PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Super Pet CritterTrail Z

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Super Pet CritterTrail Z

A Z any home for hamsters, mice, and gerbils, with a Z one for snoo Z in' and a removable ball for crui Z in'!
Overall rating:
3.776 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
33 of 49(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Review 1 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Excellent Cage!

August 20, 2013
by GrayC
fromDallas, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
This cage is really nice for DWARF HAMSTERS ONLY! She loves running on the wheel at night and loves to go inside the tubes. The look out area is really nice and very easy to get your hamster out of that area. It comes with a food dish and water bottle and wheel. It a very nice cage, but your hamster will get bored of it so there is an easy fix to that problem: connect another cage. The Critter Trail Primary Home and a pack of tubes could be used for lots of things. And one last thing: Please DO NOT put a SYRIAN HAMSTER in these critter trail cages. They will be far to big for it. DWARF HAMSTERS ONLY!!!!
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 49 reviews

Its good...I guess

July 6, 2013
by Firefly202
fromNew york,NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my hamster get out so many times and i have to make sure i put something over the cage so she wont run of in my room ..its very hard to clean you have to take it apart then put it back together like 2 times every week
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 49 reviews

Not Suitable for "Houdini" Hamsters

June 24, 2013
by Devildog68
fromevansville, in
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Admittedly, we did not suspect that our new hamster was as intelligent as she is. We're pet people, but didn't have experience with these little fuzzy creatures. My daughter's hamster has managed to discover every escape trick required to disassemble this unit within just a few weeks time, and chewed her carpet threw to the pad in an attempt to escape her room. We've renamed her "Houdini" because she subsequently escaped 2X, and the duct tape wrapped around the space ship and ball didn't hinder her efforts much. A cage with less plastic pieces would be a wise choice, even if a little more $$ are required upfront.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 49 reviews

goodish in some ways

May 20, 2013
by moomoothehamster
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
( warning my hamster is the oddball and is very destructive)
1: I have tape around the platform of the ball
2: I have tape all over the green thing on the top
3: not so easy to clean or put together. Ypu get used to it but still...
4:When cleaning it, the ball does not come out so you have to just flush water through it.
5: My hammie "moo" has ascaped about 5 times but she is stronger than the average hammie. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 49 reviews

Does not keep the hamster inside.

April 27, 2013
by ashleighjoy2007
fromTumwater, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It was kind of a pain to put this together, and it worries me with our Fancy Bear Hamster since the tunnels are pretty small. She is able to get around, but she clogs the tunnel up to the tower so at least once a day I have to disconnect it and pull all the bedding out of the tube to rescue her.
But, it is also TERRIBLE at keeping her in! We've had this cage for 4 days, she escaped the day we got it by pushing out one of the plugs on the top (where you can add more tunnels later if you choose.) And today she was able to push the lid in the tower open to get out.
We have a dog and a cat, and if this keeps happening one of them is going to kill the hamster while she's loose. As I type this I'm sitting in front of the stove in the kitchen with spinach on the floor because I can hear her under the stove and I'm trying to lure her out. I don't know how long she's been out, could have been since last night for all I know. It's a miracle one of our other pets didn't kill her, crossing my fingers that she isn't injured.
I do NOT recommend this! We had a basic wire cage before and never had problems with her escaping!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 49 reviews

works but...

April 10, 2013
by ALBlovepablo
fromminneaoplis MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
well i know that hamsters will sleep on the highest point of it's cage but... mine got confused and put bedding in the ball and my hamster has to shimmy up to get to the "petting zoo" the wheel is a little loud but not too bad. it is hard do clean because you have to take it apart and you have to put it back together and yeah.
Pros: stylish, sturdy
Cons: price, hard to clean
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

I recommend

March 2, 2013
by yvonne123
fromTraverse City, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 49 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
This was a good product its not hard to assemble if you follow the instructions it just take about an hour to do. But when cleaning it, it is hard. To take the tower apart it takes a lot of muscle to detach from the tube. the ball is too heavy for one of my smaller mice to spin but my bigger one can. My two mice absolutley adore the tower, they are always up there sleeping. But i think this should only be for mice and small skinny hamsters because the tubes are a little small. Also dont worry about not thinking once the mice or hamsters are up the tubes they cant come down. They will be able to
Pros: sturdy, stylish
Cons: hard to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Likes it

October 29, 2012
by JasperBunny
fromDavenport, IA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
I got this for my Robo Dwarf Hamster, at first he could not get his ball to move( he was to small) but when he got bigger he loved the ball, he took bedding in it to sleep there...
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 49 reviews

Despise it

September 9, 2012
by HCAMP
fromLexington, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My mice love it. But this is the biggest piece of junk. I never write reviews, but this is worth it. It is cheaply made. Very cheap. When you pull the ball apart to clean it it takes forever to get back together. And no, it is not user error. I hate this thing.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 49 reviews

Eh...

