PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home

The Feisty Ferret Home offers tons of space for even the most energetic ferrets to run, jump and play! 31" x 20" x 55".
Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
11 of 15(73%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Review 1 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Rehabber

August 26, 2009
by Rehabber
fromHuntsville, AL
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Am wildlife rehabber, currently have 2 opossums. They like the cage and the ramps are easy for them to use. Cost well worth the structure. Floors are not comfortable for their feet, but can be covered with newspaper or cloths. Both main floors are large enough for a potty tray, which is important when having to separate animals. There are upper and lower doors and that is a real bonus. The only thing I would change is to make the doors wider.
Pros: upper and lower doors
Cons: make doors wider or have both sides open
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Overall It's Good

July 26, 2009
by FerretLover9632
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I'm a 15 year old and I found it really easy to put together. The floors seem to hurt my ferrets feet so I went to a carpet store and got free samples of carpet and layed them on the metal bar flooring.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Home of two female ratties that love it

March 5, 2009
by chewybaby
fromcinncy,ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I recently bought this cage for my two females chewy and diamond and I don't know if there just not used to it or not but so far they love it i had them in a much smaller cage. They don't have as much toys as they think they did in the smaller cage. I love the fact that you can make the cage seperate levels for them. It is much easier to clean that way and I dont have to worry about them getting out. In the future I plan on getting a blue male rat so I can breed chewy so its perfect for that. When we got it there was a problem with the parts but we fixed it with a drill i posted a picture of them in there old cage
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

this cage is wonderful!

February 26, 2009
by uraveragemum
fromAtlanta Ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I was skeptical like most people, i am a first time ferret owner with two boys, and I want the best when it comes to anything. I consider myself a smart shopper, and this cage is definitly worth it, our MOJO loves his home and is spoiled rotten! it's durable and very roomy :) you won't find a better deal!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Feisty ferret home

January 31, 2009
by ferretluver
fromRoscoe Il
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Not a bad cage but their are others more appropriate for ferrets. First of all the wire levels are not good for ferrets feet so they need to be covered with carpeting. also if your ferret(s) is not perfectly potty trained it is difficult to clean up. I will say that it is a sturdy cage. and my ferrets have never been able to escape. That being said I do plan on replacing this cage soon.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great Cage

September 10, 2008
by Nicoleeeee
fromLutz, FL
What is your gender?F
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I love this cage and so does my ferret. I did not have any difficulty assembling the cage. The instructions were to the point; all that's required is bolting some things here and there. It's a very sturdy cage, high quality and it's ferretproof! I don't notice much noise when he's running around inside. The only draw back is the ramps are steep and slippery. My little porker will not go up and down them so the top layer is useless as of now. It's easy to clean and is a great buy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great for rats!

August 12, 2008
by MadeItToTheMoon
fromNaperville, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I recently got this cage for my rats (five females), and I'm SO happy with it!
The assembly wasn't as bad as I thought it would be... it took an hour at the most. The diagrams were small, but helpful.
What I really love about it is that my rats can't escape with this cage! Even though the bar spacing is close to an inch, it would be REALLY hard for them to get out, since the spaces are longer vertically than they are horizontally.
AND the cage is really easy to clean. The doors are so big that I can fit my shoulders through them. The only problem with the doors is that they do clank together when the girls play (especially when they run on their wheel). But that's really my only complaint, and it's pretty minor.
There's also a small door on the top of the cage, which is wonderful. I was so scared that I would hurt one of my rats with the big door (i.e., one of them would get caught). The top door was a perfect solution to this problem!
I get the feeling that I'll have to buy some replacement shelves in the future, since they're made of plastic. Still, they're pretty sturdy... I'll probably be able to get at least a year out of them.
All in all, I'm really pleased with this cage!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

was a great buy

June 26, 2008
by getitgurl080
fromtampa, fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
this is a great product, the exterior of the cage is sturdy and durable, the locking latch is keeping my chin in his cage, the platforms are a draw back, and will need to be replaced after your pet chews on it, the ladders should be more secure, my chin removes them often. despite these points i am overall very please with it's construction. the assemble instructions are not easy to follow, and will most like need 2 people to figure them out and put the product togather
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Pretty good-have some minor complaints

June 24, 2008
by JK1981
fromSpokane Valley,WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
For the most part I like this cage, and so do my 3 ferrets. I do have 3 year old that doesn't like the ramps-He does use them but a lot of times he stays on either the 1st or 2nd level. (He's also a little chubby). I agree with the other reviews that the ramps are a little slippery/steep for some ferrets. I had my brother put the cage together and I know he did have some minor problems. I do seem to remember that there was some frusteration on his part. :-) The only other thing I don't like about this cage is that the door latches rattle when the ferrets play or move around a lot. It's kind of annoying. Also I had to put some baby blankets down on top level because I think the cage hurts their feet a little-at the least it's probably not to comfortable. I don't know why the manufacturer wouldn't use something a little more comfortable. All in all, I think it works just fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Fiesty Ferret Home.

