PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Eclipse(r) Aquarium Lighting and Filtration Systems

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Eclipse(r) Aquarium Lighting and Filtration Systems

Top of the line filtration system using patented BIO-Wheel(r) technology.
Overall rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 12
10 of 13(77%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Eclipse(r) Aquarium Lighting and Filtration Systems
Review 1 for Eclipse(r) Aquarium Lighting and Filtration Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

love it

May 16, 2013
by sideseatdriver
fromNew Iberia, La.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I have been having my eclipse 3 for almost 20 years and I love it. It keeps my tank clean and works wonders for the fish. It keeps my fish Happy.
Pros: works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eclipse(r) Aquarium Lighting and Filtration Systems
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

Think Twice - Eclipse 2 is a Disappointment.

July 27, 2011
by Frogs
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
We had done quite a bit of research and read reviews before purchasing this system. We agree that the Eclipse 2 has excellent all in one design and features. Unfortunately, the product quality does not match the price. We have had to exchange two systems because the underneath plastic edges of the hood were not fused properly in the manufacturing process. Thus, water drips into the tank before it has gone through the entire filtration process. The third hood seems a bit better, but can see that the edges might split in time.
In addition, please be aware that this system is NOT quiet. After executing the necessary mechanical trouble shooting steps, adjusting water levels, etc., there is a constant sound of running water and humming vibration from the motor. The pump and flow diverter cannot be adjusted to slow the flow of water into the tank and soften the "running water" noise.
Overall, I would not recommend this manufacturer despite their product innovations.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: didn't work
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eclipse(r) Aquarium Lighting and Filtration Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

NICE!

September 3, 2010
by msjacks62
fromoak view ca.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Love this top for my fish tank, I use to have the above ground filter for my fish tank for years, I just got fed up with it after having to clean my tank over and over and its messy.I have a 20 gallon tank in my living room with a black modern stand, so this top made it look very sleek and modern, it also made it look bigger than it is. The only thing that makes me made is if the filter gets dirty it will cause the water level to rise and it will leek, so clean out your filter or put a new one in every month. My water in my tank is clean always and I don't have to worry about my fish jumping out of the tank or dust and dirt getting into the water, well worth the money.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eclipse(r) Aquarium Lighting and Filtration Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Absolutely love this system.

August 7, 2010
by petdoc
fromBurleson, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I bought the Eclipse System 2 hood to fit my 29 gallon tall aquarium over 2 years ago and I love it. I have had no problems with the hood or light and it keeps my aquarium water clean and clear. I have also had no problems with ammonia build up. I know some other people had problems with leaks, the only time I had any leaks is when I overfilled the aquarium. As soon as I removed a little water the leak stopped and all was fine. I will only have eclipse systems now and I am currently looking to add a 12 gallon to my office and the 37 gallon to my home. I would highly recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eclipse(r) Aquarium Lighting and Filtration Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Leaks! Easily broken

December 23, 2009
by Rachel02
frommidwest
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
This is very poor quality. 2 arrived broken. When I finally did get a working one, I found it easily leaks because water flow is so close to the top. Also makes an awful rattling/buzzing noise. In addition, media it uses is very expensive to replace and contains very little carbon.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eclipse(r) Aquarium Lighting and Filtration Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

won't use any other filter

October 21, 2009
by femailmailman
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I have had my first Eclipse 3 set up for 10+ years. Still going strong. It is the best. When I did need a part, customer service was great-they gave me a whole new pump instead of just the impeller and never even charged me. My water has been crystal clear and my fish have thrived. I had a pair of angelfish for over 7 years in my tank which used to breed constantly. The maintenence is simple, who wants to stick their hand in the tank to change the filtration media and disrupt, your decor and the fish?? NOT ME. The looks is sleek and it can go close to the wall because there is not filter hanging on the back.
Pros: easy to maintain, efficient
Cons: none
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eclipse(r) Aquarium Lighting and Filtration Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Eclipse 37 gallon hood and light set up

August 22, 2009
by czito
fromLatham NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Bought this whole tank set up came with built in hood light filter all in one, have returned two so far with in a month and now have the third one on order, the first light cover shattered, they ordered me a new one, the 2nd one the ballist doesnt work for one of the bulbs had to order me a new one, waiting for the third one to come in and now the filter is acting up. The hood system is terrible, the tank is fine. I would not buy the eclipse hood with light and filter in one, its junk.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Eclipse(r) Aquarium Lighting and Filtration Systems
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5 13 reviews
6 out of 6 recommend this product
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews