PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Mardel Maracyn-Two

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Mardel Maracyn-Two

Antibiotic for controlling gram negative internal and external bacterial infections.
Overall rating:
4.909 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Mardel Maracyn-Two
Review 1 for Mardel Maracyn-Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Works wonderfully, very effective!

August 20, 2013
by Elora
fromSkagit Valley, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I have used this product countless times, and it has never failed me. I have mainly used it to treat flexibacter columnaris (A.K.A. 'fish fungus') in betta fish. I have one little fish that seems very prone to it, despite the perfect water quality and temperature of his tank, and my frequent water changes. I have used this product on him several times, and he's always bounced back. I have also used this product in combination with the original Maracyn on another betta that I had purchased; who had a really bad internal bacterial infection. He wouldn't eat, and his swim bladder was impaired so that he couldn't control his buoyancy, and kept floating up on his side. I really thought that he wouldn't make it, but I treated him anyway. Within a day he'd regained control over his buoyancy, and two days after that he was eating again. Once treatment was over he was better than when I purchased him.
Although you'll need to do some math if your tank is smaller than the recommended 10 gallons, Maracyn Two is overall pretty easy to use.
I highly recommend this product to any fishkeeper, novice or advanced!
Pros: works great, easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mardel Maracyn-Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

saved my mollies

April 9, 2013
by avocado
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
my two mollies got sick all of a sudden - one got a bad case of popeye and another was sluggish, not eating, hiding, staying at the bottom of the tank... I didn't think my fish would make it, but thanks to maracyn two they are back to normal.
Pros: easy to use, works great
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mardel Maracyn-Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Saved my Platy!

April 8, 2013
by cgonzalez577
fromFort Lauderdale, Fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I'm so shocked by how effective this product is. My fish was having trouble with buoyancy, had stopped eating anything for 2 weeks and was pooing completely clear strings. It sounded like internal parasites so I treated with 2 (much more expensive) different anti-parasitic meds and the fish just got worse. I then assumed it was a bacterial problem and bought this to treat my hospital tank. Literally within 24 hours my fish had a normal poo and started eating again! I couldn't be happier!
Pros: works great, easy to use
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mardel Maracyn-Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

cures popeye!

December 8, 2012
by platypappa
fromIllinois
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
Just one 5-day treatment treated "popeye" on one of our platys! The only thing that made me give it an average rating on ease of use was that the packets are designed for a 10 gallon tank so it was a little tricky to divide packets for a 5 gallon tank.
Pros: works great
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mardel Maracyn-Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Saved my betta's life!

October 21, 2012
by petsrock
fromMA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
I used this with marycyn 1 and it worked great..use as directed. My beta was swollen and very sick. He bounced back and today is better than ever. A life saver!
Pros: works great, easy to use
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mardel Maracyn-Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great product

October 15, 2012
by Cait27
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
I was surprised by how quickly this product began to work! The day after I began the treatment my betta fish was swimming around and eating again; it was like he was a new fish! I was apprehensive about buying this product because I had never used anything like this on my fish before, but I am so glad that I did. My only complaint is that I had a little bit of difficulty measuring how much to put in my 1.5 gallon tank (the instructions were for a 10 gallon tank) but other than that it has been smooth sailing.
Pros: works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mardel Maracyn-Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Maracyn-2

August 30, 2012
by MattGuppyguy
fromOmaha, NE
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
This is about the best anti-biotic you can get for sick fish, provided its a bacterial infection and not parasites. I reccomend Use of a well-filtered hospital tank and slightly cooler water than usual, and definately use as directed. I have tried other medicine (i raise guppies, which as you may know like to get sick easily) and always come back to this medicine for Flexobar colmunaris infections on my females (usually as a result of transport stress). This is just the best you can get as a hobbyist.
Pros: works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mardel Maracyn-Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Very Reliable Medicine!

June 9, 2011
by BettaAreBeautiful
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
My little betta Blue Velvet was very ill. He was swollen in the throat area, struggling for air, and just mainly stayed at the top resting in his silk plants. All research pointed to either dropsy or swim bladder infection. I decided to try this product(Maracyn 2) based on the research I did, and I must say it doesn't disappoint. I gave him the full 5 day treatment, but actually he started to improve after a couple of days. He is now healthy, and swimming and eating happily. Don't hesitate to try this product, but I would also recommend you read the insert very carefully. Very pleased!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mardel Maracyn-Two
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

I think it worked.

June 8, 2011
by jessicabc
fromBC, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
My fish were sick with something rather mysterious (possibly TB, Neon Tetra Disease or Columnaris). Two fish died very suddenly overnight and the third was sick for a week before dying. The third one was breathing rapidly, inactive with spastic swimming once in awhile, slowly lost all color (aside from black markings) and at the very end developed pop eye (which told me it's likely bacterial). Unfortunately I wasn't able to buy the meds in time to save him.
I have guppies and catfish (cories and a pleco) in my tank (this was a concern for me as I've read often catfish are harmed by some medications). All of them tolerated the medication fine. My bacterial/biological filter seemed uneffected, so it won't ruin your cycle. Follow the directions.
It's been a month and none of the other fish have died-I'm still watching them closely though. I think it worked, I'm crossing my fingers. I don't know if the other fish simply didn't catch whatever it was, if their immune system handled it or the medication cured them though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mardel Maracyn-Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Bye Bye Popeye

July 10, 2008
by Bootsie358
fromRancho Cucamonga, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
I used this on my fish, Bubbas, and he is swimming happily while his popeye dissapears every day! His little eye will be better in no time! Infact, its almost close to that no time! My little fishy will live a happy life now!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mardel Maracyn-Two
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

bye bye bacteria

September 23, 2007
by fishfood
fromchicago,IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
this product is great! does a great job against septicemia!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.