PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners

The fast, convenient way to clean the interior walls of your aquarium. No more wet hands!
Overall rating:
3.467 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
10 of 15(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Review 1 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

I hate it! My aquariums full of scratches

January 25, 2014
by Jenn51
fromSan Gabriel,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Don't buy it..I regret it so much..use it fine at first..looks clean then after take a look so closely scratches all over the glass..
Cons: price, didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Scratches glass

November 23, 2013
by Exshepp
fromHouston, Texas
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This product has a simple concept; however, if anything gets within the scrubbing plastic material (such as sand or gravel) it will severely scratch the glass. I would not recommend this product to anyone who values the appearance of their glass tank.
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Works great with on adjustment.

February 15, 2013
by John60
fromSt. Charles, Mo
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Took a pot scrubber and cut a piece to fit the inside scraper. The magnet is strong enough to make it work. Cleans great and doesn't scratch now. Have one in all all of my tanks. Panda Cories, Ottos and my Betta uses it as a "Fish Lounger".
Pros: works great, easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

excellent for flat glass, but not for bow front

January 27, 2013
by silvertip
fromBurnaby, BC, Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I use a small size one for my 16 gallon Aqueon Bowfront aquarium. It cleans very well the three sides - the back, and both sides. However, for the front glass which has the bow and is the most important side for enjoying your aquarium, it does not work well because of the curve of the glass. You might not notice it if you use dimmed light. But, under brighter light, you will find out the poor result. It's not a flaw of this product at all, because it was designed to clean flat surfaces and it does excellent job on them.
Another thing to be remember is that you don't want to catch sand or gravel with the magnet. If you do, you can brush them off with an old tooth brush. Just take care if you don't scratch your glass not knowing the magnet having caught sand or gravel.
Simple to use and very effective without your hand and arm in the water. But, for those who have bow front tanks, you still have to use regular cleaning methods for the bow front glass.
Pros: works great, easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Horrible Horrible Horrible

December 23, 2012
by 2Toes
fromVancouver, BC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
If you want scratches all over the inside of your fish tank then this is the cleaner for you. I thought when I opened it that it was quit odd that the one side was so rough. The one I used to have in the past wasn't like that at all. Do not buy this, it is terrible. I am surprised that more people haven't complained about it scratching.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Awesome!

August 20, 2012
by syork
fromBC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
This even removes BBA (Black Beard Algae) which is pretty tough to scrub off. I'm surprised and impressed. I would definitely buy this again. Love it :)!
Pros: works great, easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Scratches!

May 20, 2012
by pinkgirl
fromOregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I got this for my 20 gallon tank. After I used about once I noticed scratches all over my aquarium! Do not but just get an aquarium sponge scraper to clean algea!
Pros: easy to use, price
Cons: didn't work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Do not buy

November 7, 2011
by Cheyenne145892
fromOregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
I bought this a wile ago and thought it worked great but today I was cleaning and I saw 2 3-4 inch deap scraches on the inside of my 36 bow frount aquarium! I am very very unhappy with this do not buy inless you want to repair scrsches!!!!!
Pros: easy to use
Cons: didn't work, price
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Good, but scuffs.

March 13, 2011
by Iggman
fromLincoln, NE
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Got to big of a light on my tank, algae bloom rampant, so I got the mini for plastic/acrylic, works great, even takes off spot algae, funny watching fish follow it, but it scuffs acrylic (only noticeable at an angle, but still) so I definitely wouldn't use it on plastic. Now that said I will still continue to use it, but minimally. ( better to kill the algae at the source anyway :P )
Pros: easy to use, works great, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Good for cleaning big tanks

October 1, 2010
by Changus
fromCovina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I use this to clean my dad's 60 gallon fish tank. It cleans very well and you can clean a tank within couple minutes. The down part is when the magnet floats off you have to grab it out of the tank or magnet it back in.
Pros: cleans well
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

LOVE IT!!!!!!

July 30, 2009
by wait0what0huh
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My tank began to grow algae and I remembered that my Aunt had one of these for her tank. So I went out and bought one. It is awesome. I just plop it in the tank and scrub. I don't have to take the fish out or get my hands wet. I will use the little mini for the 10 gallon I am planning on getting.
Pros: everything
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great!!

April 16, 2009
by Sabre
fromAudubon NJ.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Awesome little tool! my tank had really cloudy walls and rather than wait to do a water change on vaccum day i took a chance and bought this little gadget and man am i impressed!! it cleaned my tank fast and easy and i think its one of the best tools i have for cleaning my tank...even works on my bigger tanks. be sure to pick this thing up you'll be happy you did!!
Pros: fast!, easy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Watch your fingers!

June 30, 2008
by bumper007
fromSan Jose, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I might have went over board on the size, I purchased the medium for my 20gal tank. I think the recommendations for that size was a small magnet. As with everything for me, bigger is better. I think my fish were a little put off when their walls were vibrating during the first use. Now I go a little slower and easier and it cleans up the film and algae quite nicely. I love the fact that I do not have to put my hands in the tank to clean. I do not have to wait for water change and vacuum day to spruce up the inside glass. On exceptionally dirty days you might have to run over each side more than once, but how hard is that. Oh, and watch your fingers, these magnets are really strong!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Mag-Float

March 10, 2008
by EasyMoney
fromConway Arkansas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Very good product. Cleans my 55 & 20 gallon tank quite well. Just run it back and forth once or twice and its crystal clear again. Also if you drag it to the bottom it will stir up the gravel a bit to get some of the settled food and dirty stirred up so you can turn you filter on high and suck that up also.
It goes around corners but also scares fish a tiny bit.
Id recommend this over sticking your hand in the tank and scrubbing as that scares fish more and you get wet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Floating Magnet Aquarium Cleaners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

LOVE IT!!!

March 2, 2008
by petsowner
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
It is so easy to just plop it into the tank and scrub the algae off the walls of the tank. So much better than sticking your hand in the tank to scrub it. This way you stay dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.