PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

EHEIM Quick Vac Pro

In principle this handy tool functions like a conventional vacuum cleaner: The powerful pump sucks the dirty water from the bottom via the suction jet into the integrated filter element. Here the dirt particles are reliably caught and removed from the water.
Overall rating:
4.178 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 44
36 of 45(80%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Review 1 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Love it

March 8, 2014
by Kat2818
fromMadison, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Why didn't I get one of these earlier? It is great for cleaning the gravel.
Pros: easy to use, works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 45 reviews

Great concept, but Poorly designed.

March 7, 2014
by Daisyraven13
fromBaltimore md
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Like one of the other reviewers said having the battery pack in the handle makes it very difficult to keep it tight and the plastic push clip holding the top on the battery pack is not very durable and doesn't stay tight for long. So mine also stops working several times every time I use it now. So I Will be taking mine back to the store to exchange it for a new one and try again. Hopefully knowing the above stated problem I can maybe use h2o proof tape or something on the new one to extend the life/ tightness of the push clip top. ??? I really love this product so I hope my plan works. Considering I'm over the 60 day return for cash date an exchange is all I can do. In my opinion 60 dollars is a lot of money to loose on a fish tank item that doesn't work longer than 90 days.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews

January 15, 2014
by nikkie3
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
I really love this product. Except I don't know if I got a manufacture defect product. You have to hold the handle just right if not the battery connections loose power and the machine turns on and off unless the top is on really tight.
Pros: easy to use, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

This makes cleaning your

December 17, 2013
by Icenfire57
fromStafford, Virginia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
(click to see the video)
I wanted to get away from using the old suction tube and bucket. And now I'm so happy that I have the EHEIM Quick Vac Pro. No more water on the floor and no more having to add water to the tank after I suction the tank. Great item to have.
Pros: easy to use, price, works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 45 reviews

Started out strong then nothing picks up

November 23, 2013
by JackDempsey
fromGlastonbury, CT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have used this successfully in bursts of about 5 minutes for each water change but after that, the impeller slips and suction completely stops. I've removed the extender and impeller, cleaned and dried everything, but noticed the shaft where the impelleer goes was scored and apparently not gripping. I took care of that with a small piece of electrical tape and it worked fine for the next couple of times but now, no matter what I try, I can't get the impeller to stop dropping almost immediately. Oh, did I mention I'm on my third product? I returned the other two after a couple months and exchanged it for a new product. What are my options now that I have a dirty tank and not enough room to use around the tank for a siphon and bucket method?
Cons: price, didn't work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Love the German Engineering!

November 2, 2013
by sietegatos7
fromGilroy, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Hesitant at first because of the price and I did not want to have to clean out the screen. Pleasantly surprised that it included batteries!!! Not very impressed at first due to poor suction but when i checked the instructions I realized that I had forgotten to attach the impeller. Wow - works great on my two small ponds. I was able to among the rocks etc without too much disturbance. One small clog of a bit of wood that was easily dislodged. Took out quite a bit of gunk. The screen unsnapped easily and I was able to easily rinse under the hose. If i had had one of these instead of the "easy" syphon gravel suction I might still have an aquarium.
Pros: works great
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 45 reviews

May be the batteries that came with it.

September 21, 2013
by MPLES
fromWestfield MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
I purchased this item because years ago I had one similar to it and it worked great. I have just been relying on syphoning since then. Syphoning is starting to be a pain for me. I wanted something easier to use. I put the vacuum together and tried it a few minutes ago. Eh, not so great. It may be the batteries that came with it.
I am going to purchase new batteries and try it again. It was very easy to put together. It had very good suction for the first 30 seconds. Then it just fizzled out. The gook I did get up in that 30 seconds cleaned out very easily when I ran it under the tap.
All in all, it is well worth another try before I can it. I'll post the next time I use it.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: didn't work
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews

Great product

August 22, 2013
by johnh111
fromhamburg,n.y.
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
I thought it was easy to use. I have silver dollars and they get very irritated, but with this vac they were alright. I thought the filter could be better. I guess if you use it on a regular basis it will be fine. The little cloudiness my tank had has already cleared up.
Pros: easy to use, works great
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

awesome!!!!!

