PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone

nIncrease the safety of your pet at night with this ultra-bright bone-shaped Safe-T-Tag with ID label on the back!
Overall rating:
1.941 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 14
3 of 17(18%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Review 1 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

Almost Perfect - Breaks Soon

January 3, 2014
by BadgersMom
fromNewport News, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
I agree with other posts about the plastic loop breaking to easily. So far we are on number 3. We have a small dog - schipperke - so the tag lasts about a month before the loop breaks. I would prefer to have one that stays on - all the time and a metal clip - but the others that I've found that meet this criteria only last 24 hours, which is ridiculous. So for now, will take one that lights when he moves and lasts about a month. Not sure how long the actual light works, as the clip always breaks before the light fails.
Cons: fragile
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

A Little Small

December 23, 2013
by FastFred
fromWilmington, DE
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
I thought this product would be a little bigger and brighter, so that the dog and myself would be seen while walking at night!!
Cons: not adjustable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews

December 16, 2013
by kamaba1
fromindiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
I bought 2 of these bone shaped flashers so that I could keep track of our small dog while at night. The flasher only flashes IF the dog is moving.. Not good if the dog lays down and doesn't move. Will be looking for a different flasher that flashes ALL THE TIME while the dog is or is not in motion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Poorly designed

November 5, 2013
by n2bonsai
fromParker, Colorado
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
My German Shepard wore this product twice. The second time she shook her head and the plastic ring that the snap is attached to broke and sent the thing flying across the living room. Also you will find that on most of these type lights the replacement batteries are more expensive than the cost of the product with batteries. I found that there are much better designed products out there. Batteries are still more than the product so I bought two.
Pros: looks great
Cons: poor quality, fragile
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Not worth a dime! Quality is a Negative 1

December 8, 2012
by Inge
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
I have 5 dogs and live in the country. There are so many times that having a little light on their collars would be helpful, so I bought one for each dog. NONE of them functioned. The light is supposed to flash when the dog is moving. I could only force it to flash if I held it in my hand and shook it like mad. Even then, it didn't always flash. It should be illegal to sell this product.
Cons: poor quality
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Do not buy!!

November 12, 2012
by Pete1000
fromHamilton, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
I purchased a set of three on three different occasions. Each time two of the units did not work. The one unit that did only lasted a couple of weeks at best. The concept is great but the product is junk.
Cons: poor quality
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Did not work except in dim light

November 29, 2011
by palandor
fromOhio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
I could only get the lights to flash when we were walking around outside the garage or in the back yard when the house lights were shining. (and not even reliably at that time either.) Once we walked 30 feet away from the lights, the product doesn't want to light up when it's dark outside. When we walked by other houses with a LOT of lights (pole light, christmas lights, house & garage lights), it would flash, but at that point we are very visible.
Product is useless due to this.
Looks nice, but is useless.
Pros: looks great
Cons: poor quality
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

Used to be good-last few I used have died quickly

July 20, 2010
by BarbK
fromCT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
I have bought these for years for my little dog. Every once in awhile I got one that died quickly-but mostly they did well. Lately I have to use a new one every 2-3 weeks. They are great when they work.... but they must have changed something-lately -not worth the money.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

Lasted a couple weeks

January 14, 2010
by GSampson
fromUsed in Tulsa, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
When we took my dog to my parents' house with an unfenced yard, we wanted to track where he went at night (to use the bathroom). One day it had snowed, and the light didn't work anymore. Poor quality.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Works Great!!

December 29, 2009
by aussiegirl1
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
My dogs got these as a Christmas present. They come in handy, so if my dog slips off his leash I will be able to find him. They dont seem super high quality, but I haven't experienced a problem with mine yet.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

Cheaply Made

November 30, 2009
by MrByrd
fromAustin, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
My Beagle/Lab mix got one of these as a present ... it fell apart within the first week. My dog is high energy, but still, a product shouldn't fail in the first week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Worked for Me

October 27, 2009
by dmh1
fromNJ
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
I bought this for my dog after his brother got out at night and was hit by a car. I have had it for over a year now and it still lights up. It does not light up with EVERY movement, but enough that I feel confident he will be seen by motorists if he ever gets out at night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

For night time walks

September 17, 2009
by Jute
fromColorado
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Loved it at first but it only lasted a week and I am taking it back first thing in the morning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Dont Buy

November 24, 2007
by bayzoo
fromMich
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Bought 3 of them, well returned 3 that is, after opening them thay didnt work right out of the package. DO NOT BUY THE PRODUCT ABOVE THAY ONLY WORK FOR A SHORT TIME THAN THAY ARE JUNK and DONT GET THEM WET. The company that makes them wont answer E-Mail, regular Mail or phones. Was very upset abought this product I wanted my pet and me safe on our nightly walks and this product would not work fresh out of the package. Bought another product that was stainless steel similar to a flashlight.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Flashing dog Safe-T-Tag Bone
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
1.7 / 5
1.7 / 5 17 reviews
0 out of 3 recommend this product
Appearance 
3.7 / 5
3.7 / 5 17 reviews
Fit 
2.7 / 5
2.7 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews