PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Seachem Purigen Ultimate Filtration

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Seachem Purigen Ultimate Filtration

Unique macro-porous synthetic polymer absorbent to remove soluble and insoluble impurities from aquarium water. For marine and freshwater use.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
8 of 10(80%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Seachem Purigen Ultimate Filtration
Review 1 for Seachem Purigen Ultimate Filtration
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

from cloudy to clear

November 13, 2006
by scandiablue
fromMN
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
This product was recommeded to me by a fish specialist. Our new tank was still finishing its intial cycle and we had been overfeeding our new fish. The end result was I had very cloudy water that was not clearing up. After dropping one of these pouches in with my filter my water was crystal clear within 2 days. It helps remove nitrates and nitrites and it polishes the water. It does not affect the ph of your water. It definately helps your tank look its best. You know when to replace or recharge it. The beads will change from an off-white color to brown.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seachem Purigen Ultimate Filtration
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Incredible

January 22, 2013
by AquaGuy
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Purigen is incredible. I cannot believe the number of years I went without knowing about this product. I always thought my water was clear, but after using Purigen, I couldn't believe my eyes. It was like there was no water at all.
I now use Purigen in all my fish tanks and will do so as long as I have fish tanks.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seachem Purigen Ultimate Filtration
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

AWESOME!

October 26, 2012
by LUVLIFE
fromNew York, NY
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
So i have read tons of reviews about using Purigen and i will agree with 99% of the reviews that say it is the best. I recently introduced to my tank Mopani wood and i soaked it in boiling water for about a week but still had a slight color. I put it in my tank and didn't mind the tea color for a few days then i was over it. i did a water change as usual and this time entered Purigen in my HOB filter...wow! In less than 8 hours the water looks like it did before i put the wood in. this stuff is amazing!! Well worth every penny. P.S. i used the packet that comes in the box. Rinse it in some old tank water for about 60 seconds and then into the filter. Maybe a handful of small pebbles escaped but that's all.
Happy Fishing!!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seachem Purigen Ultimate Filtration
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Incredible Product!

April 14, 2010
by Jeff0803
fromIndianapolis, IN
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I always had problems with my driftwood tanning the water not anymore crystal clear with this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seachem Purigen Ultimate Filtration
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 10 reviews

not worth the money!

November 14, 2008
by 24qg60
fromsacramento,CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This prouduct is expensive and i cannot tell the difference with or without. I also had the same problem as the other reviewer with purigen seeping out of the bag. I had to double bag with another fine filter media pouch. I also dont see the maker recomending using bleach to clean. Such physicaly small product you would lose most in the cleaning process let alone putting something that has been soaking in bleach back into my aquarium. I would recomend looking for other filter medias that do the same job.
-17points
0of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seachem Purigen Ultimate Filtration
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Wonderful Product

March 19, 2008
by crazyanimallady
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I use a quite a bit of Purigen. I keep a 200 gallon turtle pond, a 55 gallon freshwater tank and a 10 gallon freshwater tank. I use Purigen in all of my filters and have great results. I no longer have any issues with ammonia, nitrites and nitrates. For those of you that keep turtles you should know that when my 7 inch RES was in my 55 gallon tank 2 mesh bags of Purigen made it possible to wait a month between water changes and keep 0 ppm ammonia and nitrite levels even though I fed in the tank. Buy this stuff already in the Seachem bag. If not, it is really difficult to find a bag fine enough to hold it without leaking.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seachem Purigen Ultimate Filtration
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

This product is so fine it didn't hold up

December 27, 2007
by JohnnyMidnite
fromPhoenix, AZ
in an 800 micron fine filter bag.. It seeped out during rinsing in the initial media setup of the filtered bag. It is too fine. Suggest using uv sterilizer "green killing machine" for crystal clear water and a fluval cannister filter! I own a 55 gal. & 10 gal. salt tanks.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seachem Purigen Ultimate Filtration
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Fantastic Product

December 16, 2007
by Rick77
fromSaint Petersburg, Fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is one of the greatest products I have every used. I cannot praise it enough. It makes my 48 gal. aquarium water crystal clear. Some time back when I started my fresh water aquarium I had a problem with cloudiness that lasted for weeks. When I started using Purigen everything cleared up. It has incredible absorbing powers and can be recharged over and over again. One pad, which I use, (size of adobe pad) can last 6 or 7 months. The only thing that bothers me is that my local Petsmart has been selling them at a clearance sale and it looks like they will not sell them again at their stores; which is a terrible mistake. I guess they are not selling enough of them to continue placing them on their shelves; but that is because the do not advertise them enough, and tell their customers what a wonderful product it is. Let me also say that Seachem makes this product, and I am not employed by them in any way. I just love this product.. sincerely, Richard
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seachem Purigen Ultimate Filtration
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Purigen is a god send

March 29, 2007
by mholtum
fromTempe, AZ
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Gives you crystal clear water and when it is exhausted you can just recharge it! I have been using the same 2 bags for almost 8 months and they are still working very well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seachem Purigen Ultimate Filtration
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Excellent for your tank!

November 21, 2006
by marg
fromChesapeake, VA
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
This product will easily give you sparkling clear tank water!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.