PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems

For saltwater aquariums up to 100 gallons.
Overall rating:
3.156 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
16 of 31(52%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Review 1 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

Not worth the plastic it is made of

December 1, 2013
by saltwateraaron
fromWorcester,ma
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
I needed a skimmer and wanted to break one in immediately, so I bought this. I read many mixed reviews. I have had no impeller failures but this thing does skim well. I argued with the company that owns instant ocean and got not where. DO NOT BUY! spend more money on a better product. I want my money back. I have coral in my tank and this skimmer does not perform as advertised!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

Please, do your research.

September 20, 2013
by SYRkris1
fromSyracuse, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
The product worked very, very well for about 4 weeks.
Three days ago, I noticed it wasn't producing ANY skimmate, and was alot louder than before.
I cleaned everything and reassembled the pieces.
After turning it back on, small purple plastic pieces went flying about in my tank.
NOW I know what they are.
It's really too bad this product is so poorly made. It worked well for my tank and was very easy to use and to clean.
I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. I hope the company learns from the consistency of the reviews and fixes the problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

FOR THE PRICE GET IT

February 4, 2013
by blublue
fromMinneaplois, M
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
The price is pretty good compared to the rest. But this skimmer is great. It may take like a week or two before you start seeing true bubbles/foam and nasty stuff in the cup but it works. The first couple of days i seen dirty water in the cup but after a couple of weeks the bubble/foam has come and the nasty suff is in the cup now. Please buy for the money. It cleared my tank right up.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews

Okay, for the price

January 24, 2013
by AquaGuy
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
I purchased the Seaclone 100 protein skimmer for my 55 gallon saltwater aquarium. I can say that with some diligent fine tuning that this product works and can be efficient. However it does have its problem, this product could be considered quite loud, this product has a micro-bubble problem half of the time. I have also found the Seaclone 100 protein skimmer to be very finicky, it may work one day and not the next. One also has to be careful when cleaning this product as the O-rings seem cheap and leak easily. I should also mention that the Seaclone 100 is difficult to clean due to its tube within a tube design.
In conclusion if you need a protein skimmer immediately and are counting your pennies, this product would be fine in a pinch. My advice would be to save up and buy a more expensive protein skimmer, it has been my experience (as well as many others in the hobby) that you get what you pay for in a protein skimmer.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

excellent product, easy to use

January 21, 2013
by MedicDW
fromYardley,PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
I am running a 50 gallon aquarium, while my water quality and parameters have been really good, I wanted to improve it. I decided to add this sea clone skimmer. The price and apparent easy setup drew me in. I purchased this item and had it home and setup within an hour.
I would like to say that I thought there was something wrong as I did not see results at first. But I opened the air wide for the first 24 hours, and I slowly dialed it in. Within 3 days the foam was flowing and it has been working really well ever since. Be patient and you will be pleased with the results of this cost effective protein skimmer. Good luck!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

JUNK

September 26, 2012
by saltydog61
fromOdenville, Al
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
Set it up one afternoon and the next day impeller pieces were in my sump. It didnt even run for 24 hours without breaking apart. Never will buy another seaclone. Not worth it. Its nothing but a headache.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews

Better do some research.

April 10, 2012
by saltwaterryan
fromarkansas
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
I read a lot of the reviews on this before buying it. I didnt have any choice as this is the only skimmer my store sells. The setup is "easy" based on the directions, but I had little confidence in this skimmer after setting it up. At first I set it up in my sump. I quickly realized that the waterfall was way too loud. So I switched everything to HOB and thats where I lost even more confidence in it. This is cheaply made, so I am very worried about it leaking, as I have read in other reviews. I have followed the directions exactly and have yet been able to get it collecting in the cup like it should. I will be returning this for a better skimmer this weekend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

Doesn't skim after 2 years of use & doesnt work...

May 5, 2010
by JohnnyMidnite
fromPhoenix, AZ
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
..in the sump. Initially on back of 55gal saltwater tank, worked ok then placed in sump, very bad performance. Replaced with ASM Mini G In Sump Protein Skimmer ..much better for almost same money.
Cons: leaks with hang on app, no good in sump
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews

always leaks

December 19, 2009
by armyengvet
fromOhio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
always after cleaning have problems keeping the seals from leaking
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Good Skimmer

September 18, 2009
by Veedublu
fromCali
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The price is good comparted to other skimmers and works great. Fully adjustable air flow to control the amount of bubbles entering the tube. The nasty water/bubbles are easily cleaned out from the top container.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews

Not bad.

