PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball

This super-sized amuzement system is a safe, interactive toy for your small pets.
Overall rating:
3.211 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 37
21 of 38(55%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Review 1 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

DO NOT USE WITH GUINEA PIGS

November 17, 2013
by MollyBreeder
fromCO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
These balls are EXTREMELEY dangerous to a guinea pig. Their backs are not built to bend. DO NOT PUT YOUR GUINEA PIG IN HERE!!!! But my gerbils love it!
Cons: stains
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews

Not really for rats.....

December 22, 2012
by superduper
fromRockford, Il
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had these balls with my hamsters in the past and they were a lot of fun. But not so much with my rats. They dont seem to like it at all. One ran in it, but kept bumping into things, then she would sit still for a very long time after bumping and would only run again if I nudged the ball. Rats cant see very well at all, science says that their vision is around 20/600 for normal rats. Red eyed rats have about 20/1200 vision. So looking through plastic to see where they are going probably doesn't help anything. And they don't seem to have the drive to run constantly as other small rodents do. My hairless rat runs in her wheel every day, but she just didn't like the ball. It may have been better if we had the track to keep the ball on so they dont bump into things, but then we are looking at way a lot of money for this one accessory. They also need to make an in between size. The 7 inch was too small, but the 11.5 inch one seems too big.
Cons: price
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Great!

April 22, 2012
by ratlover350
fromMAryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have two small female rats and i was afraid it would be to big but it's not! Within 10 minutes they were running around like crazy. They love it, would totally recommend!
Pros: Keeps Pet Entertained, price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Good for rats--if you don't expect them to run

December 30, 2011
by OniKita
fromKansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My rats love this--but not to run in. Rats like to explore so this isn't something most of them enjoy, because they can't sniff around and crawl in/around/through/under things (mine get to play on the couch or bed--safer than the floor and they still get to exercise and explore--and I have all kinds of toys for them to play in, like an Octoplay). They refused to run in it, and would instead just sit there, waiting for me to let them out for some REAL fun.
I pulled both "doors" off, hung it with zip-ties in a corner of their cage, stuffed some scrap cloth in it, and they love to use it for a nest, so for that it gets 5 stars (in fact, they loved it so much, I had to get a second one for the other rats' cage). And it's easy enough to clean with a toothbrush every few days.
Pros: durable
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews

Do Not Buy This For Your Guinea Pig!!!!

July 16, 2011
by GuineaPigLover55
fromCharleston, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have one of these for my rat, when she was younger she used to run around in it a lot but now she mostly just poops in it. I've seen a lot of reviews for this saying their GUINEA PIG didn't move much in it. This is not made with Piggies in mind. Guinea Pigs have very rigid spines and something like this would not be suitable for them to run around in. It has been said by many Guinea Pig experts. They would probably be too scared to even move if you put a guinea pig in one of these. Please just don't do it.
For rats or hamsters I would say this would make a good roll around. But they do break very easily. And you still have to worry about stuff leaking through the sides. So if you want the clean up.. Because it is also very hard to wash this thing...I guess you could get this.
But again, Please!! Do not get this for you Guinea pigs. They wont like it, and it would probably just give them back problems.
Pros: price
Cons: easily destroyed, stains
+16points
19of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews

I cant see!

June 30, 2011
by PetMomma
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought our little guinea pigs this ball for the fun of it. My son put them in there and said to me "Mom why did you get a blue one? I bet my guinea pig can't see through all that color!" And I do agree with him. Also our guinea pigs do not move in it.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews

Turned into Nap Time

June 2, 2011
by JediHouseWife
fromYuba City, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've had such great success with the smaller size for my hamsters, so when my rat became a notorious leaper from surfaces I invested in one of these. Unfortunately she didn't really care for it at all and instead of trying to walk around in it, she took a couple of steps, stopped, curled up and went right to sleep in it. I've tried several more attempts with it since and every time she opted for a nap in it instead.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Good, But...

