PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for API Floating Pellet Food for Betta

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

API Floating Pellet Food for Betta

Color enhancing, protein-rich formula provides a complete and balanced diet while helping to promote beautiful fins.
Overall rating:
3.273 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 10
5 of 11(45%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for API Floating Pellet Food for Betta
Review 1 for API Floating Pellet Food for Betta
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews

not that great

March 31, 2013
by micronat
fromMonterey bay
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It was ok but packing was really bad.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API Floating Pellet Food for Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

shes crazy for them

January 19, 2013
by pheobe5690
fromRodeo,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The second I put in her tank she loved it. I looked at all the ingredients and if I were a betta I would eat it too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API Floating Pellet Food for Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Good food

January 6, 2013
by YOLO
fromFarmington, MI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Well, 4wings and Fiji say the fish food is bad, but Fiji got the food to replace the former food, and if they reject it at first, it's probably because they were used to the original food. If you switch food, be sure to SLOWLY wean them off of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API Floating Pellet Food for Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Betta loves it!

September 1, 2010
by bettaalex
fromPalm Coast, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
My betta loves the food!The packaging is a littlestupid but,still .Betta's colors spickes in 1 week.
Pros: betta loves it
Cons: stupid package
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API Floating Pellet Food for Betta
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Poor product

August 28, 2010
by 4Wings
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Why would anyone market a product in such a horrible container? Not only is the container bad but the product itself is horrible. I have never had a betta that would reject food so viciously. I tried to feed him these pellets for 4 days but after he kept spiting them out I threw the pellets in the trash.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API Floating Pellet Food for Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Yummy!

June 1, 2010
by Teddie
fromSimi Valley
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
My betta loves this food! There are never uneaten pieces. This floats wonderfully. I give my betta three of these pellets twice a day, so maybe the other people are feeding their fish to much. I don't know, but I do know that my fish loves this food. I agree that the package is hard to handle, but I put the food into a plastic container instead. =)
Pros: it floats!, betty eats every bite!
Cons: the package
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API Floating Pellet Food for Betta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews

weird

April 9, 2010
by animalgal67
fromlakeville MN minnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews
i bought this food for my betta and he liked it but he always spits out the pellets after he eats the coating. weird package to. overall i wouldnt recomend this
Pros: lot in the package, cheap
Cons: pet hates it, stupid package, betta spits it out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API Floating Pellet Food for Betta
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

My Betta hated it

June 7, 2009
by Fiji
fromArlington, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews
I got this food to replace the food that came with the Marina Betta kit that I got with my Betta. My Betta would always go straight to it to eat it, but he'd spit it back out every time and then not eat it. I went and got the Hikari Bio-Gold Betta pellets and he loves them!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API Floating Pellet Food for Betta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews

Packing is attrocious!

March 6, 2009
by BellaNKatie
fromPhiladelphia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews
The packaging is the worst container (not that I like these sorts of packages to begin with) I have ever had the misfortune of dealing with. Some of the pellets in the package are too big for the Betta, too. Opening it was a pain because even though they are only supposed to be fed 3 - 4 pellets cutting the spout at the dotted line led to no pellets. Then the packaging apparently resented being shaken and spat out about 20 pellets. I understand the need for this packaging as this does keep the pellets fresher (seems to, anyways). Having a canister would be silly for such few pellets (there's like a year's worth in here; a little pellets goes a long way!)
I finally ripped open the packaging and I dumped the remaining pellets into a small bag. Doing this saved my sanity. The pellets float to the sides of the tank where they can be scrapped out easily. However, there's never much waste because Mr. Blue (the Betta) loves these pellets.
And I must say since I started feeding these his colors have been a touch brighter and he is much more active. I do not know if is a result the blood worms I have been giving him as treats or what.
Pros: floating pellets
Cons: some were too large, packaging is hard to deal with
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API Floating Pellet Food for Betta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews

Aquarian

April 7, 2007
by FerretMom1
fromKentucky
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Very nice looking package. The food floats wonderfully, making it easy to remove uneated pellets. However, there are a lot of those because my fish is reluctant to eat it. He does, but he will spit it out several times before he finally swallows it. Since it is so cheap I'd suggest you at least try it, it's like an off brand Hikari, my fish has only been with me for a day so maybe he isn't used to it yet. Maybe the petstore (not petsmart) was using something different to feed him. (I'm thinking tropical flakes since he was in a betta divider in a tropical community tank)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for API Floating Pellet Food for Betta
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
0 out of 1 recommend this product
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews