PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sun Seed Chew Blox

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sun Seed Chew Blox

Sun Seed Chew Blox, 1.25 oz
Overall rating:
3.294 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
9 of 17(53%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Review 1 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Good.(:

August 22, 2013
by hammylove9
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a really cool product .(: I never actually saw my hamster chew on it but I could definetly tell that she chewed on the corners.^...^ I always saw her jumping on it though! Overall , she wasn't CRAZY about it but it was used. :)
Pros: taste, high quality ingredients, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

February 20, 2013
by ChinchillaLover1
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this for my Chinchilla she chews on it once in awhile but does not seem to really enjoy it. She seems to like using it to more for a stand for her front paws. I do not know if she does not like the taste but I do not recommend buying it.
Pros: taste
Cons: price, Taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

Depends

October 27, 2012
by Raych
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got it for my hamster and he never touched it. But my hamster is picky so it depends on what hamster you have
Pros: high quality ingredients
Cons: Taste
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

D-U-S-T-Y!

June 27, 2012
by BlueLightningSkinnys
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought this for my one Guinea Pig, she was housed alone and was very depressed, so I tried cheering her up with different Treats & Toys, and I did try this out, it was a waste of money, she never even touched it and barley even came around it, I tried putting it in her hay rack, nothing. It was DUSTY EVERYWHERE and a pain in the butt to clean up! I hated it! I even tried it on my Hamsters and they didn't like it either. I am pretty sure it was the dust that got into their noses that caused them not to gnaw on it. It was also pretty expensive, I mean, really? $3 for a block to chew on?
Cons: price, Taste, LowQualityIngredients
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

A good way to jump into the wheel

August 13, 2010
by princess8699
fromWashington DC
My chinese dwarf hamster loved using it.. to jump into his running wheel from the side... Other than that, he never chewed on it.... I tried placing it by his food bowl.. He wouldnt touch it. So I moved it across the cage hoping to get different results, still never got him to chew on it.
Cons: never chews on it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews

April 3, 2010
by Matej
fromHopatcong, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My hamster barley notices it, and does not chew on it very often.
Cons: hamster does not chew on it much
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Has a different use...

June 19, 2009
by Sendra
fromSalt Lake City, Utah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Sure, I thought this would be great since pumice and other lava are around in a chinchilla's natural habitat. This block, however, was not a hit with my chinchilla. (Though Lava-Bites, also sold at Petsmart, were great.) All she did was give it a test chew, then later urinate on it a few days later. But hey, at least I was able to put the urine soaked block in her litter bin to help litter train her!
Pros: great for litter training
Cons: not a good chew
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

not for me

January 13, 2009
by iluvpigs
fromapex, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i don't know about you, because all pets are different, but my guinea pigs never touched this. it might work for you but it didn't for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Good For Teeth

September 10, 2008
by ChinChiller
fromHouston
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
One of my chinchilla's nibbles on this block and the other chinchilla does not even touch it. The only down fall is the sound of the teeth grinding on it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

great for the teeeth!

August 16, 2008
by Sarah9
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My 7 chinchillas love these chew blocks and so do I! They do not splinter like wood does and they seem to last forever! One downfall, my chinchillas find it fun to urinate on the blocks- making me not last too long. But one cage of them will not urinate on them and they have not yet been replaced! (They are the good chinchillas! LOL!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Good for rodents

June 16, 2008
by naturebabe
fromSyracuse, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This product is excellent for rodents. I keep chinchillas, and the blocks keep their teeth trim. They don't "love" to chew on them like other taster chew toys, but they will gnaw as they feel like it, and the blocks are economical and last a long time. They might not be fancy, but they do the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews

OK

July 13, 2007
by My2GuineaPigs
fromON
Well I'm not trying to write a negative review, I'm just trying help those who are interested in buying this product. I tried this product for my hamsters and guinea pigs, but none of them even touched it. Maybe my pets are just picky, but all they did was smell it, and walk away. I have talked to a couple of other people who bought this product, and they had the same problem. But still, I would say--you never know, your pets might like this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews

not to popular

June 29, 2007
by lizziebeth
fromspartanburg sc
my bun didn't like it he won't even go near it. he is picky though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

hamster=stubborn

June 24, 2007
by Gigi98
  • Expert
fromAsheville,NC
My hamster is pretty picky,so i buy her lots of different treats and toys to try out.So i bought this,but of course she sniffed it and walked away.I decided to give it a tasty twist by imbedding peanut butter(not to much)in the holes.She started to chew it but it still isn't her favorite chew toy.Oh well,at least i tried it out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Block

November 21, 2006
by BunnyMama
  • Expert
fromAlbuquerque, NM
My bunny likes to gnaw at things so I thought this would be great for her. Also it is big enough that when you are cleaning out cedar shavings it doesn't get lost and accidently thrown out.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Good for long teeth

November 21, 2006
by ChinMommy
  • Expert
fromFort Worth, TX
This is a really good chew to keep teeth down. I use it for my chin and he likes it alot.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sun Seed Chew Blox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

sun seed chew blocks

November 6, 2006
by missyB36
fromKennewick, WA
Ths is so cool! My rabbits love them!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.