonifay, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 109 reviews
did not stop barking even on high, 2 large dogs, have used it for 10 days and will return it
Pros: looks great
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews

Solves the problem

November 2, 2013
by Marj
fromMesa, AZ
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews
Barking dog next door kept me awake at night. The Bark Control Birdhouse eliminated the problem quickly and efficiently! Thank you for having this product available. The first one I bought lasted three years, hanging out in all kinds of weather. I just replaced it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 109 reviews

Doesn't last

November 1, 2013
by Szil
fromTX
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 109 reviews
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 109 reviews
Don't be fooled by the "lifetime warranty". After one year, they replace it for $30. So when it breaks, and it will break, you have to pay half the cost of a new one to get another one that works. I can understand a small shipping charge, but they're basically selling you another one. If you only need it for a year, it's okay and works somewhat, but if you need it long term, try another brand that's more durable.
Cons: poor quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 109 reviews

Still a bit unsure

October 7, 2013
by AKEEN
fromElbridge, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews
We have only had this product for about a week so far and it seems to work sometimes and others we are still hving to use our remote collars as backup. I wouldn't say at this point it doesn't work but I did save the box just incase.
Pros: looks great
Cons: not adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews

Surprised that it works

September 20, 2013
by BarkinBen
fromHillsboro, OR
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 109 reviews
After reading mixed reviews I was EXTREMELY skeptical that this product would work. I initially purchased a bark collar.. then after that didn't work, the Elite Little Dog trainer. This one definitely got her attention when she barked. However it was of no use when I was not watching her(i.e. on the other side of the house). So only in desperation and as a last resort I gave this a whirl. Surprisingly it worked. We have a tiny backyard and there are 2 big dogs behind us, so our two little barkers went bananas barking every day and constantly attacked the fence. As soon as we got this house, barking virtually stopped. She will still bark a few times but you can see it annoys her so she stops. We did have to crank it up to high though. Ironically the dogs behind us stopped barking as much also!! Still..I had doubts even after this. Then the 9v battery ran out after a month. The barking instantly came back and they started attacking the fence. So I am convinced and thankful this works. I would have never believed it. You do have to point it in the direction of the barking but no big deal. Worth the money.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews

Run don't walk and get this as fast as you can!!!!

July 19, 2013
by jovilover
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We have gone crazy with our 3 dogs barking, one starts then it is like the pack of wolves take over and they never stop. My husband pretty much gave me an ultimatum we have worked with dog trainers, etc. Finally I decided to try this, OMG!!!!! I read the reviews, called the store, they had it & I drove down as fast as I could and got it, within 2 doorbells the dogs stopped barking and laid down. Have never seen anything like it, will go tomorrow and buy another one to keep on hand just in case. Thank God. This is an answer to our prayers!!!!!!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews

WONDERFUL

May 4, 2013
by HAPPYGUY
fromPa.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
After years of blood boiling loud barking from neighbors dog(40ft away) I bought this little sanity saver:-) I talked to the owner several times...yelled at the dog many times and ready to report to the police. This woman has no concern for others including allowing her dog to relieve it's self in her neighbors yard. Over 100 HUGE piles in a 10sq. ft. area plus the barking... Really a nice dog but....she is not!!!! Four barks the first day, maybe one or two for a few days..now silence.. MAGIC...I LOVE IT.. My windows can be OPEN...YEAH...
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews

No more barking!

April 6, 2013
by Yadi
fromMissouri
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews
We have a newfoundland mix who barked anytime she saw a person outside. She immediately reacted to the birdhouse and was completely bark-free after just a few days. Only problem- it scared our other dog so much that he refused to go outside and started going potty in the house! Had to re-potty train him!
All-in-all, I would recommend this product to others.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 109 reviews

Doesn't work

March 18, 2013
by 2Annoyed
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 109 reviews
I have a large dog next door that barks constantly - especially if I am on the patio or back yard. Tried this and it has NO effect!
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 109 reviews

Best product out there

January 17, 2013
by AnimalControl
fromHesperia, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I take home all the pregnant moms and on occasions I have some that wont stop barking. I purchased the barking device AND a barking collar - the collar did nothing but I hung the Outdoor bark control on the kennel and it stopped the barking from my mom dog AND the neighbors big rotts. I swear by this device and recommend it over collars.
Pros: durable, looks great, Easy to ControlDog
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 109 reviews

January 13, 2013
by JinaC
fromNanaimo, BC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 109 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have 3 small dogs and it worked on 2 of them but NOT the one I really wanted it for!
The one in the pic is the one it didnt work on, she is a Chihuahua x Bolognese!
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 109 reviews

Works for a short time

September 2, 2012
by DoodleFamily
fromMICHIGAN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 109 reviews
This works great but our dogs have become immune to it after just 1 week. Bark collars are the way to go if it is for your own furry friend. I like PetSafe Elite Big Dog Bark Collar PBC00-12725
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews

It works great

August 3, 2012
by WhiteShepherds
fromWest Coast
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 109 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 109 reviews
It worked immediately with my dogs and my neighbor's dogs. The four dogs get into barking fests. When I put the birdhouse out in the yard after a couple of barks all the dogs quieted down. It has really cut down on my dogs' barking and I only have used it a couple of times. My neighbor's dogs still back some, but when they do I turn the birdhouse on and they quiet right down. I haven't used it many times, and only left it on once when I wasn't home. The downside is it is too sensitive. If I am too loud when calling the dogs it will go off.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 109 reviews

Didn't work for us

June 27, 2012
by MickeyMickey
fromEastpointe, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Read the reviews before buying and since they were reasonably close pros and cons I decided to try it.
This had absolutely no effect on my cockapoo. He stood right in front of it and barked his head off and he runs all over the yard barking and it does nothing. I know it worked for some, so I guess it is worth a try and if it doesn't work it can be taken back.
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Outdoor Bark Control
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 109 reviews

Not for Our Dog!!!

June 27, 2012
by WoodysMom
fromTyler, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 109 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 109 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 109 reviews
We bought this for our one-year -old chocolate lab who barks at EVERYTHING, and were not pleased. It was easy to set up and install, and for about 5 hours it stopped our dog from barking. Then he apparently became immune to it and started barking again. This might work for some dogs, but not for our hardcore barker.
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next