May 15, 2013
by zoowee
fromgta ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
I don't know how I did without it. so fast and easy to use and I was shocked it picked up so much sludge as my aquarium appeared clean(obviously it wasn't)once finished the unit comes apart easy for easy clean up. great machine, very powerful, highly recommended! you owe it to yourself, and your fish to get one of these
Pros: works great, easy to use
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 45 reviews

Do your homework

May 3, 2013
by Oneal
fromWinstonSalem, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 45 reviews
Well I finally decided to shell out the money for this Vac a few days ago. I like to give things a fair chance before I comment on them. Here is my thoughts on this product after using it twice to clean my aquarium. First when I got home and took it out of the box my first thought was this is made very cheap. Just putting it together I was afraid I might break it. You'd think for the price it would be more heavy duty. Secondly when I put it down in the tank for the first time and turned it on I was a little disappointed by the lack of suction power. It really struggled to pick up the heavier stuff. Also if the water is more than about twelve inches deep it has almost no suction power at all. So if you have a tall tank like me you have to take out a lot of water first. All in all I think it's extremely over priced, under powered and of poor quality. So personally knowing what I know now I would pass on this.
Cons: price
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Excellent gravel cleaner

March 6, 2013
by NolaNick
fromNew Orleans
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a 55 gal community tank and this product is excellent for weekly cleanings of waste and detritus of gravel. I used to clean the gravel using a siphon and during water changes but this is 100% better and more convenient.
Firstly, the length is perfect for a 55 gal tank so your hand stays out of the water. The suction is excellent. I have medium to small gravel and it only lifts gravel just enough to agitate it and help vacuum sub surface waste. It is rather quiet and it does not bother the fish. Most fish actually follow it around and wait to pick up an morsels stirred up by the cleaning action. You do have to be weary not to accidentally trap any small curious fish while you are cleaning, but the on / off switch is very conveniently located just in case. It takes me less than 15 min to clean the whole tank.
Cleaning this item is a breeze. The unit comes apart very easily and rinses under your faucet. Once you remove the screen section, best to remove both end-caps and then rinse the screen both inside and outside.
NOTE:1, Material that is too fine for the screen to filter will be returned into your water so your tank will get a little cloudy for a bit, but depending on your main filter, most of this material will be filtered out or settle down within an hour. Thus, do not clean just before you have company or want to show off your aquarium.
NOTE: 2, when lifting cleaner out of your tank, keep it vertical as it retains water due to suction, until the end is out of the water, at which point the water is released. If you are leaning it outward when you remove it, it may splash some water outside the tank (minimal).
NOTE:3, When rinsing screen, do not push your fingers on the screen itself as this can detach the screen from its frame.
NOTE:4, When removing the clear end suction unit from the motor unit for rinsing, do not twist too hard as the attachment tabs could be broken.
Overall this is a great product for me and makes cleaning, fast, quiet and convenient with next to no mess and complete control of the process. The unit appears very robust and is very easy to use. Hopefully the motor will last for a long time.
Pros: works great, easy to use
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews

A good product!

March 3, 2013
by Trukkerjim
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
I was very skeptical when I bought this product. I read a lot of reviews about it before buying, and most of them were good, though some of them were just plain awful. I took a chance, and bought it. Putting it together was simple, and it's not hard to use it at all. At first, it kicked up a lot of the sludge I thought it would be picking up, but I kept on cleaning. Before too long, the $55 dollars started to pay off. This thing is incredible! It took care of my 55 gallon tank with no problems at all. It's a lot easier than the bucket/pump thing, our just outright changing the water. I would recommend this to anyone who needs an easy way to do a dirty job!!
Pros: works great, easy to use
Cons: price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Why didn't i buy sooner?

