PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier

The Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier is the easiest, most comfortable way to travel with your pet. Offers safety features in a stylish, contemporary design.
Overall rating:
4.15 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 19
16 of 20(80%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Review 1 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great product

January 20, 2014
by ginarae10
fromWarrens, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The carrier pulls easily and fits under the airplane seat. Is airline approved and comes with a guaranteed onboard from Quaker Pet Group. If you are denied boarding due to the carrier, QPG will reimburse you and your pet's flight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

January 9, 2014
by Huronite
frommichigan
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My daughter used the Sherpa on wheels as her carry on to fly home after Christmas as she hadn't brought her dog home. Worked well for that and now she's using it for her dog for a trip to the vet in a cab.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Secure with Wheels

January 9, 2014
by Ernesta
fromSeattle
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Great bag with lots of ventilation well made and perfect for my 19 lb Lhasa easily moves around with swivel wheels on one end stationary wheels on the other highly recommended fits under the seat on the airplane
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

The tops

November 25, 2013
by Teddiebetty
fromChicago and Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The best traveler. Rolls very smoothly. If you roll up the side tarps the pet can see out which helps with anxiety in an airport/airplane situation. If you roll down the tarps it makes a perfect den for nights. Both my yorkies treat this as their main crate and go to it as their safe home. Love this Sherpa!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Love This Carrier

October 11, 2013
by Pam7419
fromMaryland
I already had a sherpa carrier for my yorky mix but found that it was very heavy and awkward to have the carrier on my shoulder throughout security check-ins and walking through the airport (I visit my parents four times a year). I bought this rolling carrier, and my dog loves it (she likes to travel -- when I opened the package, she actually jumped in and didn't want to get out). The reason I'm giving it four stars instead of five is that I like an aisle seat on an airplane, but because of the metal wire that runs around one side of the carrier, it won't fit underneath the aisle seat. I was lucky on this first flight that it wasn't full and I could sit in the aisle seat and put the carrier under the middle seat, but I'm sure it won't always be like that. I do, however, highly recommend the carrier.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Good quality

September 21, 2013
by Dingbat1
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Haven't taken a trip yet, hope to soon, I believe this product will be just what I need
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Best Pet Carrier!

January 29, 2013
by LittleDogLover01
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Bought the medium size carrier for a plane trip. My 8 pound dog looked very comfortable in it and seemed to stress a lot less in it than in other carriers--I think because of the roomy interior.
It has a lot of ventilation which can be covered with snap-on flaps. The front and top load zippers make it very easy to get the dog in and out and the bottom is lined with soft wooly-like material.
Best of all--it's on wheels which made going through the airports SO much easier than having to carry it along with everything else!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews

Average

January 7, 2013
by Schnickers
fromOregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The dog carrier is roomy for my dog and very comfortable, however the wheels on the bottom are set too far toward the center of the carrier and when I try to pull it through airports, it tips over.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great product

August 17, 2012
by Cadykay
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i bought the large product for a bus trip to visit my friend in Boston. If you know anything about riding a bus then you know that no animals other than a service dog are allowed. I needed to get a carrier that could fit a ferret and a 5 month old kitten that could pass for a normal bag. This bag worked great the wheels made going through Port Authority a breeze and the blinds were great for boarding and waiting in line because no one could see what i had with me. Very durable as well the two got restless once i was in boston so they were scratching the carrier and everything stayed in tact.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 20 reviews

Not good for airline travel

July 9, 2012
by Lunalicious
fromBrooklyn, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Large size (20 in) doesn't fit entirely under Delta airplane seat despite meeting set dimensions. The strap doesn't allow for good control when using wheels, huge hassle in a busy airport. Wound up carrying case which was made heavier by wheels. I would just get a a smaller case without wheels since the quality of the carrier itself was great. My 8lb puppy was really comfortable inside.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews

not designed for air travel

February 1, 2011
by bonsai35
fromCT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
if you're looking for a rolling bag to make air travel easier with your pet, this is not it. I'm actually shocked at how poorly it is designed and I'm going to see if I can get a refund.
First of all, the four wheels on it are not directly in the corners, which means that if your pet moved around in it and you are trying to roll it using the cheesy handle, it flips over. So, you're in the airport and your bag with your dog in it, flips over on its side and not only do you have to stop and right it, but doggie is not so happy.
Also, there are no wheel locks on it, so when the plane takes off, the bag is unstead and rolls. it rolls and if doggie moves around, it falls over yet again.
I wound up carrying the bag with my dog in it. it's the only safe way for the dog going through the airport and so a non-rolling carrier would have been better, easier and safer for my dog.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Travel Carrier for a Shih Tzu

October 6, 2010
by KarenM1
fromMississauga, Ontario. Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was in the market for a travel carrier for my dog. He's 6 years old and 21.5 lbs. This carrier caught my attention and was pleasantly surprised that it was on wheels. LOVED IT. I instantly went online and ordered the large and got in today. Honestly... its constructed very well and sturdy. I put him in it and thought he would have tried to jump out. No.... he just sat in there and watched out and loved being pulled around. That in itself is half the battle, now I just have to get him ready for the plane and we're off. Great Job Sherpa. Thank you.
Pros: the wheels, padded pull handle, size fits comfortably, wide enough for him
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

awsome bag!

