PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Extra Wide Supergate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Extra Wide Supergate

This Supergate fits openings from 22 inches to 62 inches and is an extra-tall 31 inches high. It slides together and swings out of the way when not in use. Can be removed from mounting brackets for storage. Easy one-handed operation. Super strong, easy to clean and designed for convenience. Rounded edges will not pinch. All hardware and brackets included for easy mounting.
Overall rating:
4.652 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 20
21 of 23(91%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Extra Wide Supergate
Review 1 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Great product

September 11, 2006
by dznikkib
fromAbingdon, VA
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
I bought these gates for the wide openings on our deck and they are great! They were easy to install and they're easy to move around. They slide back swing out of the way of the steps easily. Exactly what I wanted!
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

dog gate

January 20, 2014
by Coco2012
fromoregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
perfect for a hard to fit spot was easy to install and looks great delivery was fast and at no additional cost
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Wouldn't want to be without it.

October 9, 2013
by bratskeeper
fromMissouri
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I own 2 of these gates, one for each wide opening from my kitchen. I have a home daycare and a Jack Russell terrier. I can remove the gates when I want, keep kids and pets safe and separate when necessary. Only drawback I've found is my doorways are not square in their construction and I had to add shims behind one of the brackets to level it and square it up for the gate to latch properly. Also, be careful of letting small children operate the slide back action of the gate and teach them to watch their fingers, we've had a minor pinch or 2. Overall, great gate at a reasonable price. Have had these gates in place and operational for over 5 years non-stop and they are still in great shape. Also, clean well with a hose or handheld shower.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Works great in difficult space

July 17, 2013
by IamJen
fromColumbus OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
After trying and failing to find a gate that would fit at the top of some stairs where the walls aren't even we decided to try this gate. While it isn't meant to be installed at an angle it does work well for us. (This is not a very big angle or it wouldn't work). Installation was a little more difficult since it didn't work when installed with the bottom of the two supports even. However, once installed it has kept my cats in their temporary home and the puppy out of it. The cats feel secure enough to sit and watch the puppy through it. One hand operation still works although I do have to shorten the gate and fasten carefully sometimes.
My only complaint is that because it is tall and I am now I have pinched myself a few times when reaching over it to close it while standing on the top step. I'm not sure this would happen without the angle.
I'm very happy with this gate and it is good to know it can keep both my pets and my nieces safe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Easy to use, highly effective gate

July 29, 2008
by TikaMomma
fromParkville, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews
I was hessitant to buy this gate since several others said that their dogs climbed over it. I figured it was the least expensive of the 3 I was looking at and I could return it if I didn't like it.
It's great! It was already assembeled right out of the box. All I had to do was mount the wall brackets. I love that it folds up and sings out of the way when you aren't using it. And if you need to, its super easy to remove completley.
I highly recommend this gate to anyone with a large opening. I didn't need any other extensions for my 59" opening.
The only flaw I found was due to a misjudgement on my part. One side mounts over hardwood and the other over carpet. I didn't think to move the bracket over carpet up a little bit to compensate for the extra 'padding' under the gate. It's no biggie really, I just have to pull up a little before it will latch.
The locking/release mechanism is awkard and in hindsight I could have done without it.
My 40lb. Jack Russell (ie-jumper) mix hasn't yet tried to climb or jump it even thought the cat has showed her how to do it!
I gave it 4 stars for quality because it is all plastic and isn't the best looking gate, but it does the job just as good as the more expensive ones could.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews

Don't buy for a puppy

July 7, 2008
by star808
fromJacksonville, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 23 reviews
I bought this gate for my new lab/golden retriever puppy to close off the entrance between the living room and the kitchen. Well the first day left alone in the kitchen with the gate up and not in her kennel, she climbed over the gate HAHA. I thought the gate was very easy to put up and it did fit very well. I would love to use it but she already knows how to climb over it. It's a nice gate but I warn you, the holes in the gate makes it very easy for the dog to climb over.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

FANTASTIC

March 15, 2008
by Kristen28
fromOFallon, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
This gate is fantastic. It is very sturdy and strong. Our dogs ate right through the wood gates. This gate keeps them in no problems. I love this gate and I recommend this to everyone.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Oversized Gate

February 3, 2008
by ITTECH
fromConway, AR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
This gate works perfect for the 4 foot opening between my kitchen and family room. It was easy to install and works great. It is also very sturdy. I checked out several other gates before purchasing this one. This one was the only one I found that would fit up to a 5 foot opening and is 31 inches high. I've only had this gate a few days and already it is a life-saver. I highly recommend it.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews

January 21, 2008
by Anonymous
fromWebster, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews
The gate is sturdy and was easy to assemble. The gate sometimes gets stuck sliding open but it's not too big a problem. It keeps my 90lb. Cane Corso sectioned off.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Love the Extra Wide Supergate

August 21, 2007
by MYBUDDY
fromYorktown, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
This gate has made my life and Buddy's a lot easier. He can now stay with the family in the living room all the time and we never have to wonder what he is up to or where he is. It fits perfect in our big door space and was very easy to install. I look at buying another one in the very near future as we are getting another Chihuahua puppy on 7 Sep 07.
Mary
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Extra Wide Supergate

July 30, 2007
by dfisher
fromKansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Upon opening the box to assemble the gate, there were no screws nor instructions that came with it when the web page mentioned that it came with these things, however, wood screws and common sense put the gate in place and it works fantastically. I would definitely buy another one in the future. (Keeping the extra wood screws just in case) :) :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 23 reviews

Does everything but its job...

July 20, 2007
by WATYF
fromSt. Louis, MO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews
This gate has everything going for it, except for the small fact that it doesn't do its job. It looks fine. It's fairly sturdy. Installation was a snap. But unfortunately, my 10 month old cocker spaniel figured out how to climb over this gate the same night that we installed it. Apparently, the "honey-comb" shapes of the gate make a perfect place for it to put its paws while it's climbing. So, if they made this gate with vertical slats, instead of a shape that actually helped dogs climb over it, then it would probably be the ideal gate. As it is, though, it's just a waste of 35 bucks. :op
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Perfect

July 10, 2007
by NHDana
fromBow, NH
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
We have a very old cottage with a full 5 ft wide hallway. I've been looking for a gate to stretch the entire width. This is perfect! The walls are not square, and i installed the end pieces a couple of inches off the floor to match the angle perfectly. It was very easy to install and easy to use. Now I don't have to worry my dog will bolt when the door opens.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

perfect for our needs

May 22, 2007
by Ronix
fromVancouver, Canada
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
We purchased this gate to contain our puppy in the kitchen while we are at work (give him some room but keep him on the tile). We needed something that extended to at least 50 inches. After reading the instructions we found the gate fairly easy to install and fairly secure. We have had no problems with the gate, it is a little sticky to pull out but is wearing it.
Well priced...good value! (even with the additional costs associated with sending it to Canada)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews

Beware of Climbers!

May 18, 2007
by AdoptiveMom
fromSinking Spring, PA
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
We ordered and installed this gate to partition off a play area for an 18 month old beagle that we are keeping for our daughter. The gate was easy to install and it looks very nice.
However, it only took our dog moments to use the diamond shaped openings to "climb" up and over the gate. Even the addition of make-shift, plastic prongs to the top of the gate (w/o altering the gate's retracting capacity) did not deter him. Smaller openings and a less paw-friendly top would make this gate a winner.
I would recommend this gate for owners of smaller dogs who aren't part mountain goat like ours!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Works well - sturdy

April 3, 2007
by BDechief
fromRegina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Installing the brackets took a bit more work than one might expect; but once it was up, it was sturdy and it open and closed well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews

Just mark the connecting strips with "TOP"

March 19, 2007
by koda
fromWaco, TX
This product would have received top marks except for its lack of one small instruction that would have helped a lot: Just put a sticker with the word "TOP" on the connecting strips that connect to the wall and on the "TOP" of the gate itself. One of the connecting strips fits into the gate both rightside up and upside down. The gate works upside down as well as rightside up. This would not even necessitate a written page of instructions.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

February 27, 2007
by mistynme
fromWisconsin
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
We purchased this gate for our puppy instead of a crate (kennel) for inside. This gate is wonderful! It was a breeze to assemble and slides back and forth with ease. Another good thing about this gate is the plastic is thicker than any other gates I have seen and it is very sturdy when locked in place. Basically all you have to do is pull the gate from one side to the other, lift it a little and it locks into place. Very easy to operate with one hand. We recommend it highly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Excelent! Excelent! Product

January 16, 2007
by Jenn10
fromLynchburg, VA
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
This is a amazing product! Very easy to install and easy to move out of the way for high trafic areas. Also my puppies try to jump everything but since this gate is taller than most and wider it works out perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Extra Wide Supergate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

so easy

November 24, 2006
by strawberryjoy
fromnew bern,nc
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
this gate was so easy to install and so easy to use.and also easy to remove when company comes over
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next