PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier

A great temporary home or shelter for traveling with your furry friend.
Overall rating:
4.138 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 28
25 of 29(86%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Review 1 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 29 reviews

its good for rideing in a car with

July 30, 2013
by coolnessgirl
fromacampo ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
its ok if your bringing along a lil freind like my robo hamster i put him in it and he comes along with me its a good lil cage
Pros: portable, easy to use, lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Rat Ride-a-long

April 15, 2013
by HaleyHasTooManyPets
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I just recently got a single pet rat so I need to spend LOTS of time with her (no big deal) but the problem was going to my dads every other weekend! So wallah, poof, shazzam, this carrier is very helpful. It's only a half hour car drive, so the water and food isn't really needed, and the vet is only and hour away. It really came in handy. It's also nice for our cockatiels.
Pros: portable, easy to use, lightweight
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 29 reviews

Not really...

November 15, 2012
by Raych
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Well I brought this home when I got my hamster and I had him in this but the next second he was sitting on the top of it! I put him back in and it happened again! I checked the feeder opening and it was very easy opened. I returned it but I also noticed the other ones were NOT the same and they closed better. So just make sure! :) lol
Pros: portable
Cons: doesn't work
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

Awesome

August 10, 2012
by PhobeTheHamster
fromPasadena, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Phobe the hamster LOVESS her home thou she spends most the day in her ball she loves to go in there in sleep
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

Pros:cheap,dwarf hamsters Cons:no space for water

July 11, 2012
by MhtQuach
fromGermantown, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is a good product for dwarf hamsters. As a carrier it is great but, as a permanent cage it is a little too small. The handle is unreliable but the carrier itself is pretty heavy duty.They also made a small hole in the cap but it is too small for most water bottles.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Great for Emergency Travel

November 9, 2011
by CockatielOwner
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Our vet recommends this cage as a temporary holding place for our bird (a cockatiel- or any other small/medium bird). A sick bird needs to be contained and kept warm until it can be transported. Therefore until the Vet office opens the Vet recommends we keep our bird in this cage, sit the cage on top of a heating pad (turned on low) with a paper towel or newspaper on the bottom of the cage and 2 small bowls (one for food the other for water). Additionally, to keep in the heat the vet recommends 3/4 of the cage be covered with a light towel.
So, this is an inexpensive and ideal cage to keep in the house for those unexpected emergencies. From our experience birds can get sick unexpectedly and go down hill pretty fast if not treated. So its always best to be prepared.
I'm sure this cage would be useful in transporting any small pet to the Vet.
Pros: easy to use, portable, comfortable, lightweight
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Great cleaning cage

February 8, 2011
by Loaches
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This carrier is great to put your dwarf hamster or gerbil in when your cleaning it's cage. It's cheap and it looks good!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Fighting

December 18, 2010
by zozo
fromBall Ground, Georgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have 2 dwarf hamsters, they had just recently started fighting. I can't afford two 20$ cages then I found this! I bought two of them, I found a nifty water bottle that can fit in this cage too! I also put a small wheel, and food bowl in there. Great overall cage for dwarfs
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Awesome!

May 31, 2010
by Teddie
fromSimi Valley
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My mom bought me this when I purchased my current hamster. I am so glad that she did! It is great when you are cleaning their cage and you need a place to put your beloved hammy. It is also the perfect place to put them to take them to places.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

Awsome!!!

April 17, 2010
by Angie124
fromDayton, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this with my first hamster instead of the box they give you. I use it a lot, and it is very good. My hamsters never escaped from it. Now I mostly use the petting zone for a carrier. If you have a cage with a petting zone you won't need this.
Pros: good size for dwarfs, i use it a lot, hamster didn't mind it
Cons: no place for water bottle
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

cool

March 9, 2010
by animalgal67
fromlakeville MN minnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i bought this because of in case i had to go to the vet. works great and its escape proof! i recomend this!!!!!
Pros: escape proof!
Cons: none
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

ok not for a full time home

January 9, 2010
by cuppiedude20
frommn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
this product is ok. when i put my hamster in it it seems he can take off the top. this is not ok for a full time home unless
you add ALOT of tubes. overall this is ok for a carrier or place for a pet while clening the cage
Pros: portable
Cons: tiny
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 29 reviews

Nice Carrier

July 26, 2009
by hamsterandcrabgirl
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
this was the first carrier i got for my hamster, because it was cheaper then the OVO transporter, but i ended up using that more often because, you could actually attach a water bottle to it if you took off the water bottle, from the OVO cage, anyways. I looked all over for the small water bottle, but i could not find it. The cap needs to be taped on if you have a golden or teddy bear hamster, because mine pushed it right off, while my dwarf couldn't. I recommend this though to someone who has a dwarf hamster and needs a spot to rest while you are cleaning.
Pros: colors are nice, works for a dwarf, great space to keep them while they are cleaning
Cons: no space for water bottle, golden hamsters knock off the lid
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

Great Travel Case

July 7, 2009
by breesters
fromAnaheim, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I originally bought this to bring my dwarf hamster home from PetSmart in, but I've used it a lot since. I put him in this and seatbelt him into the car when I have to take him somewhere or when I'm moving his full size tank to another location when housesitting or such. I would never use this on a long trip because there isn't room for a water bottle, on short trips just drop an organic and peeled apple slice in the tank for hydration.
Pros: cheap, ideal travel size
Cons: no room for water bottle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

WOW!!

April 28, 2009
by gerbillover112
fromottawa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
holy cow!! this rocks! before, I hade those boxes that you buy the pet in, and my gerbils chewed that to bits!! so my mom bought this and they love it!! they cant get out, and the door shuts very well. Im tellin ya, it works magic!!(well, not quite...)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

A Great Carrier

April 10, 2009
by animalFan12
fromNC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I really love this product. I bought one a year or so go and still have it! These are also good for catching frogs, lizards, and small snakes. I recommend getting the bigger size too.
Pros: good quality, great for holding animals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

great carrier

February 12, 2009
by tracyb
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i use this (the small carrier) for my 2 dwarf winter white hamsters when i'm cleaning their cage. I put a lot of bedding in it so the can bury themselves in it to keep them occupied. i wanted to get a water bottle but i went to 2 different petsmarts and i couldnt find the superpet mini water bottle =( its very durable and easy to clean. great buy for little dwarfs :) i can see how the Syrian hamsters can push open the top because it doesnt lock tight. but my dwarfs couldn't get it open.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 29 reviews

Not for chewers

December 30, 2008
by ReggiesMumma
fromNew Boston, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is not a good cage to keep mice in. My mouse chewed through the lid after about 2weeks and escaped. Its not bad as a temporary cage for cleaning, but I would recommend investing in a more durable cage for a permanent home.
Cons: plastic lid is very thin, no water bottles fit it, lid opening doesn't latch well
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Really good

July 27, 2008
by Bobilina
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
When we have tornado warnings I put my hamster in this. I like it because I know that he's safe. It's easy to put him in and carry around.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet Keep-A-Critter Small Pet Home or Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

Not for guneau pigs

June 4, 2008
by PIGOWNER
fromGrand Prairie,TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My guneau pig,sherman keeps getting out somehow. Even though guneau pigs cannot climb. I also think it is smaller than seen on the website. I would not recommend this to even a gerbil or hamster owner. This is more for like a lizard. This was the worse time I ever spent money. Good for sherman I got a bigger enclosure yesterday and it did its job of keeping him in and out of the living room.
-15points
3of 21voted this as helpful.
1 2 next