PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac

To effectively control fleas, you have to treat your pet AND the environment in which he lives.
Overall rating:
3.533 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
10 of 15(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Review 1 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Didn't last

November 12, 2013
by Jimbal
fromnORTHERN mICHIGAN
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Had been looking for a flea spray to kill fleas in the apartment, no animals. The kids must have dragged them in. Worked for about 7-10 days, now THEY'RE BACK!! Trying it a second time, and another $22.25
Cons: didn't work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

keep your money

September 8, 2013
by still09trying
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product was recommended to me while in PetsMart by another customer going thru the same issues with fleas. I treated my house twice in the same week with this product when I first saw signs of an infestation. Now the infestation is worse, this bottle is empty and I'm still researching for something actually effective. Save your money and do not buy this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

doesn't last

August 27, 2013
by spence007
fromMemphis, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I used this product after trying another, hoping it was better after reading the reviews. I sprayed all carpets and upholstery after I knew I had a flea problem. it lasted less than a week. After being bitten myself, I called in an exterminator and so far, I haven't seen any fleas and he remarked, I had no infestation. I also sprayed my car with this product to no avail, either. it simply doesn't work at least where I live. I wasted over $60 on flea sprays from the pet store and still had to pay a pest control company to finally rid myself of the fleas.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

I ended up with more fleas than before I sprayed

August 13, 2013
by awagita52
fromRhode Island
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
I sprayed down the entire house, left for a few days and came back to be covered with fleas. I've picked scores off myself in just two days. When I called the manufacturer to question the results, I was told it was "vacation syndrome" that had fleas hatching all over. I was also told they'd send another can that would arrive in 4-6 weeks. For what? The place is more infested than before I sprayed and now I'm paying to have a professional company come in to deal with the problem. Our flealess cat is staying elsewhere until the place is rid of the problem and this product was not only useless but made the flea infestation worse by far.
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Works well, for now.

November 27, 2012
by bradylady
fromStaten Island, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I lightly sprayed carpets, couches, rugs, cats bed, etc. after noticing my cat had a few fleas. I found it better to treat the problem asap. The pump spray was easy to use, sprayed many areas, and the smell wasn't so bad (just a light chemical smell). I cracked a window in each area I sprayed about 8 inches, and left for 3 hours with my kitten. When I came back, the area was completely dry and no lingering smell. I never actually saw any fleas on these areas, but since they were on the kitten, I was playing it safe. Didn't see anything after vacuuming, but my furniture and carpets are dark. Overall a real decent product that I was comfortable using. My kitten didn't like when I initially sprayed the pump, but had no problem after it dried.
Pros: easy to use, effective
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Best Bug Spray on the Market!

June 6, 2012
by PinkiesPerson
fromAnderson, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've been using Zodiac Fleatrol products for 25 yrs now, and have never found anything that works better. It works on all kinds of bugs and lasts for months. I first discovered it in Calif. when I couldn't get rid of tapeworm that a rescue cat had brought into my home. Finally, after battling it with pills for the cats & bug bombs for the fleas for over 2 yrs, I found Zodiac Fleatrol and got rid of it permanently with the first application. Over the years I've used it on ant invasions, spider invasions, ladybug invasions, fire ant hills - I even use it around the light outside my front door to get rid of the bugs out there! It doesn't last as long outside, but it still works for a few weeks.
Now that I live in the South, I do a perimeter spray inside the house every spring & that's all that's usually needed to keep all the creepy-crawlers outside where they belong. I spray the baseboards in every room, inside all the window frames, all around the door frames, and around any little holes (cable, phone, dryer) that would let them in; a light spray is all that's needed. I have all my extended family members down here hooked on it, too. It's truly great stuff!!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

it works but it stinks

May 17, 2012
by Nickytc
fromDenton, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
on the bottle is says pleasant oder, it's totally bogus, this stuff is stinky like all pest control products are. it seems to dissipate quickly with enough ventilations though and it seems to work pretty well. The dogs and the cats really hated it.
Pros: easy to use, effective
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Good Stuff

