PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for API Proper pH Water Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

API Proper pH Water Conditioner

This water conditioner helps you achieve and maintain a healthy pH level in your fresh- or saltwater aquarium, so your marine fish, African Cichlids and reefs can thrive. The fish-safe, phosphate-free formula helps reduce fish stress, which promotes successful breeding, appetite, healthy color and disease resistance.
Overall rating:
3.231 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
7 of 13(54%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Review 1 for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Finally! Something that WORKS!

September 5, 2013
by Shunican
fromCalifornia
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was honestly a little nervous about using this product, Proper pH 7.0, after reading all the reviews on it, some good and some bad. Reading the bad ones scared me, but I tried it regardless. I have been struggling to get the pH down in my Betta's tank for weeks now and nothing has worked so far, even API's own pH -minus liquid.
I used Proper pH 7.0 today (5th September 2013) and in about 10 minutes, the pH level was PERFECT. It did not cloud my water, it still looks crystal clear, and I used less than the recommended dose (minding that I had to use my own measurements, since I have only 2.5 gallon tank). I was so relieved to see that my Bettas weren't much affected by it either, which worried me the most.
If you're having no luck with other products to get the pH down, like I have (and I literally tried EVERY other product that was sold at Pet'sMart), then this one should do the trick. My area of living has extremely hard water, making the pH VERY difficult to change, so I was ecstatic to see the change, FINALLY. My Bettas finally comfortable in their home.
My advice, definitely try this product first if you're having pH troubles. It worked for me! =D
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

African Cichlid

July 28, 2012
by CichlidGod
fromRaleigh, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
You know... To everyone who uses this product, and complains that it doesn't work, you obviously haven't read the directions. For this product to work properly, you need to buy an african cichlid salt mix. Such as the API Malawi mineral mix sold in Petsmart. I had the same problem as most people. This product wouldn't change the PH of my aquarium at all. Then I read the directions and it said I needed a cichlid salt for the buffer to work. If you have a saltwater aquarium then you don't need an african cichlid salt. Now that I know what to do, this product works great, and my african cichlids are doing awesome!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Works very well in reducing pH.

May 7, 2012
by htl1
fromChicago Suburb
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
The direction states use 1 scoop for 10 gallons of water. Since I used pH down and test strips to prepare water, and was eager to test this product and a new pH meter; I put 3/4 scoop in a 15 gallon tank, 2 scoops in a 40 gallon tank, and the pH reduced from 8.5 to 7.5 within 5 minutes.
This is an excellent product for reducing pH. It dissolved quickly and did not cloud water. The label states it is not for planted tanks, and it also eleminates chlorine and chloramines.
Pros: works great, easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Don't bother

April 2, 2012
by John60
fromSt. Charles, Mo
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
All this product does is cloud the water. I should have follow a friend's advise. Just wasted money.
Cons: didn't work
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

waste of money

June 17, 2011
by dokitty
fromboston
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews
ive been adding this product for a week and it didnt even raise my ph just a bit dont let them con you into wasting your money
Cons: didn't work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Works As Advertised

October 9, 2010
by MidnightDash
fromSeattle, WA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
This product works so well that I barely ever had to test the PH anymore. It's only ever fluctuated once - otherwise, it's stayed almost completely stable. I suggest softening the water along with adding this product, though, as that will help it work in the long run. Also, you may have to add slightly more than is on the directions. I'm pretty generous with it sometimes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Works great, at least for me

September 11, 2010
by JSBetta
fromNC
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
It should first be noted that several factors will affect this product's ability to regulate ph, such as hardness. This product worked well for me when others wouldn't. This is a phosphate buffer, and strange enough, did what other phosphate buffers would not: get my ph to a perfect, stable 7.0.
I don't know why I am so skeptical of API products. Many people advise that you stay away from them, but everything I have tried by them just simply works.
Remember that if you purchase this, slowly integrate it into your tank through water changes. If you have a ph higher or lower it will cause your fish more harm to quickly change the conditions of their water than to have an undesirable ph.
Pros: works fast and effectively
Cons: using the included scoop is messy, a little expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Proper Ph 7.0

March 10, 2008
by deegirl2be
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I have only been using Proper Ph for a couple of years now. On my other tanks I used to use the old fashioned Sodium Bicarbonate and Sodium Biphosphate. I got tired of having to measure out exactly what I needed to adjust the Ph a certain number of points. I also found that I had to add it every time I did a water change. I used Proper Ph before I added fish to a 12 gallon aquarium that I set up two years ago. I woke up the next morning and the Ph was perfect. It is very fast acting and works for a long time as well. I had to keep adding it to my tank several times during water changes, but after that I have not had to add any. Not only does it perform well but the results are permanent in a quicker amount of time than the old fashioned stuff that I used to use.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

DO NOT BUY

February 27, 2008
by Anonymous
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
This product never changed my PH. In fact it stayed around 6.4 even after several uses. The Powder made my tank cloudy and I had to do several water changes. Would never waste my money on it.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

useless,,,,,,

November 29, 2007
by ponken
fromGA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
I have 7.0 and use almost half bottle,,,,.,how ever my ph level is still 6.4,,,,and this product KILL your live plants,,,,,,
better way change 50% of water,,,that helps to keep 7.0!
DON'T SPENT YOU MONEY!!!($_$)
DON'T USE IT!!! (@!@)
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Stops the nitrogen cycle in its tracks!

July 31, 2007
by Slicky
fromCharlotte NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
This product does what it's intended to but DO NOT use it on a newly initiated aquarium. There is something in this product that immediately kills nitrifying bacteria as it's forming and does not allow it to recover. My 10 gallon tank was cycling along just fine and I added this product. The cycle came to a screeching halt and nothing else would happen. I'm not sure if this happens in an already established tank but it reduced the existing bacteria to utter ruin. If you give your aquarium enough time, the pH will stabalize on it's own. Ammonia is very alkaline so as the cycle moves forward the pH will drop naturally. The only time I could see justifying the use of this product is for Cichlids where the pH needs to remain high.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

June 25, 2007
by Carlitos
fromMiami, FL
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
I decide to try this product to adjust my PH to 7.0 and I have used almost the entire bottle but it seams that does not adjust my PH. My PH still at 6.4
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for API Proper pH Water Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

Works well!

March 13, 2007
by GuppyGal
fromUSA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Proper Ph 6.5 brought my ph down exactly as it stated. However, if you have very hard water, you may have to use multiple doses before your ph "holds". The product claims to have buffers that prevent this, but I found myself needing to multi-dose regardless. Even so, after three doses there hasn't been any fluctuation in my ph, and it's held steady ever since. Easy to use, the product is easily dissolved, and it's economical (one bottle treats 200 gallons).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.