PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter

Filter combines filtration and decoration.
Overall rating:
3.525 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
29 of 39(74%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Review 1 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

Great Investment!

March 13, 2007
by Klepto
fromAtlanta, GA
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews
Not only does it look great but, it literally only takes a minute to clean. Other filters take anywhere from 20 to 40 minutes, but with this little baby all I have to do is open the top, take out the old filters, then pop in the new ones! No more cleaning out tubes for me!
Also the aquarium has never looked cleaner! And it's so quiet I forget it's even there.
My turtle obviously loves it too, since he can't get enough of watching his personal waterfall!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 40 reviews

Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter...

November 25, 2013
by Bleu723
fromBaltimore
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I wanted the tetrafauna viquarium, but my local store does not carry it. So instead I purchased this. I set up according to directions, with careful attention to water level (it has 2) & positioning of the O ring. The "waterfall" occurs after intake of water & lasts all of 2 seconds. It makes a weird noise that coincides with output of water. The turtle has not climbed on it once even though I've positioned his heat lamp directly above. I'm not sure this was designed well & they would have done better allowing some sort of ramp, or angle for turtle to climb. I'm not happy.
I will be bringing this back to the store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 40 reviews

garbage

March 29, 2013
by gold
fromca
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
it wont turn on
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 40 reviews

Do not buy this filter

February 28, 2013
by Anonymous
fromsan diego CA
after waking up the second time in one night to tend to my turtle filter I find myslef wondering how they could even bring themselves to market this product towards turtle owners. The filters clog up every day to every other day, suffocating the tiny pump and making a terrible noise that brought me out of a deep sleep, and the only remedy is to buy the tetra fauna filters that fit it. simple right? until you find that the filters cost almost as much as the fountain and they only come in 3packs, they are unavailable for bulk purchase even if you wanted to save money on them. so after a week and a half you spent more on filters than you did on the unit originally, sounds like a scam to me, and I hate feeling like a sucker, so at 9am when petsmart opens I will be waiting with a slimy wet tetrafauna rock filter demanding my money back
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

A great product for a good price

February 2, 2013
by KendalltheTurtleLover
fromDemopolis, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
This is a great filter! It has a beautiful waterfall and the color scheme is calming. Although, if you have turtles you should buy an extra filter because turtles are infamously messy. Also, this may be hard for a smaller pet to climb.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

Nice product

January 7, 2013
by Cheflala
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I brought the Tetrafauna Decorative Repto Filter for my 20 gallon tank that houses my red-ear slider turtle. The water level is at the minimum level which makes it difficult (impossible) for my turtle to use the basking platform. If I was to put more water in the tank my turtle still can't use the basking platform because the rocks structure should be more on an angle instead of vertical. I am pleased with the filtering of the water.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

THE BEST FILTER EVER!!

July 25, 2012
by PETL0VER0FPETSWITHTHEBEST
fromReading,PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love this filter, When I got my 2 sliders I went with this one for a 55gl tank. It keeps my tank as clear as ever. I change cartridges once a month. I added bricks to lift filter higher and now my tank is filled almost to the top. My turtles love to sit on the top, and even with all the fish and feces from my messy turtles this filter keeps it clean and CLEAR!!. I have had others before and never has it kept clear months.
Only thing is make sure you take filter and motor apart and give it a good clean at least once a month... and It will run beautifully!!!
PS. You can also use whisper bio bags for it too not just the ones that come with it! they are much cheaper and you can buy them in bulk (12) for same price as 3.. I think it is great that it is not the type of filter that leaves you with one option only!!
If you own turtles this is the filter you need!!! Out of the 3 types this is the best one!!!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

Good filter

July 17, 2012
by greenheartanne
fromPennsyltucky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I've had this filter for over a year, maybe two. My tank is 40 gallons; I keep it about half full of water. I have two adult sliders. I use Bio-Bags (medium) to replace the filters and they fit perfectly. I clean the Bio-Bags with the spray attachment in my laundry sink as often as two or three times per week, and change them (new bags, new charcoal) once a month or so. I rinse out the pump and clean the tube with Q-tips every week or so. I feed the turtles mostly out of the tank, but I do give them fruits and veggies in the tank. The filter has worked well for the entire time. I'd like to be able to buy a replacement pump, just in case mine gives out. I'd recommend this filter to anyone who is willing to take the time to keep it clean.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

GREAT!!!

July 14, 2012
by turtlechick
fromky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
this filter is amazing. i have two baby common map turtles they love it. they hang on it to get air and it cleans the water great. the light splashing of the water fall is calming and is very quite the only weird/bad thing is it takes two medium filter cartriges.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 40 reviews

Great for decoration, Mediocre as a filter

May 23, 2012
by Pellmell
fromGuelph, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had this in my turtle's tank for the first week, and it did a fairly good job, but started to lack in the second week. It takes up a fair bit of room as well. I love that it's quiet, it's been about a month and no hitches with it, the waterfall runs smoothly. I like it as a decoration, and my turtle likes sitting under the waterfall. It's good for aerating the tank, however doesn't clean it well enough. It's also difficult for my 2" turtle to get to the basking platform, so I had to buy a decorative ramp so he could get up. All in all, it's a nice addition to a tank, but I think it would work better with very shallow water, close to the minimum fill line.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Love Love Love it!