May 11, 2011
by dvdvon
fromSoquel, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Used Frontline on my cats for years, but recently moved to Northern California where the neighbors tell me Frontline does not work for fleas and I'd need to switch to Advantage. Unfortunately I found this out after being bitten by a flea in my living room just 3 days after treating my cats with Frontline. This means I had a month to wait while fleas had a holiday on my cats and home. I found Zodiac and applied it all through the house. I figured if the fleas jumped off the cats, I'd make sure they didn't live long. It worked well. No more bites. This is good stuff and didn't seem to have any negative impact on me or either of the cats.
Pros: effective, easy to use
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Works but have to let is set for the allotted time

April 28, 2011
by Gatsby
fromMT
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
This stuff works, we sprayed in December. Left on vacation for 10 days. Beforehand we vaccumed everything--couches, chairs, the corners of the room, moved all the furniture. I used the carpet powder along with the spray on furniture. When we got back we vaccumed really well and washed down all the walls and furniture that may have had the chemicals still on it. I didn't have fleas in those areas. However I will say in order to get rid of the little buggers you have to do everywhere the pet has been!! Still had them in our bedroom and the baby's room. Sprayed our room down and finally after that they seemed to be gone for a few months. Now they are back and I am ordering the aerosole spray and carpet powder. They seem to work well together. It's a huge task but I don't want fleas. I admit may not have gotten rid of all of them in the inital attack. I will do the baby's room this time. That should work.
But all in all if you are meticulous and detail oriented about applying the product it works. Never stained any furniture or carpet.
Pros: effective
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

My 17 yr. Siamese Mocha Gives This a Thumbs Up

August 11, 2010
by tam2337
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I've tried the carpet powder (nice smell) and its effectiveness mediocer. Fogged the place with Zodiac flea fogger last week with a little better success. I followed up with this within an hour my cat was willing to walk across the carpet slowly. If anything, fog and follow up in a week or so with a can of this and you might just conquer these pesky insects.
Pros: fast and easy to use, covers a lot of area, easy to use on furniture/hard to reach places
Cons: it smells but not bad and not for long
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Actually Worked!

June 16, 2010
by ZeusMom
fromNorman, OK
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I was so pleasantly surprised that this worked. I sprayed the couch once and haven't found a flea since!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Doesn't Work

November 18, 2008
by Bug4340
fromSt. Louis, Mo
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
I live in an apartment and recently have gotten new neighbors who brought little fleas with them and now, I'm infested. I bought this spray and sprayed everywhere along with frontlining and dipping my pup and kitty and STILL have fleas jumping off my couch onto me!! Save your money, try something else.
-19points
1of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

zodiac flea & tick spray for carpet & upholstery

June 10, 2007
by 910blonde
fromSewickley, PA
Excellent product. Really works & does the job fast! Very pleased with the results. Have used it for years. Does NOT stain or change the color of any material I've used it on. Pets are NOT adversely affected. Worth the price.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

No more fleas!

January 2, 2007
by Tiggi
  • Expert
fromOH
We used it about 3 years ago or so because we had a really bad flea problem. They were jumping all over me! We sprayed certain areas, block us & the cats out for the 2 hours. Then do the rest of the house like that and it worked! We saw a whole bunch of dead fleas in the carpet.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carpet & Upholstery Flea & Tick Spray by Zodiac
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Long to dry, but worth the wait

November 6, 2006
by Blondie82
fromPhiladelphia, PA
I adopted a kitten and alas, he came home with fleas. Afraid of a serious outbreak, I bought the Zodiac spray, locked myself and the kitten in the bedroom and sprayed the whole house. While it took longer to dry than the canister indicated, it worked great and I'm now flea free. I haven't seen any bugs, even spiders, actually.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.