PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats

The ultimate post for cats who just love to scratch. Thick sisal is wrapped tightly around a real Douglas Fir log for long-lasting use. Made in the USA.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
19 of 20(95%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Review 1 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 20 reviews

I like the earlier version better

October 15, 2013
by MsHeadRed
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
For whatever reason, the only scratching posts I've ever been able to get my cats to pay attention to are those covered with sawgrass/seagrass. The post of this item is covered with that material but it has a carpeted base, which they ignore. I bought two of these when online availability of the other type (base and post covered in saw/sea grass) was limited. My cats use the others more than this type. If your cats like both types of scratching posts, they may like this one. The purchase was fairly recent, so I can't yet comment on their durability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 20 reviews

Good product base to small

September 26, 2013
by Kelly69
fromRochester, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Why is it so hard to find a good scratching post with a solid base?? This one is made of nice materials. We left our other one at our camp on Labor Day weekend and our little boy has taken a licking to the carpet so I figured it will be a couple more weeks til we get back up there so I ordered this one. Carpet base, twine pole what he likes. But I am seeing when he is all in on it, it wobbles towards him. It seems like every scratching post I buy is like this. Luckily I kept a bigger base from another one years ago and we can swap it out...but it is on the one at camp ;0(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Miller Sisal Post 12" high

March 20, 2013
by lovelygirl
fromNH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Nice construction and sisal is the "only" way to go for scratching posts. Problem: Much too short - at the shortest it should be 37" plus and I would definitely buy one at the same price. Even my 7-10 lb cats prefer the tall posts. Kittens only seem to enjoy the short posts which they soon grow out of. I have the tall posts and they stretch out first and then proceed to sharpen their claws. Good product though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Very fine indeed

July 17, 2012
by TheThinMan
fromFernandina Beach, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
My cats love this scratching post, which we've had for several years now. The quality is so good, it probably will outlast us all. The only reason I give it 4 rather than 5 stars is it should be 10 to 12 inches taller than it is. Still, although 20 inches is short for a scratching post, it has proven to be the one my fine feline family prefers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Would reccommend

June 12, 2012
by fancyhedronbabydoll
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have two cats. One of my cats prefers this one over the other two in the house. I had to rub catnip on it to get her to use it. The problem is my cat is not getting to big for this and she tips it oer when scratching. So I had to put a 4lb weight on the base of it to hold it down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

I wish...

May 10, 2012
by CHLT
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased this scratching post about 2-3 months ago at a store location. It works well. The cats use it regularly.
Two reasons why it's not a 5 star product in my opinion. 1, I'd like for it to be taller. This would allow the larger cats to fully stretch out. 2, The heavier cat can tip it over. I solved this issue by pushing the base under a barely used closet door. This allows the heavier cat to use the post without it tipping over.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Good for small cats

November 20, 2010
by KittyPaws
fromNebraska
I find that my cats like to fully stretch out as they scratch a post. This one is good b/c it is centered. I like the TALLER ones b/c my cats can stretch out! But seems many of the TALL posts don't have the pole in the center and they easily tip over. This one would be great if they made a TALL one. But good for lighter cats or kittens.
Pros: pole is in the center
Cons: too short
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

August 28, 2010
by animalgal67
fromlakeville MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My kitties would scratch everything!! doors, windows, chairs, couches, tables. i decided to get this. i put a little treat at the top.....i walk into another room and 2 minutes later, i see my kitties scratching it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! good product! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

May 28, 2009
by masterpettrimmer
fromupstate NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought this same post 5 years ago and I just had to throw it out two days ago. I admit I restapled the sisal a few times over the years, but both my cats used it daily. I think for the amount of use it got it held up quite well. I just wish I could find it in the stores as now I can only order it online.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Lifesaver!

July 18, 2008
by Courtz27
fromGaithersburg, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought a larger version of this scratching post at the store... at first it was difficult to get Princess to use it, but a little catnip and using treats as reinforcement stopped all that. Now she scratches it constantly, especially when I walk by because she expects me to give her treats (which I typically do, I admit). My furniture has collectively sighed in relief! Takes some effort, but definitely worth it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 20 reviews

ignored for carpet

July 4, 2008
by hammiezrhoneyz
fromWoodinville, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Our cat completely ignores this to use the carpet.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Scratching Post

July 4, 2008
by soccergirlsmom
fromBrandon, MS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is a great scratching post for our cats. It's not to big and the cats love it. It'll save your furniture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Every cat needs one

June 30, 2008
by jem222
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this scraching post for my foster cats, and they love it! The little kittens race each other up to the top, and the mom likes to scratch here when she wakes up.
Every cat needs at least one tall scratch post in the house. I volunteer for an animal shelter and I hear people complain that their cats ignore scratching posts... and when I ask what kind they're using, they usually say a cheapo short, stumpy carpet one. Well, that's just not an attractive scratching surface for cats. This one is great-- it's tall enough to stretch out, has appealing sisal texture, and is sturdy enough to not tip over. For the price, it's a good deal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Good post!

June 25, 2008
by jmolea01
fromPhila, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is a must have for all kitty owners who want their couch to remain in one piece! my cats love this scratcher. At first, I had to put some cat nip on it, but now using the scratcher is part of their routine. they even like to chill out on the base. the only drawback is that after a lot of scratching, the carpet part starts to fall apart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Great furniture saver

May 26, 2008
by schotzee01
fromBrunswick, Ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Gracie loves this, she scratches on it sometimes, still young for that but she uses it to get on and off the couch which saves my furniture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great product

April 13, 2008
by Christa
fromMetro Detroit Michigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We have two cats and they both love to use this scratching post. They know instinctively how to use it.....but catnip spray or actual catnip rubbed on can entice those leery of it. I refuse to declaw because it's not necessary if you provide enough alternatives to furniture!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Scratch!

December 9, 2007
by asock325
fromDowners Grove, Il
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My kitty loves this! And thanks to this, he doesn't scratch the couch or bed nearly as much! Everytime we come home, the first thing he does it go to his scratcher, it's so funny! Put some catnip on it to introduce it to your cat. Also, we had to secure the base, otherwise Nugget would pull it over :p
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

My Kitten Loves It!

March 14, 2007
by penguinperson137
fromHouston, TX
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
When I got my new kitten, I bought this product immediantly! She loves to scratch it like puppies and teething. Kittens have to scratch!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Really does work

January 31, 2007
by LittleLuce
fromPensacola, FL
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
We were terrified that our cats would destroy our new couch, but they went right for this scratching post. The sisal makes a big difference... I've never seen either of them scratch at the carpet. Make sure it's taller than your cat, though. They need room to stretch when they scratch, so, if you have a bigger kitty, get a post that's one size up.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Sisal Scratching Post by Miller's Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Good scratcher

November 17, 2006
by Snowbirdy
fromBloomington, MN
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews
Cats like this scratching post, because it has just the right amount of stiffness, resistance, and "scratchability."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.