PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Neutral Regulator from Seachem

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Neutral Regulator from Seachem

Adjusts pH levels to 7.0 in freshwater aquariums. Also removes chlorine, chloramine and ammonia.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Neutral Regulator from Seachem
Review 1 for Neutral Regulator from Seachem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Neutral Regulator from Seachem

November 23, 2013
by Crafty60
fromRichmond, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The ph levels in a fish tank need to be either neutral or slightly higher to prevent fish stress and to promote ultimate health. A fish tank is an intricate ecosystem and maintaining a positive environment will keep your fish alive and happy for years to come. My fish live so long they eventually die of old age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Neutral Regulator from Seachem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great stuff

May 15, 2013
by ChiTownDan
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I tried the liquids and tablets and they don't work. This powder works perfectly. I have discus and I use this regulator with Seachem discus buffer to keep my ph at 6.2-6.4. This product makes keeping discus easy. Easy to read instructions on the back, just follow the ratios.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Neutral Regulator from Seachem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Like seachem products

January 31, 2013
by johnf333
fromfountain inn SC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It works well, and is easy enough to use. I wish it worked longer. I add when changing water and it starts depleteing after 2 days. I change water every 4 days so it just does'nt quite cover it. It does what it says though and the fish are not adversly effected by it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Neutral Regulator from Seachem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great product!

March 22, 2011
by Chelsea333
fromDSM, Iowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
My husband and I have been trying to keep fish for the past year and not having any luck after a few weeks they would die. We talked to a rep at Petsmart and said to bring a water sample. Our water was above 8.2 ph (which was why they were dying) We used this product and havent had a problem since! We are now upgrading to a 55 gallon! I love this product and wont use anything else!
Pros: works great, easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Neutral Regulator from Seachem
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Very ineffective

March 25, 2009
by Brigser2k
fromLos Angeles
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Had a lot of trouble with this product. The Ph doesn't stabilize and this producut didn't reduce my water to 7.0.
The product does, however, do a good job removing chlorine. Seachem's products are usually good, but this is a product's that I can't recommend. Easy to use, but doesn't work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Neutral Regulator from Seachem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great with Purigen

March 19, 2008
by crazyanimallady
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I do not use this product to adjust my tank PH, rather I use it as part of the regeneration process for Purigen. By using Neutral Regulator I only have to deal with it and bleach to regenerate the Purigen. I use it to both remove the bleach and bring the PH close to 7.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Neutral Regulator from Seachem
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

Doesn't neutralize pH to 7.0!

February 16, 2008
by Goralka08
fromDetroit, MI
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
It's good in preventing your pH to sky rocket, but not good if you're looking for something to get ya down to 7.0.
It steadily has kept my pH to 7.4 for quite some time, but I've NEVER gotten to 7.0 (which I'd prefer because I have tetras).
It's good at keeping ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates down though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Neutral Regulator from Seachem
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

June 12, 2007
by Carlitos
fromMiami, FL
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
I would NOT recomend this product. I tried it in my new tank of 30G and did nothing. It didn't adjust my Ph to 7.0 or even close.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Neutral Regulator from Seachem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Works well

November 26, 2006
by CJay
  • Expert
fromNY, NY
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I find that this product does in fact appear to stabilize the pH, preventing major swings. But I do find that with my local water and this product, that the pH still hovers around 7.4 to 7.5, not 7.0. I use a small amount of ph DOWN to remedy the problem, but this product helps keep the pH from swinging back too high.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.