PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lixit Glass Water Bottles

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Lixit Glass Water Bottles

LBG-8 Economy Glass Water Bottle
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
9 of 11(82%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Lixit Glass Water Bottles
Review 1 for Lixit Glass Water Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great product!

November 24, 2012
by TheBabyEinstein
fromThunder Bay, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
One of my birds has a bad habit of pooping in his water dish. It gets too dirty and I have to change the water too many times each day. My only resort was to buy one of the water bottles.
I picked out this one because it was made out of glass, not plastic. Plastic looks cheaper, and it is more grimy. The glass looks cleaner.
The one issue I had was with the instructions - they weren't very clear. It took me a while, but I eventually figured out how to install it.
Pros: durable, easy to clean, Spillproof
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lixit Glass Water Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great way to provide clean drinking water

July 10, 2010
by birdkeeper2010
fromWaterloo, IA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
This is a great water bottle for birds. My Conure has one of these and he will drink from this even if there is clean water in a dish. It is easy to wash and durable.
Pros: keeps water clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lixit Glass Water Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Hands down, the best water bottle out there.

May 29, 2010
by SMichelle
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
No complaints. :)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lixit Glass Water Bottles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Very Convenient

August 11, 2009
by Caesar
fromPickering, ON
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I bought this water-bottle for my lovebird. This water-bottle is good quality and very convenient. I don't have to change his water as often as I had to when he used his dish because it doesn't get grimy and he cant put his pellets in it. It also helps because he cant have baths in his cage any more so the walls in the room don' t get dripping wet. It didn't take long for him to learn. The spring it comes with to holds it up doesn't work very well, but I just put and elastic around where it was on the cage so now it holds in place properly.
Pros: stays clean, easily learnt
Cons: spring
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lixit Glass Water Bottles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Neat and useful BUT...

January 29, 2009
by KfromToronto
fromToronto, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
The wire spring chain that holds it on stretched (or rather the "easy snaps" stretched) and the bottle fell out. I understand there are new ones with a different attachment mechanism, which I will try to find. Other than that, very good - it prevented (or slowed down) our CBC from dunking her pellets, although she did still try to shove them up the spout. Will try again with another design. Get the glass, not the plastic (easier to clean with boiling water - I just shrunk our plastic one...)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lixit Glass Water Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

This is the one that works.

June 25, 2008
by lotsObirds
fromTX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I went through three previous types/brands of water bottles before I found this one. This one doesn't leak. I think it's the glass bottle and the stainless steel, double ball mechanism. I've ordered two more for play stations, etc.
For the other, leaky bottles, I kept a feed cup under the tube to catch the constant drips. My budgies got used to the drip and the catch cup became their "bathtub." Now they are so disappointed to find the cup is empty and dry, so I had to go buy them a real bathtub. Since I use purified water in my water bottles, I am glad that it's not just going to parakeet showers any longer.
This one does work and I recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lixit Glass Water Bottles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Not as pictured!

August 20, 2007
by walksdogs
fromCleveland, OH
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
Ordered this product - instead of what is pictured, I received two bottles with a cheap spring with clip ends to attach it to the cage. This picture is a misrepresentation - you'll waste your time having to return it if you expect the bottle pictured.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lixit Glass Water Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

August 18, 2007
by JasmineRocky
fromPort Richey, Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I've been using this product for years on all 5 cages and I highly recommend it. It keeps water fresh from seeds, especially with large birds. It can also be used for love birds, they ajusted immediately. Worth the MONEY.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lixit Glass Water Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

broken glass.....fun

May 24, 2007
by 15petmommy
  • Expert
fromTennessee
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I bought this for my chinchilla that destroys plastic and she managed to pull on the wire that was holding it on so much it fell off of her cage onto my tile floor in the middle of the night. I had to buy a new one but this time I got a holder that holds the bottle inside the cage and it works perfectly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lixit Glass Water Bottles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Disappointed

January 2, 2007
by BirdOwner
fromNJ
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
The item that I ordered is not what is pictured. Disappointed because now I have to go return the item to a local store.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lixit Glass Water Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great Bottles

November 14, 2006
by Ratmum
fromTexas
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I replaced my plastic bottles with all 8oz lixit glass for my rats. I just love these bottles, much easier to clean and you can see the water level.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.