August 6, 2012
by Ahhhhhh
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The cage came perfectly nothing was wrong. The water bottle didn't leak and I was so happy. Then about to weeks after everything started coming apart. I needed so much tape.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 49 reviews

okay my hamster didnt like

July 22, 2012
by lovejasperalice
fromFLORIDA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
the cage wasnt bad, but my hamster didnt like it at all. also the cage was hard to set up. price wasnt overly priced but if your hamster doesnt like its expensive.so if you dont want this prouduct check out "All Living Things Deluxe Hamster Kit" thanx
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

Fun!

July 12, 2012
by hamsternewbie
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Our Dwarf hamster, Chewy, loves this cage. He has a routine that cracks us up to watch. The only complaint I have is with the detachable ball. We have to keep him on the ground on a towel, because his feces flies out of the air openings when he runs. I'm not sure if "pooping where you play" is typical behavior, as this is our first hamster, but that mess makes me nuts. I'm going to get a few additions I hope will work. First and foremost, a wheel to go inside the cage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

aghhhh

June 11, 2012
by staralin
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
over all great product but it really could use better instructions. this darn cage took about an hour to build and 3 people to build it. poor old cookies (my teddy bear hamster) has to fight her way up to the ball though, better size for dwarf hamster. now that she's gotten used to it she loves it. i highly recommend this product for people with the patients to put this together
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 49 reviews

This is NOT so great.

June 9, 2012
by Animallover159
fromCt
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this product for my hamster about 4 months ago.She has already escaped twice.The green overhang is where she sleeps, but also where she can unhook the plastic and escape. Now i am forced to put tape around the overhang. Every time I clean this product it is so hard to put back together.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 49 reviews

Not easy to put together

June 3, 2012
by jeepdandie
fromFt. Worth, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Too complicated for a first time user. I purchased my first hamster today and I have never been so frustrated putting something together in my life! The instructions are terrible, very difficult to understand. I also bought an attachment and it's in there, but hanging loose. No instructions on how it suppose to 'snap' in place. As for the quality, it's too new to tell, but it seems fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

amazing-wonderful and spectacular

May 24, 2012
by lovehammys1234576890988
fromWashington WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The cage is easy to clean and mia my Russian Dwarf hamster loves it as well this is a great cage I have no regrets
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

BUY THIS CAGE!

September 14, 2008
by AlyFromthesunshinestate
fromNaples,FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
I bought this cage for my 2 female bear and golden hamsters named honey and carmel, and well they love it! The funnels that conect to the ball wheel was a little tricky to get on but cleaning is a breeze. Carmel stuffed her ball with bedding a nd sleeps there and honey sleeps the petting zone. But the cage door is made of poor material, both of my hamster have opend it at least 10 times and there only 3 months old. They play in it and the extra tunnels that i bought and love it. over all buy this cage you will not be let down. P.S im thinking of attaching the critter trail 3 to the cages! :)
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Everthing abut this cage is wonderful!

August 22, 2008
by studentoftheyear
fromIraan,Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
I love this cage because my hamster loves it to. she puts bedding in the wheel/ball and sleeps there all day.she never gets bored.EVER!she likes the little look out to.she stores her food up there so she can eat it later.everthing about this cage is wonderful!the price is just right amount to.like i said,everything about this cage is wonderful!
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

August 18, 2008
by ScooterSpeedy
fromOrem, UT
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
It think this cage is a great cage. I have 2 robo dwarf hamsters and they love this cage. I like how this cage has a built in ball so you don't need a wheel and you can turn it into a ball for them to roll around in.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet CritterTrail Z
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

Okay Cage

August 14, 2008
by HamsterHorseDog
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 49 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
First of all the cage was a little challengeing to put together together. My hamster uses the wheel as a little bed, and hoards all of her food in it so I had to buy another wheel, which she seems to enjoy more. She doesn't really use the high rise, but loves the tubes. The ball/wheel is to small to use as a ball I beleive. When ever I clean her cage I have to take it all apart, then put it all together...AGAIN! My hamster (Hano) now chews on the bars (a sign of boredom) I have given her toys, lots of other things to chew on, but she is still bored. You might also need to buy a higher quality food bowl though. There is not alot of room to put other toys and such as a down side.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next