PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food

This blend of seeds, grains and added nutrients contains the ingredients that hamsters and gerbils find most appealing, including corn, sunflowers seeds and alfalfa. The high-quality proteins in Nutriphase support normal tissue growth and health. Nutriphase foods offer excellent nutrition at a great value. Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
4.677 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 120
113 of 124(91%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Review 1 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

My gerbil wouldn't give his food up for the world!

September 14, 2006
by Rosebud
fromNY
This is sooo amzing! My gerbil's so healthy and happy! He LOVES his food and wouldn't give it up for the world! Nutiphase has something good going with their food, my gerbil's coat is so soft and shiny! He's going on 3 years old, and on this food, he looks as if he's only a few months old! I recommend this product soooooooo much to all small pet owners! Your babies will thank you for it!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Nimmy loves it

August 29, 2006
by Nimnim
fromMt. Pleasant,IA
This is an AWESOME product!!! Nimmy is happy(kind of fat), healthy and funny! He enjoys eating it A TON!!!! I would DEFINETLY reccomend this to any gerbil owner that wants a happy healthy gerbil! I hope that Nutriphase gets more products and stuff like toys and treats. I will DEFINETLY buy them!!!!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 124 reviews

Almost Perfect

January 9, 2014
by LeviandOtis
fromWinchester, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I currently own one dwarf hamster. Being a dwarf hamster, she loves the millet and other seeds in this mix. However, she will not touch the grey "log-shaped" pellets in the food. I am not sure what they are, but they don't seem like good food. There are a lot of them in the bag. Don't get me wrong, the food is good, except for the grey pellets. Besides that, this is a wholesome good food for your hamster. It is a good buy.
Pros: price, taste
Cons: Taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Love this

November 30, 2013
by Damien
fromNew york, Ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for the amount i got for the price, plus i had many hamsters and I needed tons of food so the 5lb bag was great.
Pros: price, high quality, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 124 reviews

Unappetizing

November 11, 2013
by Misselizabeth2222
fromMarquette, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My hamster goes for the sunflower seeds and that's it, she's not a fan of anything else in it :/ Next time I'll just spring for the more expensive food for better quality.
Pros: price
Cons: Taste, smell, low quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 124 reviews

Cheap, Delicious, Nutritious

September 29, 2013
by hasmterbestfriends2
fromChandler Crossroads, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My Dwarf Hamsters just ate all the sunflower seeds. Not the pellets or dry vegetables....with all the good nutrience. So, I picked out the seeds from the bag and zipped them away for well-earned treats. Then, my hamster really ate the nutrience part. It gave me sunflower seeds though! Which I later used for training and taming!
Pros: high quality, taste, price
Cons: smell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 124 reviews

Take out the Corn

July 24, 2013
by softy313
fromToronto, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This food is a great mix, except for the preservatives and lots of corn. This bag lasts about a month for 2 dwarfs and a syrian, except you have to pick through their food and remove half of the amount of corn, since they are high in sugar. Overall, great product!
Pros: smell, taste, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 124 reviews

NOT a High Quality Product

May 19, 2013
by HamsLov
fromUSA
The price of this food is out of this world but there are tons of corn which is a filler and a ton of sunflower seeds. Sunflower seeds are fat and too much is bad for the hamster. It is also very dusty on the bottom of the bag and I just don't recommend this product. There are better quality foods out there.
Pros: price
Cons: smell, low quality
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

good food

March 2, 2013
by reptiles5674
fromvirginia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
my gerbil goes crazy over the corn pieces i can use them as treats
Pros: taste
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

GREAT VARIETY!!!

February 22, 2013
by crazyham
fromShoreline,Washington
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is a really great product because you can give your hammy or gerbil this then add the fresh fruits and veggies or whatever. I like this because it gives your pet the basics then you can add what you think is best.
I hope this was helpful.
Pros: taste, price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

she loves it!!

February 22, 2013
by betabridge23
fromhawaii
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
great food!! my ham loves it!! or loved it anyway...
Pros: high quality, smell, taste, price
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 124 reviews

October 21, 2012
by Miniwheat
fromLakeville, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I mix this food with the forti-doet pellets for my hamster, Willy. He seems to like it so far, from what i can see. I mix a little less that 1/4 cup of seed and 5 pellets every other day. He likes the sunflower seeds, and the bird seed and corn he will eat willingly. This is a good diet if you supplement it with pellets or other vitamins.
Pros: price, high quality, smell, taste
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Tasty!

December 11, 2011
by Iwannaparakeet
fromPaducah, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this for my hamsters and they seemed to love it. I don't know much about its nutritional value, but its what the lady recommended. It was funny because my hamsters would store the food in their mouths and carry it to their house.The food lasted a long time.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 124 reviews

Great! Except...

October 17, 2011
by AllthatGlitters
fromToronto
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My dwarf hamsters absolutely LOVE this mix. They eat everything... EXCEPT for the pellets.
Pros: price, high quality
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 124 reviews

September 29, 2011
by Wyvernfire22
fromIN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Harris my dwarf hamster was only eating the sunflower seed and corn out of the mix and wouldn't touch the pellets. He also enjoyed the occasional piece of dried banana that was in it. All in all, it's an okay brand but Harris likes his new pellet mix much better.
Pros: smell, price, taste
Cons: low quality
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

My Hamsters' favorite foodof ll time!

June 25, 2011
by HamsterAndRabbitlove
fromBoone, IA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My hamsters loved this food but unfortunatly I hd to switch them on to a different food because I dont have a petsmart where i live the clossest petsmart is 45 mins. away and I dont want to do that for pet food. they sure do miss this food. they really loved it thy really did. I would recomend this to the hamster and gerbil owners out there!(:
Pros: smell, price, high quality, taste
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Great, Hamsters love it!

May 28, 2011
by Dogs101
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
"I bought this for my hamsters because my friend had told me to. She's messed up a lot with hamsters, but she was right about this. They don't eat the little logs, but they love the sunflower seeds. I would definitely recommend this to anyone getting a hamster."
Pros: smell, price, high quality, taste
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

AWESOME!

May 24, 2011
by hammysrule101
fromDelaware, DE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My little long-haired hamster Cheerio loves this! I also have 2 other sisters who both have hamsters. Their hamsters love it, too. My hamster loves it so much I have to change the food every night because there is barely any food left in the bowl from the day before!
Definitely get this food!
Pros: price, high quality, taste
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Tasty!...I think!

May 14, 2011
by RoboDwarf
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My hamsters love this so much!!!! They really like the sunflower seeds! They always eat it!
Pros: high quality, taste
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Grreat Choice(r) Hamster/Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

AMAZING!!!!!!!

May 14, 2011
by myash
fromMesa, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My male winter white hamster loves this food. He always eats it all but the store I go to said it is discontinued sadly.
Pros: smell, price, high quality, taste
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next