June 12, 2010
by yorkiegirl667
fromFort.Benning, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
When i got this bag i new it was the one i wanted for my 7 pound yorkie,Boca. Boca loves to travel but hates bags. When we went to the store i saw the weels and said wow that would be a lot easyer then carriering Boca every where.Anyway i got it for a plane ride we havn't gone on the plane yet but i now he'll like the plane ride. So far the item is great!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Very Good Product

October 7, 2009
by DB238
fromSan Diego, Ca.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Purchsed this product for our chichuachua mix to travel on plane. Bought the meduim size unit which fit perfectly under the seat without any effort on a 757-200 aircraft. Was a little difficult on the MD Super 80 aircraft but still fit under seat but not as well as the other aircraft. Construction of the product seems to be good. Dog scratched at the screen material buut it never tore. She sleep and was quite the whole time on plane.
Pros: wheels leather construction
Cons: pulling handle a little short for tall person
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews

Flip-Over Sherpa Pet Carrier

July 12, 2009
by grumpygirl10
fromBeaverton, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I, and will guess my dog, thought this was a terrible product. My dog kept flipping over in the carrier because the wheels are small, cheap, and have a limited motion of forward and backward. Moreover, the "blinds" caused the bag to have limited vision, even when rolled up. I could tell Calliope was unhappy about not being able to see out very well by the way she kept moving her head around for a better view. It was unbelievably cumbersome, bulky (when the "blinds" were rolled up), and lacked any stability when moving or turning. It was just really poorly made. I returned it the second I got home. My poor baby girl Calliope seemed miserable when she normally enjoys travelling.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great Product

May 26, 2008
by Nickpar
fromWashington, D.C
My husband and I were nervous about taking our super active schnauzer on a 2 1/2 hour flight. The sherpa was fantastic. Even though the vet prescribed him a mild sedative that didn't work on him, he was comfortable, cool, and calm in the sherpa. It fit
comfortably under the seat (love JET BLUE) they were great!
After the flight he was desperate to get out and started scratching the mesh and moving around and there was absolutely no damage to the carrier. By the way, my dog weighs 16 lbs and jet blue's maximum is approx 20 lbs with the dog and carrier.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Awesome Bag!

April 1, 2008
by SukiPunk
fromHuntington Beach, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I first bought the Sherpa Deluxe Carrier, but returned it because I realized my dog was going to be a pain in my back to carry through an airport and instead bought this. I am so happy I did! My dog is 14 lbs and loves it. She plays in it at the house and knows to sleep when I zip her in. Nobody notices she's in there either, it rolls easily. I customized hers by putting in a small skylight on top.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Louisiana to Alaska

January 30, 2007
by stargazer
fromDutch Harbor, AK
I bought the large size to take my 16# cat from Louisiana to Dutch Harbor, Alaska. We flew Continential, Alaska Air, and Pen Air. This carrier was a dream. The wheels rolled smoothly and made transport between planes a breeze. It certainly saved a lot of wear and tear on me, trying to carry my 16# cat Lilo between planes! I'm not sure I would have made it if I had to shoulder the load, some of the changes required a lot of walking. There was plenty of room for my large cat to turn around although he was 1" taller than the bag, the length was good. It fit easily under the seat on all the planes, even the little Saab turbo prop, but I did have to 'squish' down the top slightly on the small one. The sides roll down for privacy, and this calmed my cat on take off. We also carred a small bottle of Feliway with us to ease the stress as sedatives can cause dangerous drops in blood pressure. The wheels rolled so smoothly, my cat did not complain about the ride. Most of the time, we had the sides rolled up so he could see out, and yes, he got out on his leash when we were in the staging area for the next flight. We carried Petsmart's cat litter made from recycled paper because it was light weight; we put it in quart bags and a aluminun cake pan for a makeshift litter box.
The family restroom provided the perfect 'pit stop' place between flights. Hope this helps anyone who might be looking forward to a trip.
+39points
41of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

good quality travel carrier

November 11, 2006
by nats
fromLexington Ky
Well made. Attractive. Very practical. The usual Sherpa design and guality in a carrier that can be rolled. The pet can be rolled along with your luggage. We are happy with our purchase and so is our puppy.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Sherpa-On-Wheels Pet Carrier
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product