PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Marina Light Unit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Marina Light Unit

Fits all Marina goldfish and betta kits and Living World Small Pals Pens.
Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 13
11 of 14(79%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Marina Light Unit
Review 1 for Marina Light Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

light

November 30, 2012
by nickbetta
fromny
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
It is a great buy, but how do you turn it off when it is pluged in to an outlet??? please help
Pros: price
Cons: Hard to Install
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marina Light Unit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews

Decent, Affordable Option for Marina Kits

May 24, 2012
by bettasrbetter
fromVictoria, BC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
I originally bought this for the 0.5 betta starter kit a few years ago but found that tank was inappropriate for my betta, so it and the light weren't in use for a while. Recently, I purchased the 1.77 Marina kit, which this light also fits. The light itself is decent, though a bit flimsy. It has held up though. I live in a colder climate and have bettas, so I can't rely on this light alone to keep the water warm enough - even when I was using it with the 0.5 gallon tank - so I use a heater. The light is decent, really affordable, and a good option for the Marina kits. Right now I now have an anubias plant in one of my 1.77 gallons. I'm hoping it will be sufficient for this low-light plant. Obviously, the light isn't very strong, so live-plant options are limited, but most people wouldn't be planting the Marina kits anyway.
Pros: price, fits Marina all goldfish and betta kits nicely, clips on easily, easy to install, easy to use
Cons: not very attractive, flimsy, some kits claim it is sufficient to maintain tropical water temperature but it isn't, not very strong light source, must be purchased separately
Pros: price, easy to install
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marina Light Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

marina light unit

September 19, 2010
by bettagirl
fromnorthern new jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
i have 2 marina 2.65 gallon aquariums with bettas and the light unit is perfect. heats water fine and lights up the tank very nicely. i would highly recommend this product to anyone with a simliar set up
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marina Light Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great for betta tank

June 16, 2010
by ashbagosh23
fromRochester, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have one male betta in a one gallon tank with white stones and a few small silk plants. This light is absolutely perfect for him! It keeps the tank bright enough and warm enough for fairly inexpensive. Definitely not designed for large tanks but if you use it for a half gallon or one gallon the light output looks very striking. This picture was taken in a dark room where the only light was this one over my tank, I think it's great :)
Pros: inexpensive, snaps onto lid of hagen tanks
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marina Light Unit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 14 reviews

Going Back

July 8, 2009
by lilbritt
fromLakewood, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
I just got my light units and tried them on my 2.65g starter kits, they produce plenty of heat and the light bulb touches the hood but with the slate gray color of the top of these tanks a lamp next to the tank would do a better job lighting them.
Like someone else said night lights give off more light. Unless you happen to have a clear hood I wouldn't buy or recommend buying this and even then with the light bulb actually touching the hood I know I'm afraid the acrylic cover will end up melting.
Pros: not a single pro
Cons: barely lights the tank, bulb sits directly on hood
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marina Light Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Betta Light

May 14, 2009
by Anonymous
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
This light is perfect for the "Hagen" Betta tank that is on the market. Just the right amount of light, too much more and you'd have fish soup. Great buy for the price, order it online....since I did the pilgrimage to various Pet stores and nobody carries it (not even Petsmart). Save the gas money!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marina Light Unit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

bad light have had nightlights give off more light

February 22, 2009
by newbieatsaltwater
fromGreenville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 14 reviews
well its just as i said i have had night lights that give off more light than this thing does when placed on the hood of the aquarium it s supposed to be used for. Not only a tiny amount of light but it shines through (barely) in the accent color of the tank's hood reducing the light even more making it very hard to see your fish.
Pros: cheap small
Cons: no light!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marina Light Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great light for the price

September 24, 2008
by MarcT
fromChicago, Il
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Wow got my lighting unit today and it looks great. Much better then the LED lights that I had 1st brought. It lights my entire Aquarium unlike the LED. I just hope that it can provide enough heat in the winter time since I live up north
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marina Light Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

great littlt light unit

July 3, 2008
by fishtails59
fromsouth carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
This small light is just perfect for my 2.5 gal. marina aquarium in my office, it gives out just the right amount of light and heat that my neons and african dwarf frog need , and it looks great at night when the lights are turned off, not too bright but just enough so that the fish are not in total darkness. I love it!!!! and my fish do too
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marina Light Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

light

July 31, 2007
by bettababe
fromMN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
this light is perfect for my tank. I needed a light that was small because i only have a nine gallon tank!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marina Light Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

My fish likes it

July 10, 2007
by hlgrotha
fromTampa, FL
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
My Betta seems much happier now that I added on the lighting unit to his tank. It heats the 1/2 gallon tank enough to keep my Betta nice and warm. It's a good idea for small tanks with one or two fish that enjoy tropical water temperatures.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marina Light Unit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Its not so great

June 27, 2007
by LilyandLeslie
fromTexas
Its doesn't provide the light my fish enjoy!!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marina Light Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

August 22, 2006
by lina
This customer did not provide a text review.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Marina Light Unit
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews