PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack

Bring a giant piece of the beach home for your pet hermit crab!
Overall rating:
3.259 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 24
16 of 27(59%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Review 1 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews

Terrible Habitat

January 3, 2014
by ACCA13
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
This was my hermit crabs' first habitat, and I changed it as soon as possible. It holds NO humidity, it took forever to put together because the cheap plastic and bars would not line up. It was a huge hassle to clean, because you had to take it apart and try to put it together once again. Also, having the bars on the side, I couldn't fill enough substrate for burrowing in the bottom or else it would spill out the sides and I have a fairly large crab so there wasn't enough to molt in. I'm happy i switched to a 10 gallon, which works for me much better.
Cons: hard to clean, low quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews

Liked design; flimsy; pieces did not fit, unstable

February 20, 2013
by Dewey1
fromShepherdstown, WV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I purchased the shack because I liked the open air design better than an aquarium. But it was very difficult to assemble because the parts didn't fit, and once assembled it was unstable and flimsy. Made it very difficult to open/close for feeding and handling the crab. Would not recommend this product.
Pros: stylish
Cons: price, low quality
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

amazing

January 25, 2013
by ace911
fromlong beach CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
i have the little crab shack its beautiful i recommend this product for everyone
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews

Flimsy, Confining

August 3, 2012
by PetCrazy919
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
I purchased this kit as a travel tank for my hermit crabs. They normally live in a 20-gallon aquarium with 6" of sand and fresh as well as salt water. I found this cage to be way too small for my crabs and flimsy as well. The materials were very easily breakable and they didn't fit well together. Also, a couple of the plastic clips were snapped off.
I found that it is VERY hard to maintain proper humidity and heat in this tank. The humidity can be fixed by draping a wet towel over the cage, but since there's no way to attach a heating pad the cage stays the same temperature as the room.
The cage worked OK for about a month as an incubation tank until we lost patience with it and got rid of it. I wouldn't recommend this kit. Keep your crabs in a glass aquarium with proper living conditions instead.
Pros: stylish
Cons: hard to clean, low quality
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

GREAT CAGE!!

July 24, 2012
by sarah04115433
fromMantua, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
I recently bought this cage for my hermit crab and he loves it! Its pretty big but you have to but at least one more bag of sand. I bought to bags of sand. My hermit crab loves it! It is pretty big its about the size of a 5 gallon tank. I really like the storage bin! I would recommend this to anyone who has a hermit crab or hermit crabs! P.S. It really was made for a hamster! But it still works great for a hermit crab!!!!!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

June 17, 2012
by smacnoholdback
fromohio
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
great product it is sturdy and big.i have two hermit crabs thing 1 and thing 2.they really enjoy because it is so big. this cage is amazing it easy to clean and is realy neat.it is also very easy to put to together.i really think anyone who has a hermit crab will enjoy this crabitat
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

AMAZING!!!!!!!

June 10, 2012
by DeadLittleDucky
fromdodge city, KS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
this case is amazing!!! it is a perfect travel and a regular case. it is a great size for are 6 hermies. i love the great storge place in the lid to hold all of my extra food and water. the only thing that i didn't like about is it was sort of hard to put together. i reccomend this cage to anybody who was 2 - 7 hermies. its great for 1 hermie thought still but its alot of space for 1 hermie.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 27 reviews

Alright

February 20, 2012
by HermieLuver
fromPhoenix, AZ
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
I used this for my hermit crab and it was pretty good. With the right soil and water dish the humidity may be able to be good. Temperature should be alright, leave your house temp around 73 degrees. Putting it together is HARD!!!!! The lid took me weeks to figure out. They need better directions!!!
Pros: stylish
Cons: hard to clean, low quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews

great for gerbils not for hermies

June 29, 2011
by helidoc91
fromLafayette, LA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
We just like everyone in the world got some hermies on vacation. We got them home and ran down to get a roomier cage. This one was neat looking so we got it. We live in southern Louisiana so i would not have thought humidity was an issue. Looking at the cage it was obvious this was meant for a hampster or gerbil but was repackaged for hermies. The openings make it almost impossible to maintain humidity without drenching the whole thing sown daily. We returned it to petsmart they completely understood and helped us pick a better hone for the little guys.....awesome support by petsmart peeps....bad product
Pros: stylish
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews

Not what I expected...

