PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits

Kits offer an easy way to expand any CritterTrail Home (sold separately) at a great value compared to purchasing accessories individually.
Overall rating:
4.061 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 65
56 of 66(85%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Review 1 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

Good

March 3, 2014
by HammyLuver2014
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
My first hammy speedy (robo dwarf) LOVED running is this, its a little pricey but totally worth it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews

January 1, 2014
by iaahm
fromGreenville, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews
product could not all be used. only ended up using 1 or two parts of product. Would just keep to buying a cage b/c of the price of this product.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews

Bedding Falls down the Tube for the Lookout Tower!

September 29, 2013
by CatahoulaGirl
fromNoblesville, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews
The bedding falls down the tibe and make a pile right before the enter/exit so my hamster has trouble getting in/out.
Pros: stylish
Cons: price, low quality
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

Expansion kit #1 - Excellent

September 14, 2013
by kjhm99
fromRichmond, Kentucky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
We bought the extension kit #1 - Lazy look-out to replace the look out dome that the original cage came with (because the original dome was a defect). Hamster loves this new look out and can't escape.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 66 reviews

Look-out

August 25, 2013
by Yukirri
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 66 reviews
We recently purchased this look out add on to our cage, it was easy to assemble and attach to the cage but other then that I wouldn't recommend buying it. Not only did i come home to the lid having popped off but my hamster had dropped out and fallen onto the floor...I spent 15 minutes trying to find her and now im so paranoid that i tape everything closed...Not impressed with this product....
Cons: low quality
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews

If you want tubes this is the set to get

August 1, 2013
by Cullen
fromOttawa.ON
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
For what they are, they are great.
However I quickly learnt that the tubes are quick to collect dirt and if you have a cheaper bedding it will clump and stick in them, they don't take long to start to stink and need weekly cleaning at least.
I bought the large set specifically for the wheel, as I wanted an exterior wheel that I could hook to the side of my cage and this seemed the only option.
This wheel works great and with a bit of vaseline it is quieter then the silent spinner wheels. The problem is that every hamster I've had uses it as their outhouse, which is ok for #2 as it has a nice little under-tray to catch that all up, but the #1 spins all around with them and stinks it up requiring daily cleanings not to mention getting your critter all splattered with it as they run.
Over all I've found that the tubes are too much work to be worth the purchase.
That said the little purple and green nook piece is very well loved by all the critters I've had and its too bad you can't get that part or one like it on its own as it is very worth having.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

This is really awesome!!

July 24, 2013
by hamsterluver0813
fromLos Angeles
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
My winter white hamster loves this!! All the time he sleeps in them and doesn't really sleep in his igloo that much.... But he loves sleeping in the tube better. This is really good for mice, rats, gerbils, and hamsters!! (Dwarf hamsters) I dunno if Syrians r good for this but my hamster its a dwarf, fits and sometimes he looks stuck and squished but he's really not! I have the pink edition crittertrail cage. The funniest part is that he always licks through the holes!!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

Is very good

June 18, 2013
by Javierale5
fromMiami, florida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Its easy to clean and amsembly my hamster love walk in there
Pros: easy to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 66 reviews

Good

March 13, 2013
by HammysOwner
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews
Works for my cage. But the out house broke in half. But that worked BETTER for me.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews

Good

February 20, 2013
by Cliemo
fromPell City, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I was reluctant to buy it because of the price but I'm glad I did because you mice love it.
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews

good but wach out for your hammy [ escaping ]

January 29, 2013
by trix
fromTX.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Well I bought this for my Teddy bear hamster and he loved it but it was the 1st or 2nd night I had it when I found my hamster had moved the top part of the lid [and by the way I bought the cheaper one if your wondering I could not remember what it was called] and escaped out of the cage we looked for him every where, we set traps and put sunflower seeds and his favorite food out and he never came I mean we tryed every thing and he did not return.but once we stoped looking for him he showed up in are living room, so it would be great to add to your little friends home. I HOPE THIS WAS HELPFUL
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

Hamsters love it.

November 26, 2012
by TheHammyGang
fromCA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 66 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My two robo hamsters, Abbott and Costello, absolutely adore this. It took them a little while to learn how to climb up and down it so don't be worried if you buy this and your hamster doesn't immediately climb up it. They are sleeping in it right now and it's so great that I can see them! They bring all their bedding up there and just lounge. So glad I bought this and it's a great addition to my hamster cage.
Pros: easy to clean, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews

My hamsters new hideout! :)

November 1, 2012
by Raych
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews
I decides my hamsters cage was boring and I bought this. In the picture it is small but its not that small. My hamster loves it but I had to put pumpkin seeds on the top for him to notice it. My hamster LOVES it so much he sleeps in it! Great product! :)
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

Lazy look-out

October 18, 2012
by Miniwheat
fromLakeville, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought the lazy look-out (expansion pack 1) and my hamster loves it! He is always in it! Assembly is very easy, and is made out of high quality plastic (like all crittertrail tubes.) The yellow cap is well made, and hard for your hammy to escape (twist and lift) from it. This is a very cute pack, and i believe every hamster should own one!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

Hammy liked it

October 14, 2012
by Farmgal13
fromLakeville, Mn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have the lookout, and my hammy (RIP Belle <\3) enjoyed it. She would sit up there at night and look out and also eat treats and store food up there. Easy to clean, and durable. I recommend this.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 66 reviews

Ehhh, Pretty good.

August 27, 2012
by Akg11
fromUSA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It dosnt come apart now that its put together so i cant store it easily. And when i put it on to my crittertrail playpen in broke off the purple part and it wont come off but it still works. And its pretty big! Wich is nice.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 66 reviews

Not Worth It!

July 30, 2012
by Born2dance
fromDudley,MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got this set for my 2 robos and with in one day of putting it in the cage they filled all of the tubes with bedding. And when I tried to get the bedding out it was so tightly compacted it wouldn't come out! Not worth it at all!!
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

great but wheel...

July 10, 2012
by cutiepaws
fromMassachusetts
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought both of these expansion kits for my dwarf hamster Freddy to give him more space in his rather small cage. I chose to use the outhouse as a nesting area instead which it is really great for because it's just the right size for my little guy and he likes it that way. He loves the tubes but doesn't use the lazy look-out, I think it may be because it is too high up. The wheel works really good, but I ended up taking it out and just using his old in-cage wheel because he would nest inside it and go to the bathroom in it, so there were some health concerns with the dirtiness. I myself like to totally rearrange the tubes every time I clean the cage to keep it fun and exciting for my hamster, which I suggest doing. Overall this is a very good product for expanding your pet's cage!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

AWSOME !

June 12, 2012
by Laurenep1120
fromFairfax,Va
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my hammy texas just loves them !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet CritterTrail Expansion Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 66 reviews

Great product!

March 22, 2012
by Tamara314
fromSt. Louis, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Honestly, I really like these tubes and the accessories. They provide exercise, connections to other cages and the ability to change the habitat when the little guys get bored.
The ONLY drawback is 2 things. When you first get them, they are VERY hard to connect and break apart (to clean or rearrange). And they are not convenient to clean. But, its not impossible, you just have to be a little crafty.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next