January 13, 2013
by KSfishy
fromTx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
This is a must for any fish tank owner. Makes cleaning tank a snap with little to no mess. I hated using the old tube vac and bucket system. Not to mention how long it took to refill water that was removed when cleaning. This contraption is awesome. Cleaned all the sludge off the tank bottom with ease.
Pros: works great, easy to use
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

January 7, 2013
by West1elvr
fromDelta, Pa.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
I love this product!! It helps me keep my tank clean and it doesn't bother the fish when I use it. I am just sorry I didn't know about the EHEIM Quick Vac Pro years ago; I could have saved so much time cleaning the tank and spent that time enjoying my fish. I highly recommend this product...no matter what size tank you have!
Pros: works great, easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews

conditional review

November 18, 2012
by toxicavenger
fromSacramento, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
I have had two of these cleaners in the past 6 years. They work well while they work but both have lost considerable power at about the 3 year mark. Since they carry a 2 year warranty they become spare part inventory IF I decide to go back to another of them today. But since it appears to be the motor that deteriorates I end up with a shelf devoted to mini-functioning items. I would highly recommend this product IF it lasted longer; as it is I can only give it a conditional GOOD rating.
Pros: easy to use, works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Sand aquarium use

September 25, 2012
by cichlidman85
fromjacksonvfille, fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
I just bought this the other day and must say i was VERY hesitant as i have a pure cichlid tank that is overstocked and purely sand to keep them from fighting ( i have a lot LOT of rock structure for them ). I was debating on getting this till a customer came up and told me they had one and loved it but he did not have sand so i figured what the heck. i got it and while you have to pay attention so as to not suck up the sand ( it can get into filter area but thats an easy wash out) this thing is amazing. heavily reccomended for those with sand aquariums.
Pros: easy to use, works great
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Totally worth the price.

August 15, 2012
by GraphicFrog
fromOmaha, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
I have a 1.5 gallon aquarium for my colleagues at work to enjoy. I felt bad for my fish, because their tank needs cleaned out frequently, but it’s very hard to take the tank back and forth between my production area and our administrative office. I purchased the EHEIM Quick Vac Pro, to help with the in between water changes. This product worked great! I have neon tetras, and they eat the micro food, this product was able to remove all and any waste. Even though their food source is extremely tiny, this product had no issue cleaning the tank, I did have to remove the second attachment since the tank is so small, but that is the only think I had to adjust. Now my little guys are happier and healthier thanks to this product.
Pros: works great, easy to use, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews

DIDN'T COME CLOSE TO EXPECTATIONS

August 2, 2012
by SDMIKE
fromSAN DIEGO CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
I have maintained aquariums for over 40 years. I have used the old method of buckets and siphon tubes, that has always worked great. I decided that with my now limited time, and maybe getting lazier as the years go by, that I would finally purchase one of these "easy vac" items. I clean (3) 45+ gallon aquariums weekly. I was expecting, because of the cost, that this item would work well. It might be OK for smaller aquariums but for mine it didn't even come close to cleaning them. Poor vacuum volume, barely even picks up gravel to get to debris just under it. Barely grabs anything but water. I am returning mine and will continue to use my buckets. If you have a small tank this might work for you, good luck.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: price, didn't work
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Worth Every Penny!

July 23, 2012
by indysharpei53
fromIndianapolis, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
This is by far the best purchase I've made for my aquarium. I originally purchased a much cheaper manual/pump vac in the interest of saving money. The manual vac did not work well, was very time consuming, and all the hoses & buckets were a pain to deal with.
The EHEIM vac is totally different. It only sucks out and traps the sludge, while returning clean water back to the tank. So fast and so easy! Super easy to clean too.
Yes it is a little pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for here.
Pros: works great, easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for EHEIM Quick Vac Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Terrific Product!

July 3, 2012
by tgrlily
fromOklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews
I was at PetsMart today to buy dog food and remembered I was out of aquarium filters so I went to the aquarium department. I happened to see this Eheim Vac and thought it looked interesting. I nearly balked at buying it due to the price tag, but figured it's an Eheim product and I've never had a bad experience with their products.
I am very glad I bought this. I actually went home and cleaned my two aquariums just for fun, and I hate cleaning my aquariums! This made the job so much quicker and easier.
I would recommend anyone with an aquarium to get one of these. You will definitely not regret it!
Pros: easy to use, works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next