PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for API Safe & Easy Aquarium Spray Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

API Safe & Easy Aquarium Spray Cleaner

Use to clean glass or acrylic aquariums, hoods, filters, frames and stands. Cuts through the white crusty mineral deposits all over the aquarium. Convenient bottle with spray trigger. Just spray on and wipe off. Non-toxic to fresh and saltwater fish. Comes in a 8 fl. oz (237 ml) spray bottle.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 8
5 of 9(56%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for API Safe & Easy Aquarium Spray Cleaner
Review 1 for API Safe & Easy Aquarium Spray Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

best if used with razor

July 14, 2012
by timmay
frompa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
this stuff works ok i find it best if you spray it on and lightly take a sharp straight edge razor over the glass where the mineral build up is (do not use razor on the plastic frame! and be very careful around the silicone) other than that its a great product!
Pros: works great, easy to use
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API Safe & Easy Aquarium Spray Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

No problems for me...

May 6, 2012
by Brody26
fromNebraska
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I bought this when i bought a used tank that had alot mineral deposits around the top and on the glass top. I think the key to my success with this product is that i first took a razor blade being careful not to cut into the the silicone and scarped as much of the deposits off that i could and the washed the the tank out and dried it. then i sprayed this all around the tank and let it sit for about 15 minutes then i scurbed with a green scotch brite pad. I did this 2 times and the tank looked alot better when i was done. It is pricey but it did what i wanted it to do... I use it the clean my plants and decorations too...
Pros: works great, easy to use
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API Safe & Easy Aquarium Spray Cleaner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Weak...

August 12, 2011
by LeMeowmy
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
This stuff can get pretty pricey when you have a large tank. I used it to attempt to clean only part of my 30 gallon, and the bottle is half empty already! Yes, I say half empty because unfortunately it didn't do the job that I bought it for, which was to clean hard water stains off of my used tank. However, I will not be returning the product because it works well enough on the outside to remove fingerprints and whatnot. It also leaves a bit of a streaky residue. Overall, not a very good product.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: didn't work, price
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API Safe & Easy Aquarium Spray Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great Product!

December 30, 2009
by Angelic
fromSC
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I never had a problem with using this to clean my tank. The glass looks crystal clear afterwards!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API Safe & Easy Aquarium Spray Cleaner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Not for me...

June 14, 2008
by duckie1987
fromArkansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
This product does not live up to it's label claim of cutting "white, crusty mineral deposits". I had exactly that problem with my tank and followed the directions, it did not work, so, I sprayed it on and let it set for about 1/2 hour, still didn't work. I finally let it set overnight, scrubbed it off instead of wiping, and that also did not work completely! I've never had any problems with API products until this one. Do not buy, it's not worth your time or money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API Safe & Easy Aquarium Spray Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Aquarium cleaner- yea right

April 5, 2007
by vinnieboy
fromOlive Branch, MS
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Simply - DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. I bought this product because it was the only one that was available at my location. I have given it three chances to work and it has failed every time. After iar drying the piece looked the same as it did before I tried cleaning it with this product, and yes I followed the directions. The label reads "Safe & Easy Spray Aquarium cleaner", safe and easy spray - yes, cleaner- no way!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API Safe & Easy Aquarium Spray Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

didn't work

January 2, 2007
by hollandguy
fromHolland, Michigan
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Used it to try to clean lime deposits from the inside of my aquarium and it didn't work. It is a 15 gallon glass that was empty, I had scraped as much off as I could with a razor blade and I have city water that is fairly soft.
I sprayed it on, let it sit for 30 seconds and wiped it off with no difference, than soaked it for 3 minutes (like the bottle says) with no difference, and than I sprayed it on heavily, let it soak for 1/2 hour and still no difference. There was very little, if any, noticable difference (it's hard to tell because if you get those deposits wet, it looks better but does nothing).
On the good side, it is safe for aquariums and may be good for general cleaning, I ended up using CLR and even that didn't get it all (but most) and who can expect something that will cut the water stains by spraying on and wiping off while safe for fish? May work on salt or crud deposits (like dried food on the rim of tank), I just used it for water stains.
It says "Cuts through the white, crusty mineral deposits on your aquarium." and for that, it didn't work.
It was the first thing I tried and the last time I'll try it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API Safe & Easy Aquarium Spray Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Fish Item Cleaner

November 20, 2006
by Max99
fromColorado Springs, CO
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
This spray is so easy to use... (make sure you shake the bottle first!). If you have lime or salt build-up, spray it on, let it sit for just a few minutes, and scrub off. I haven't tried the Jungle version of this, but this one works great for me! It is SAFE for the fish too, so, if you didn't get all of it off of something, it won't hurt the fish. GREAT STUFF!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for API Safe & Easy Aquarium Spray Cleaner
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product