March 17, 2012
by ilovemaizoe
fromRichmond VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My frogs love this thing! They sit on it all day. The force of the water when its coming out of the top is very gentle so whenever they attach themselves to the outside, i know they'll be safe. Cleaning is super easy. Take off the top, change the filter cartridges, and pop the top back on. Another thing, it is soooo quiet...
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

August 24, 2011
by newreviewer
fromLouisville, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I recently switched from a basic filter to this decorative filter. I have an adult map turtle and an oversized red eared slider who made it her duty to break every filter we could find. She would either clog the filtration system or crack the pumps. I am extremely satisfied with this filter. I have been using this reptofilter for over a month now and it is still running as good as new. My water is still clear and the flat top offers my smaller map turtle a great basking escape from my bully of a red eared slider.
The only down side to this filter that i have yet to encounter is that the replacement cartridges for this specific filter are not sold by Petsmart. My store and the online store only sell the large cartridges but this filter requires the MEDIUM cartridges. It's a big disappointment that they don't carry them. It doesn't make much sense.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Our turtle loves it!

July 19, 2011
by kk10pm
fromMississauga, Ontario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
So we bought this filter for our Mississippi map turtle about a month ago and I'm so glad we got it! We had a canister style filter before, it just didn't have the suction power. This filter keeps the water very clean, and I like that it has more than one take in point for water and it also has two filters instead of just one. Also it's pretty quiet for a filter, which is fantastic.
Our turtle Sheldon loves it, he's quite a skittish turtle but we often find him sleeping on or near it. Our previous filter used to freak him out so it's quite surprising. And yes, he totally climbs to the top and basks there, I think he enjoys climbing it.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Excellent Product!

October 1, 2010
by GeorgeNC
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
I recently purchased this filter, along with a new aquarium for my 4 year old red slider turtle. The quality of this filter is excellent. It looks and feels well constructed. Upon placing the two filters into the unit, it's ready to go. It's extremely easy to setup. I was a little skeptical at first based on some other reviews which mention the unit getting dirty. For me, that doesn't happen. It still looks just as clean as it did the day I put it in. The flow of the water coming out of the filter is strong, and isn't overly loud. After using the filter for a few days, the unit actually sounds quieter. It really does a great job of keeping the water clean. In addition to using the filter, I also remove uneaten food from the aquarium. Turtles are notoriously messy, but this filter will keep your aquarium clean. It's a great value and will save you time and money.
Pros: easy setup, excellent product quality, looks great in aquarium, keeps water clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

BEST Purchase I made in a while

September 28, 2010
by RedEaredSlider92
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I did not originally have a filter for my turtles while they were still young and did not make a mess. Now that they are older, I bought them this waterfall/filter and they LOVE it. It keeps the aquarium very clean and it is so simple to use. when my aquarium got dirty after 2 and a half weeks, i simply put the new ones in the filter holder under the rock. The turtles will even climb up to the very top and bask.
Pros: looks great and works great, turtles love it
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 40 reviews

Does half the job

July 27, 2010
by KsZoo
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was so excited to get this filter but I was disappointed. This filter looks great and squirts water out great... Its doesn't really clean the tank though. Instead of sucking up the water around it the filter just spits out water that's inside. The filter pump needs to suck more water in. Lets just say I need another filter with to add to my tank for ONE red eared slider!
Pros: awsome apperance, relaxing sound, easy to clean
Cons: bad sucking power, doesnt deep clean, has to be cleaned alot
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

a little big, but works good.

June 28, 2010
by mindseye00
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have this in a 20L with a red eared slider. This was a turtle we found in the middle of the road. The turtle turned out to be caked with dirt that all came off when we put her in the tank. But the tank was only dirty for about 10 minutes, it caught all her dirt. We did have to change the cartridges a couple of days later, but after that, its only monthly. Now in the picture, it shows a turtle on top, dont know how it got there because there is no way (she still tries though).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Awesome Vivarium Filter

December 9, 2009
by wolverine88001
fromEl Paso, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
This filter is perfect for both, our turtles and ourselves. It helps to keep our small turtle tank clean and it helps us to relax us with the waterfall sound in the background.
As a comical side note: The waterfall sound has interesting "restroom" side effects. ;)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 40 reviews

Nice looking & quiet but filtering is questionable

November 2, 2009
by Greenface2025
fromWashington, DC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 40 reviews
We purchased this filter two months ago for our 2 juvenile red eared slider turtles. The water in our tank is up to the maximum line as stated on the side of filter in a 10 gallon tank.
We have not noticed any peeling of resin however we frequently replace the 2 inserts. We clean the tank once a week and the water as of late stays clear for a day or two before getting cloudy again.
We have a ramp from water and plant hideout that leads to the top of the filter. The babies love to sunbathe on top and jump off into the water. For those reasons we will most likely keep this filter and purchase a stronger filter to keep the water clear.
To further filter longevity, we plan to feed the turtles in a separate container.
Pros: looks great, is very quiet- only hear waterfall, easy to clean filter, great sun bathing & jumping platform
Cons: filter inserts require freq changing, is heavy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetrafauna Decorative ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

Looks Nice

April 11, 2009
by Chortle
fromNewington, Connecticut
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews
I have had this for 6 months and am happy with it. It is the best turtle filtration solution out of the several I have tried. Turtles are very messy, and I think some reviewers had unrealistic expectations of what a filter could do. I remove my turtles from their main tank and feed them in a dish pan, where they make a real mess. This filter keeps their main tank clean in between feedings.
The sides of this filter are steep, so don't expect to use it as a basking platform unless the water in your tank is 7 inches deep, or unless you put in a ramp to its top. It looks really nice, and keeps the water moving.
The filter media gums up in about a week, but it can be cleaned, and the inner charcoal replaced. I have not had any problems with the unit flaking.
Mine looks great, and is solid and well-constructed. Other than replacing (or cleaning) the filters, I've not had to clean it.
I use this in a 30 gallon tank (actually, transparent plastic storage container), half full of water, housing two vigorous adult eastern painted turtles (about 4 inches long, each).
Pros: appearance, performance
Cons: cost of filtration media
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next