PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent

Keeps cats out of your flower gardens, yard, or anywhere you don't want them to be.
Overall rating:
2.727 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
5 of 11(45%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent
Review 1 for CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Works like a charm!

January 26, 2014
by CCarlos
fromArizona
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This is one seriously excellent product! Motion-detecting and ultrasonic. Very well-made and simple to install. I love my cat dearly, but he loves to spend lots of time in the alley behind my home. Easy access from a main street. Very dangerous place to be for a cat, since people go back there all the time to drink, urinate and whatever else. I don't want my cat bringing their waste in my home! Filmed him on hidden cam walk past Catstop only once, then he ran away fast and hard. I haven't seen back there since. Catstop works like a charm!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Product doesn't work

October 14, 2013
by m4ac
fromNY
What is your gender?F
Product is suppose to have a high pitched sound when movement is sensed within 20 feet of it. The cat can hear it and frightens it away. The cat from across the street walked within about 10 feet of it and didn't flinch. Another cat was laying in the street and I ran my hand in front of the sensor-cat continued to lay there. It is coming back to Pet Smart as soon as I have a chance to get there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

urinal target

May 13, 2012
by Horseshoe
fromMassapequa, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Well all I can say is that it scared the cats for the first couple days and then after that the cat approached it and sniffed it and urinated right on it. So then it attracted other cats who also wanted to mark their territory. It became like a cat watering hole for the neighborhood. Heck, even a dog lifted his leg up to it after he chased the cats away. I think i'm going to get a dog and tie him up in the front yard. (Natural Cat repellent = dog:)
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Works great !!!

June 21, 2011
by Baley1
fromDublin, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
The cats have quit using part of our front yard, They moved to another part, so we are going to buy another unit and get rid of them completely,
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Not worth a dime

June 20, 2011
by Funtoflywith
fromCalifornia
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Within a few days after setting it up the cats were doing their thing only a few inches in front of it. I think the only reason ir worked for the few days it did was because it was something new. Now the red light stays on all the time and still doesn't keep the cats away. Don't waste your money. This isn't worth a dime!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

dont waste your money

April 29, 2011
by METRO
fromCONN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
I HAD A PROBLEM WITH STRAY CATS GETTING IN MY FLOWERS SO I PURCHASED THIS PRODUCT I ALSO PURCHASED AN ADAPTER SO I WONT KEEP CHANGING BATTERIES THE CATS CAME RIGHT NEXT TO THE SENSOR SNIFFED IT AND STILL DID HIS THING TILL I CHASE HIM AWAY DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great product!

October 24, 2008
by ALG3
fromSacramento, CA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Before using the CatStop, I tried everything to keep the neighborhood cats from doing their business in the flower beds in my front yard. I tried chicken wire, pepper flakes, dog and cat repellant, etc… Finally I bought the CatStop and it worked immediately. I’ve had it for over a year now and the cats haven’t come back. Actually, the only time they come back is when the battery goes dead in the CatStop. That’s when I know it’s time to put a new battery in. The reason I’m actually on this site right now is to buy another for my backyard. It’s an expensive item, but worth every penny.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

CatStop

May 26, 2008
by skittles
fromNew York
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Don't waste your time."
I have two cats. They both heard the sound and were very curious as to where it was coming from. They both ended up going right up to the "CatStop" device and sniffing it. It did not scare them at all, did not deter them in any way. It actually made them go up to it more often.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Awesome Device!!

December 5, 2007
by JosephV
fromAlabama
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
For the last three months, I had been plagued by two neighborhood cats who decided to claim my home as their territory. Every morning I would come out to my car only to find muddy cat prints all over the hood, wind shield, and trunk. In addition, the cats were also using the bathroom on my front walk way. Well, I purchased one of these nifty cat stop devices in my driveway facing the front yard, and BAM... no more cat issues. I don't even see the cats coming anywhere near my house. This purchase has been extremely helpful, especially since I have a new vehicle now and would not be pleased to see a cat on this car!! This device is a life saver (for those cats). Definitely worth the money!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Cat Stop

October 27, 2007
by GeorgiaGardner
fromCovington, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
I have bought two of these items and they do nothing to keep the neighbors cats out of the rose bed. In fact the cat has done its business in front of the device about 8" inches away. I am sorry that I have wasted my money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CatStop Automatic Outdoor Cat Deterrent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

CatStop

February 2, 2007
by BJDBSW
fromPanama City, FL
This product works really good, We have a problem with cats getting on our cars, we put two of the CatStops out and it has worked so far in keeping the cats away.
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.