April 20, 2008
by misstizz
fromColumbus, ohio.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
I just recently purchased this cage for my three ferrets. After bringing it home, I found the parts were not labeled, and it was extremely hard to figure out what went where. The instructions were poor, and didn't help at all.
After finally getting the thing together, I put all three ferrets in it, only to find that they hate the ramps. One of my male ferrets will NOT use the ramps. They do seem a bit steep and also slippery. I was sure that they would love the cage, and I was disappointed to find out that they don't.
I would not reccomend this cage for anyone with older ferrets. Younger ferrets may not mind the ramps as much, but older ferrets seem to be afraid of them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Feisty Ferret Home

January 31, 2008
by Jude
fromClark Mills,NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I bought this product for my 2 ferrets on 1/30/08. I brought it home, opened the box and proceeded to assemble the cage. So the parts were not labelled for assembly, but with reading the 485 ferret cage assembly instructions and identifying the parts before assembly; it went together with ease and no frustration. My 2 girls were then put into their new home, which they then proceeded to explore every nook and cranny. They love it. The only fallback that I found is that my girls found the ramps a bit slippery. I am going to purchase some felt to apply to the ramps. Otherwise, this is a great product and I would suggest to any one to purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Second rate copy of a great cage

October 26, 2007
by RatsAndWhippets
fromNashville, TN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
I really wanted to buy another, similar cage that you may have seen elsewhere, but I got this one because of its smaller size. Assembling the cage is not that bad, but the quality of the unit is subpar. Not what you should get for 160 dollars.
To start with, the frame pieces didn't always meet correctly - I had to bend two pieces in order to make the screw holes line up. Also, none of the parts are labelled, and many of them are very similar. The wires inside the frame bend very easily and have sharp edges here and there. One of the door latches wasn't screwed in properly, so I went to screw it in, only to find that the screws had been stripped by the manufacturer. So, the handle just sort of jiggles around when you try to open the door. Also, the tabs to retain the slide out tray were absent on the bottom frame piece - the tray can just slide right out the back since there are no tabs to hold it in. The wheels don't go in the frame all the way - you just kinda push them in and start to pound on them until they sort of get enough friction to get "stuck" in place. As a result, the entire cage wobbles a little because one wheel went in further than the others, and it doesn't want to come back out.
There is a really popular, high quality ferret cage out there made by Midwest, but this is just a cheap copy of it in every way. Oh, the other cage costs the same as this one.
I wish PetSmart would sell Midwests's cage - they sell Midwest dog crates, why not their ferret cage?
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great For Chnchillas !!!

October 25, 2007
by ChinluverOFtheOC
fromOrange County, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I have a baby chinchilla, and this is perfect for your first one. They will love it and I recomend it to everyone!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Do Not Buy This Cage

September 30, 2007
by StargazerRP
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
I am so disappointed with this cage. I ordered it online and received it a few days later. Assembly SHOULD have been easy, however some of the pieces were welded in the wrong places and therefore screws would not fit in the holes. I exchanged for the same cage at my local Petsmart. That part was a breeze. I got the second piece home and started to assemble it and there were 2 of one piece and none of another that I needed for assembly. This manufacturer has major quality control issues!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prevue Pet Products Feisty Ferret Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great cage

March 15, 2007
by amira
fromGaithersburg, MD
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I bought this for my chinchilla, and he absolutely loves it. It took a little while to put together. The pieces of the cage are not labeled at all. The instructions are not the best, but if I can get it together, so can anyone. Plus, by the time I got it together ( a little over an hour) I was impressed. This is a very sturdy cage. Loads of room for my chin to run around! I am very happy with the two wide opening doors. One on the top level, and one on the bottom level. It makes it very easy to get my chin's dust house in and out, as well as his little hut- which is rather wide. The cage also has a small sliding door at the top, which is helpful for attaching the hammock that comes with the cage. I like that the cage has a slide out tray, which makes for very easy clean up. The tray that I received was damaged in shipping, so I called Petsmart customer Service, and I had another one sent out to me really quickly. I am sure that you will be very pleased with purchasing this cage!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.