PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door

A fully automatic, motor driven door that opens completely under its own power. The door is activated by an ultrasonic pet collar. Features an attractive, translucent Lexan door panel that quickly and quietly powers upward, disappearing into the slim, stylish housing.
Overall rating:
4.378 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 41
36 of 45(80%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Review 1 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Thrilled with this Pet Door!

March 19, 2007
by lovemypuppy
fromLivermore Falls, ME
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
We were having trouble with wind blowing through the flap on our regular pet door. This becomes a big pain when the temperature drops below zero as it often does up here. The power pet door was exactly the product we needed. It’s very well insulated with an air tight seal all around the ridged door panel. Even in the coldest, strongest wind our home stays warm and there is no draft coming from the panel. This is truly an impressive product. It has lowered our heating bills and made our home more comfortable. We couldn’t ask any more from a pet door but, this product goes far beyond that with fast, foolproof, quiet operation. It is solidly built attractive and reliable. We have always found that PetSmart carries the newest, leading edge products and the power pet door is no exception. We are just thrilled with our purchase!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

I'M SO GLAD I BOUGHT THIS DOOR!

December 7, 2006
by DoggieGal1
fromPhoenix, AZ
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
For me a $300 item is a major purchase. I am often away from home and this power pet door looked like what my dog, Napoleon, and I really needed to help with our on-the-go lifestyle. Still, I studied the web page four different times before finally ordering. I am so glad I did. This product does everything it claims and more. My neighbor and I did the complete installation and it was much easier than I expected. The product has made life much easier for Napoleon since he doesn't have to wait all day to go outside and I can see he's a much happier pup now. I don't have to worry about him when I'm working late nor do I have to rush home to let him out. The door is reliable, attractive and rugged. I really depend on it and it has not let me down. Thanks to PetsMart for offering me a wonderfully useful product not to mention a good price and quick delivery.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Excellent Engineering

October 26, 2006
by MaxE
fromBoulder, CO
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
As an electronics engineer, I ordered the automatic power pet door as much out of curiosity as for the use of my two dogs. The design is first rate. The directional sensing was a great idea and it's well executed. They use a sophisticated ramping motor control circuit that raises the door panel very quickly then slows it as it reaches the end of its travel to make a soft stop. Operation is quick and quiet. The panel is lowered by gravity for safe closure. There's even an additional safety feature that automatically lifts the panel if something is blocking its path as it closes. It's impressive to see this level of technology used on a pet product.
I've had the product for seven months now with no problems. The design is rugged and reliable. It's also very well sealed against rain, wind and weather. Installation couldn't have been easier. Once I got the hole punched through my wall, the door went in with the turn of a few screws. But, definitely get the wall tunnel if you are going through a wall because it eliminates the need for framing the passage way. (Another good idea.)
I was happy to purchase this item from Petsmart because I know they stand behind all their products. Overall, this is a great pet door, clearly the result of a lot of clean engineering. I'm very tempted to tear the whole thing apart to really dissect the internal works but my dogs would kill me!
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 45 reviews

Love Door. Buy extra batteries.

January 7, 2014
by JustTryingToReview
fromNew Mexico
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Dogs love door and it is convenient. Unfortunately, the transmitter is not a very high quality (pops open randomly and you end up searching yard for 1/2 of it).
The transmitter also goes through batteries quickly (month to six weeks). Unfortunately, you can't just run out and get more, so you have to wait for delivery...and clean up messes in front of door as dogs patiently wait for it to open...
Door is great, but if you choose to buy this, know you will need to keep extra batteries on hand.
Once you have it, you're stuck buying the manufacturer's batteries (pricey) because they are not off the shelf. And since you've already cut a hole in the side of your house, what is your other choice???
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Great dog door!

December 18, 2013
by FrankfromNJ
fromSouthern New Jersey outside of Philadelphia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It looks good when installed, it works great too. the door opens by sliding up, not out. I think this is better for the dog - less scarry. Also, the glass is made of bullet proof glass! So it does seam to keep the cold out well and no drafts too. A very nice dog door. And my dog figured it out so quick - she loves it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews

great door--poor collar

November 23, 2013
by chirchlady
frombuffalo, ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
The door works very well. Collar transmitter is poor construction. The device can be picked open by our cats when they scratch. That trashes the device. The strap for the collar has been ripped to shreds and removed by both our cats. We purchased better straps from a different company. We have replaced the transmitters. The test button on one of the devices broke, rendering it inoperable. Too bad the transmitter and collar is not of better quality because we love how the door is so reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 45 reviews

Glichy!!!

November 22, 2013
by asaythree
fromBoise, ID
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The idea of this door is phenomenal! We loved the fact that other creatures would not be making their way into our home. However, I will say...we have gone through 3 of these doors due to serious malfunction problems. The first door came with a broken motor and would not open. The second door started randomly opening and closing...up and down all day long until you unplug and reset. It used to happen occasionally, but now it is doing it multiple times per day. As it is winter, this obviously allows for quite the draft and who knows what other kinds of creatures can just come on in:( I want so badly for this door to work, so I am giving it a 3rd try. Here's to wishful thinking and lucky #3!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

dog loves it

November 6, 2013
by SugarpinePatty
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My dog learned to use the door in minutes. She loves the freedom to go in and out at will and so do I.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Great door

February 2, 2013
by Buddyg
fromWillis tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We love the door. We have had the door for over a year. Our dogs loves the door. They will go up to the door and look outside to see they would like to go out or not. The only down side is the battery in the collar. The battery doesn't last very long.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

August 6, 2011
by MCR2000
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Very pleased with this electronic door. Have owned it for over 2 years and I can't imagine life without it. It was very easy to install and have not had any problems with it. We've had to have the collar replaced once due to a malfunction and Petsmart customer service was great! The price seemed so high to me when I was contemplating this purchase. However, almost three years later, I can say it is worth every penny.
Pros: easy to assemble, sturdy
Cons: price
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

No worries pet door

November 24, 2010
by SchnauzerMaxx
fromAustin, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
I purchased this door in May 2009 for my Miniature Schnauzer which is 2 years old now. He loves it and so do the wife and I. We went this route because of security and weather efficiency. We didn't want any other critters entering the home without an invite and didn't want the wind to impact our electric bill. This was the perfect door for our purposes. The only thing you must do if you buy this door is keep a spare battery to replace the one that wears down. The battery will give you warnings because it won't open consistently when gets low. My dog has never been stuck in or out for more than a few minutes. The battery lasts up to 6 months and you can be proactive and change out before it dies. I did have one problem after installing and that is the transmitter quit working soon after hooking all up. No problem, service was able to send me a new one within a few days. I highly recommend and waited this year and 1/2 before writing a review to be able to have some good history to share.
Pros: worry free if keep track of battery wear, pet has 100% control of in and out, weather efficient, secure - keeps all uninvited critters out
Cons: expensive but worth it
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews

Good product, OK relibility

June 22, 2010
by JAGQueen
fromWashington DC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
I installed this product about a year ago. In general, I like it. The only problem is in high humidity, it does not open reliably. My dog Gidget has taken to scratching at the door until the safety kicks in an opens it. It only happens on the way in and only when it is humid outside. I am on my third set of batteries, but they are cheap and available at CVS fo about 2 dollars.
So, wonderful product in dry environments. If you are in a humid area, you may want to look around. But not having to worry about Gidget getting out is wonderful. I am just concerned about how long the door will last with her scratching at it...
Pros: quality
Cons: performance when humid
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

A Really Amazing Doggie Door

January 26, 2010
by Gonetothedogs
fromBakersfield, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We bought the Power Pet door after seeing it everywhere online and reading mostly great reviews. Now you can add our family to the list of ecstatic pet door owners. This product really lives up to the hype. The idea of installing it in our wall was a little scary, but turned out to be surprisingly easy. Once it was in, the dogs took to it immediately. They really seem to love using it and we love being freed from doorman duty. The item is well made and so far has proven reliable - two years of use and it still works like new. We did experience a chewed collar remote. When we called to purchase a new one, the manufacturer replaced it for free, included an extra battery and we received it the very next day!
Pros: reliable, quiet operation, attractive, air tight weather sealed, excellent support from the manufacturer
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Awesome door

January 16, 2010
by Anonymous
fromSpring, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Well so far we have had ours for 1 year and we think it is fantastic. We originally got it to keep our cats in and let our dog out but our cats caught on very easily. They would wait next to the door and as soon as our dog would come up they would take off out the door. So if you are buying it for this reason I wouldn't spend the money. Otherwise we love it. We haven't had a problem yet.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

GREATEST DOGGIE INVENTION SINCE BONES!

September 26, 2009
by leeDog
fromMonroe, CT
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought the high tech pet door from my neighborhood petsmart store last year. I am just going online to buy batteries and I thought I'd let other Petsmart customers know what a remarkable product this is. The panel zips open in about one second when Bowzer, our 105 lb Boxer approaches it. It's operation has been 100% reliable and we now trust the door to let Bowzer in and out when we are not at home. It is also great to be freed up from being the Bowzer's doorman! The item is packed with features that we find very useful. These include battery backup, directional sensing, seperate inside and outside range adjusters and a feature that lets him come in whenever he wants at the end of the day but not go out again until we release the lock-in feature. It also has a dead-bolt lock that keeps our home secure. Again, we are delighted with this product. Well made and reliable. Well worth what we paid. Leave it to Petsmart to carry the most useful products and affordable prices.
Pros: dependable, multiple access controls, easy to install, well insulated, wind and weatherproof
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

HIGH TECH, HIGH QUALITY PET DOOR

September 25, 2009
by DogLover2010
fromJackson, MS
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We purchased the power pet door along with the electric fence that works from the same collar. The product is very well made and has worked for nearly two years without a hitch. The dog really loves this item and we love the freedom of not having to let him in and out all day and all night.
Pros: well made, reliable, well insulated, keeps out the neighbor's cat, dog loves it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 45 reviews

door was great for the 3 weeks it worked.

September 4, 2009
by mplstad
fromMinneapolis
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I ordered and installed the Power Pet door three weeks ago. My dog quicklly learned how to use it and it's was great. But, then it suddenly stopped working. The door is not getting a signal from the colar. The battery in the collar is fine. The manufacturer's web site is a joke. If you look under the "troubleshooting section", it actually says to replace the main wiring harness and sensor wires in the door if the door does not get a signal from the collar. That's helpful. I'll get out my tools and will get right on that. There is a link on the site to send in an email asking for assistance, but I only get a message back saying my email was blocked because they get so much spam. I was told to enter "technical assistance" in the subject line, but there is no subject line field when you fill out their form. I then wrote up another email and sent it directly to their customer support email with "technical assistance" in the subject field, and it again came back as blocked. I'm going to try their customer service phone line tomorrow when they open, but from what I have read elsewhere, I'm probably just going to get a message telling me to contact them through the web site.
So, if the door actually worked, it would be wonderful. It the manufacturer actually provided any assistance, it would be wonderful. But, I'll probably end up packing the door back up and shipping it back to Petsmart in the end.
Pros: great when it works
Cons: manufacturer provides terrble customer service
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews

Save your money!!

December 31, 2008
by Cindy2000
fromSacramento, CA
I bought the Power Pet Electronic Pet Door in March. I originally thought it was a great!! After only 2 months the door began to malfunction. Petsmart was great and allowed me to exchange the door no problem. Here we are in Decemeber and the door is malfunctioning again. When I went to the manufactures website to view the trouble shooting options it wants me to replace several parts that would be very costly. There is no warranty on this item. I was fooled by other reviews but after this experience I wanted everyone to know that this product is terrible. I would never recommend this door to anyone!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews

Great Pet Door

June 30, 2008
by beekee
fromtx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
I purchased this pet door about 10 months ago and have had a great experance with the door. It was worth the money for the 2 cockers I have and the fact that I did not want the indoor cats to get out with the dogs (like they would with a regular pet door). The only problem I have had is the collars, which seem to not last very long; it is not the battery as I have tested that each time. Out of the 4 collars I have purchased only one of the 3 has worked the longest. I would still purchase the door even with the collar issue.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Power Pet Medium Electronic Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews

Good Idea for Product - Poor Mfg Customer Support!

April 12, 2008
by Bee1
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews
I ordered this product from PetSmart and installed it -- it worked great for a day -- then intermittantly for a day then died. I really like the idea of this product and will be giving it another chance -- but DO NOT buy anywhere but PetSmart.
I attempted to work with the manufacturer to see if there was a reset or something that may make it work, but they apparently do not like the idea of customers and make it very difficult to try to work to satisfactory conclusion. I have spent two weeks very frustrated with trying to deal with them.
When I came back to PetSmart, they were great to work with to try to rectify the situation. I am going to give the product another chance with a replacement door as the features are something I really need in my environment-- and will see how it goes. But seriously when PetSmart says no hassle guarantee they mean it. From now on - any high tech pet device I am trying - I am ordering it from PetSmart rather than cruising the internet like I used to.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next