January 16, 2011
by Mickol
fromFresno, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a pretty good ball, my chinchilla loves to run around in it! The only problem i've found is that the lids pop off occasionally because they are not locked into place securely. It has only happened once to me, but i just got the ball today, so i anticipate it will happen more! Other than this problem, it is perfect.
Pros: chinchillas loves it, sturdy, colorful, easy to clean
Cons: lids pop off, "liquds" come through holes
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

not the best

October 30, 2010
by Queonnac10
fromFayetteville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i got this for my pet (guinea pig) and within the first day or two it broke. my pet didnt care for it at all he just stood in there and made no movements at all.
Pros: see through, air vents
Cons: breaks easy, hard to clean
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews

NOT for piggeis

October 16, 2010
by OhSoFluffy
fromnorthville MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
just don't get this for a guinea pig mine just sat there in it. and when she tried to move she could not stop
Pros: big
Cons: too big
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Do not use with chinchillas!

July 28, 2010
by Ellest
fromEast Coast
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this when I first got my chinchillas so that they could roll around the room and spend more time with me. I quickly realized that due to the way that the doors secure close that when enough jostling from my chins they could quickly escape which would lead to at least an hour of trying to catch them. They are also impossible to clean. No matter how much I scrubbed it the smell would not go away.
Cons: falls apart, impossible to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

my rat hated it

July 16, 2010
by RatGirlK
fromutah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my rat and she just sat there terified. It's hard to clean too. Plus it broke easily.
Cons: breaks, rat hated it, hard too clean
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

HORRIBLE

June 28, 2010
by tinkerbell1111
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This product wasn't good at all. I bought it for my rat and first of all he is terified of it he just sits there frozen when I put him in, and it gets dirty so easaly, you also cant take it apart or anything so cleaning it takes forever! i would definintly not recomend this to anyone.
Pros: none
Cons: gets dirty very easaly
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews

Not for guinea pigs

March 30, 2010
by MollySparx
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my guinea pig to use but he just sits there. It's good to put him in while cleaning his cage, but as far as exercise goes, nope, not for guinea pigs. As far as sturdiness; the lids broke very easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews

HARD TO CLEAN!

December 1, 2009
by GuineaPigsRox
fromHouston, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I WOULD SO RECCOMEND THIS PRODUCT THE ONLY THING IS THE URINE AND OTHER BATHROOM THINGS GO THREW THE CRACKS! ITS DISGUSTING!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Hamsters on the loose - take II

October 26, 2009
by polkadots
fromutah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The lid pops off when the hamsters are using this ball. Then it is a toss-up who is getting more excercise. The hamster running around your home, or you trying to catch it. Don't buy this product unless you like chasing hamsters around or unless you don't mind duct taping the top so the product actually works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Hamster loves them!

September 1, 2009
by BMiller
fromSanAntonio, Texas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
These balls are a great product. They do get dirty easily, but they are easy to clean and my hamster Snuggles loves to run in them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Love it!

August 10, 2009
by ShiroLillers
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have two rats- Shiro and Lily. My rat Shiro loves this so much! She has a hard time with it on carpet, but she just flies on tile. Lily, on the other hand, has never really tried it. I put her in it once and she became very scary, so I took her out. I guess it just depends of your rat's personality.
Pros: good exersice
Cons: doesn't work well on carpet
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

=]

June 19, 2009
by Lilsouja
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Well its a great toy it can a training supplie or pleasure toy and the whole family can enjoy play with your pet. My hamster had no idea what he was doing when i put him in it so i suggest to let your hamster get used to the ball.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet Mega Run-about Ball
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Breaks so easy!!!

June 16, 2009
by Navykat
fromMN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
the title says it all. i used this for my rat and the tabs that kept the doors shut broke so easily, and then she was able to escape because so many of the tabs broke off. At first i thought that i was being rough on my first one, so i bought a different one(big mistake!!!) and the same thing happened. this is an awful product, don't buy it what ever u do!!
Pros: none!!
Cons: lid and ball breaks easily, gets so dirty and is hard to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next