February 16, 2011
by anapier
fromGilbert, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews
As a first time hermit crab owner I had no idea what to expect. When I brought it home and started setting it up, it wouldnt stay together. The plastic pieces wouldnt fit together and it was just cheap. It did not have enough sand, the mister is so tiny you have to use 2 bottles of it to get it to the right humidity level, and it does NOT keep the humidity at 70%. The humidity fades extremely fast and I always have to keep using the mister to try to keep it at the right humidity level. Very unhappy with it and will be returning it to get a glass terrarium.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

Cute,Perfect size-but looks like a hamster cage.

October 27, 2010
by GuineaPig863546
fromMemphis,TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
It is very cute, perfect size for 2,AWSOME,and i like the trees. the only bad thing is it looks like a hamster cage and the top is hard to keep on, but its great
Pros: cute!, perfect size for 2, awsome, i like the trees
Cons: it looks like a hamster cage, top is hard to get on
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews

Not good

December 1, 2009
by HCLover
fromUSA
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
This is not an appropriate habitat for hermit crabs. It is not big enough to accomodate all the neccesaties for Hermit crabs. Its alot better to get a 10 gallon tank and add some moist forest bedding and dechlorinated water. Not that expensive at all.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews

Little Crab Shack

November 26, 2009
by HonestReviewer
fromPittsburgh, Pennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
The Crab Shack looked so cute on the shelf, we just had to buy it for our crabs. To our dismay, it frequently fell apart every time we fed or watered our crabs. We returned the Crab Shack and purchased another crab habitat which was simpler in design and less costly. Crabs are happy, and so are we. Do not recommend this item.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

GREAT

August 25, 2009
by ilovehemitcrabs
fromNew Brunswick canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A CAGE FOR YOUR HERMIT CRAB BUY THIS NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I love this product it is roomy not hard to put togehter and my hermit crab loves it and the red on the top it is a little compart ment where you can store stuff and it comes off so you can put your hermit crabs there when you are cleaning trust me i mean i have it if you love your hermits buy this they will love you for it!
Pros: every thing about it is great
Cons: need to mist a little more, and also none, still none, and still none
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Great!

July 12, 2009
by hermieperson
fromOxnard,CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
I really like this! It as a lot of space for my h.c to crawl around.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

all about the giant little crab shack

July 10, 2009
by hermilia56
fromwilliamston, mi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
I recently bought the Giant Little Crab Shack for my two land hermit crabs. Before buying this cage, I looked around for some less costly cages, but all of them seemed to lack the requirements that a land hermit crab needs. They were either too small or poor quality. When I moved my land hermit crabs into the habitat, they seemed to love it right away. The Giant Little Crab Shack comes with one little crab mister,a climbing wall, a star shaped sponge, two packages of sand, and a salt water or food dish. But the cage definitely isn't perfect. You need to mist it often to control humidity, and you need to buy at least one more bag of sand or dirt so that your crabs can burrow. You should also buy a better natural sponge because the one it comes with isn't easy to drink from. I would definitely recommend that you look into buying the Giant Little Crab Shack. You will love it, and so will your crabs.
Pros: large enough for 1-4 medium hermit crabs, comes with a great climbing wall
Cons: you need to mist often to control humidity, you need to buy at least one more bag of sand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews

DOES NOT ALLOW FOR HUMID ENVIRONMENT

April 6, 2009
by ChemistryGirl
fromPhoenix, AZ
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 27 reviews
After purchasing the Giant Crab Shack habitat, we went online to find the details of what our new beloved pet would need. We ended up returning it and buying an enclosed crabitat designed for a reptile, because we would NEVER be able to contain the 70% humidity required by this animal that will suffocate if it isn't moist enough. This would be a wonderful cage if you lived in Rangoon.
Pros: looks cool!
Cons: no way to clean other than unassembling
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

I'm Not The Only One Who Loves This!

February 16, 2009
by jake1
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
I just bought 2 hermit crabs today and saw this cage. It's looked so cool and really roomy. I bought it and putting it together was so easy. I didn't even need directions! It has everything that you need. You may want to buy an extra food dish though. My hermit crabs love this, they wont stop moving around and exploring! Their names are Sebastian and Brooke! I hope you buy this its awesome!
Pros: nice colors, hermit crabs love it, good for the price
Cons: none!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews

This is the worst thing i ever bought from petmart

January 7, 2009
by bugfreak4567
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 27 reviews
this item is really bad for hermit crabs they need humidity witch this item does not hold the palm trees brake very easily it does not hold enough sand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet Hermit Crab Shack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews

way too small

October 16, 2008
by crabmama
fromDE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The "Giant Little Crab Shack" is way to small for land hermit crabs. Just from the picture you can see that there is no way it allows for the proper amount of substrate a LHC requires to have healthy, successful molts. I suggest spending your money on a 10 gallon aquarium instead.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next