June 14, 2009
by Rockatansky
fromOcoee,Fl.
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this skimmer even thou i was told not to,well to my surprise,it works!!,it works very good,is quiet,has intructions,i am happy with it,i like the "tornado" look inside it.Is in a 29 gal. reef tank so take a chance and get one.If adjusted properly you wont have microbubbles.So far no problems with leaks like others said.I saw some gunk in the collection cup in less than 24 hrs.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Great Skimmer!

January 9, 2009
by ToddR
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
I only have a 30gal tank, but if I ever planned to upgrade I wanted something bigger. I have had this skimmer going on 1 year now. It has worked better than I could have hoped for. Don't let the $$$ scare you away from this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Great skimmer

September 26, 2008
by podman1973
fromOklahoma City, OK
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
After reading many bad reviews, I was alittle hesitant to purchase this skimmer. At first there were some small leaks, but they were easily and quickly fixed. With some fine tuning this skimmer works great and I'm glad I purchased it for my 75g FOWLR. The quality isn't wonderful but for the price it does the job well. I recommned this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews

Be Aware

August 18, 2008
by DonnaA
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
I loved this product from the moment we started using it. I bought it a few months ago, and it was great- until YESTERDAY, when I found a puddle of saltwater on my livingroom floor, and it was only getting larger. A seal had broken??? I can't figure it out.
I AM going to try this one more time, as maybe it was a fluke. I sure hope so, because I can't dump $100.00 every couple on months on the same product. If I wasn't at home, I'm afraid that I would have lost a great deal of tankwater on my floor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

great products

July 1, 2008
by debbie090655
fromLonoke ark
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I shop around for products and found that petsmart has the same products as most of the other top name stores at lower prices
The sterilizer is exactly what the customer service said it would do.
they were very helpfull in showing me how to use this product and I would recomend this product to others, as well as the good service I recieve at petsmart
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Amazing results & Easy to use = 100% Satisfaction

May 14, 2008
by Cindy679
fromManchester, CT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
First let me start by saying that the SeaClone 100 was extremeley easy to set up and adjusting the air intake was also very easy. Which made getting bubbles and foam in the collection cup super easy! I was a little nervous about buying my first protein skimmer because so many people say that they have difficulty with the initial setup. I also hear even more often that people have a harder time getting the air intake valve to the correct position once the skimmer is set up. I followed the dircetions and it took me no more than 20 mins to read the directions and set up this skimmer in my 75 gallon saltwater aquarium. I left the valve fully open for 24 hours as the directions require for setup and within 15 hours I had foam collecting in the cup. In 36 hours I noticed a huge difference in the clarity of the water. In 48 hours the water is now crystal clear and sparkling. All this with no fuss! Kudos to the engineers who built this model!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews

One Little Drawback...

February 25, 2008
by ReefSafeFish
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
This product was awesome! With amazing quality and performance, this helped my reef aquarium a lot! The only drawback is that it took 2 hours to set up, but the results were totally worth the effort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Seaclone 100

October 10, 2007
by MikeChicago
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
I purchased this skimmer with mixed expectations. There are quite a few negative reviews online, but I must say that I'm pleasantly surprised. The skimmer works very well but it must be used in the correct application. I have it running on a 55 gallon tank with a low bio-load (I only have 3 fish in the newly established FOWLR set up). In the past day and a half, the skimmer collected enough skimmate to fill 1/5 of the collection cup. The unit is running a little loud for my taste, but there are no "fine bubbles" in the tank as many described, although initially I have noticed some. The set up was easy and the adjustment was quick.Let's face it; this is not the top of the line product, but many compare the Seaclone to skimmers that are twice the cost. This is a less expensive unit that can be successfully used in relatively small applications.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

the amonia worst nightmare

January 26, 2007
by Rica
fromOklahoma city, ok
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
I own 29 gallons reef with a SEACLONE 100 protein skimmer. It's very usefull.It helps me to keep my ph stable. You can't miss with the bubbles, just follow the manual intruction. Thanx MARINELAND!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

BEST BUY ITEM

November 23, 2006
by SaltwaterMaster
fromDenver, CO
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
You can't beat this skimmer for the price. I have one in my 50gl saltwater tank and it is a foam fraction dream. this is item is a great choice. However, it does take a little fine adjustment with air intake but once you get it right it work very well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next