PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log

The new natural-looking floating turtle log provides security, comfort, and stress reduction for aquatic turtles.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 14
13 of 15(87%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Review 1 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Great for baby turtles...Only

February 26, 2014
by MM53715
fromMadison, WI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
I bought this log for my red eared slider turtles. I have 2. Both are between 3.5" - 4.5" big, or so. Both of my turtles seem to love this log very much, and I enjoy the natural look of it as well, but this item was pretty pricey, and I regret buying it now. It has too many design flaws. 1. Unless it is inside a TINY tank, it floats away from the basking light, basically eliminating it's entire purpose. It should come with some way to attach it to the tank wall, like suction cups. 2. One of my turtles is small enough to swim in one end, but too large to swim out the other end. MAJOR design flaw (and possible drowning factor, as he gets stuck in it). It should come with an insert to close off the ends, when your turtle outgrows the swim through feature of the log. (I had to spend MORE money to fix this flaw) 3. The turtles are able to eat whatever it is made out of. 4. Now that my turtles have grown to love this item, they are outgrowing it. It can barely hold them up above water, and they can no longer go inside it. Why is there not one of these made for full grown turtles? I wish I hadn't wasted my money on it.
Pros: easy to clean, stylish
Cons: price, low quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

worked great

September 5, 2013
by cjmegaman
fromMaryland
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Is good for small turtles
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log

February 10, 2013
by Kreviw
fromSauk Rapids, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I relly like this product. It is really easy to clean and looks pretty real. My turtles loved this. Wish they sold bigger sizes. My turtles are little to big for this now but the fish really enjoy it. The turtles are still able to clim on it lol but it kinda sinks a little. Looks really nice and does well with any leavel of water.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

IT WILL WOW YOU!!!!

January 19, 2013
by Sylvi
fromToronto
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this for my red ear slider and thought it would be junk. Boy was i wrong!!!!! It's amazing! My turtle loves poping out of the holes and basking on the top! 5 STARS!!!!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

My turtle loves this!!!

December 3, 2011
by ChelsChi
fromCentral MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I was hesitant to buy this log because of the price, but I'm so glad I did! My little turtle absolutely loves it, he is always sitting in it or on top of it. He likes to sit inside and poke his head out the "porthole" on the side, as I call it. I will be very sad when he gets too large to fit inside (his breed will outgrow it) but for now this is an amazing purchase for me! I've even noticed for some reason algae doesn't grow on it like it does on the other decorations in his tank. That could be just a coincidence but either way that's a bonus! Highly recommended!
Pros: sturdy, stylish
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Pretty but...

November 15, 2009
by carlim722
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
I have 3 red-eared slider turtles and I recently bought this for their new aquarium. I have a 4-5 in. turtle and two smaller turtles. This works very well for my smaller ones at the moment but they will eventually get big. My larger one is unable to get on it. It foats away so it makes it hard. He is also too big to get in the middle of it and he gets stuck. This product would be great if it was bigger and it had suction cups. Great for smaller turtles but. not worth the money for they will get bigger.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

My turtle loves this log!

August 26, 2008
by turtlesmakemehappy
fromBeaverton, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
He enjoys sitting in it, swimming through it, sticking his head through the holes in the sides, basking on top of it, i am pretty sure it is his favorite item in the aquarium! At first when i got it, he seemed pretty shy about it and refused to go inside or bask on it, but after a few weeks he saw that it was "harmless" and decided to try it out, and to this day he still loves the log! I would defiantly recommend this to all turtles( under 4 inches!) For bigger turtles over 4 inches, they however will not fit inside, but can still bask on top of the log.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Must have for aquatic turtles!

June 27, 2008
by Duane
fromJackson, MI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I bought one of these logs for my small red eared slider. He is usually on top of it, but spends a lot of time swimming through or sitting in it. Fiddler crabs and newts seem to love this thing as well, and it works good for me, because I wanted to have a more "natural" setting for my pets. I have not had any issues with it rolling over, but my turtle is still a baby, so that could change. I would say only large turtles would have an issue with it turning over, but I would think they could still get on it.
Works well, my pet loves it, definately worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

I love seeing his head poking out of the holes

August 10, 2007
by Hollie
fromNashua, NH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My turtle seemed so excited when I put this in his 20 gallon tank. It's a little bulky, so I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with a lot of turtles in a smaller sized tank, but it seems like a lot of fun for them.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Excellent!

August 2, 2007
by Catmadness
fromEaton, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my turtles when they were in a 20 gallon long and it seemed to take up a lot of room but they both liked it. They are now in a 55 with the log and my smaller turtle is on it about 50% of the time. I have a larger painted turtle that is not able to get on it, so i would recommend this for smaller turtles. The one will swim through it and the convicts i have in the tank keep their fry in it. It is great for turtles, a must buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Decent

June 1, 2007
by GPRenegade
fromMilpitas, CA
My turtle was eating this log so I had to remove it. It had some trouble staying balanced with even my smallest turtles on it. Decent at best.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Not bad

April 15, 2007
by Petey219
fromLas Vegas, NV
I'm on my second log now because my slider chewed up the other pretty good. He's rather large in size so this product is no longer good for him. He rolls it easily and struggles to climb aboard. When he does get on, it's using on an end so the other is raised out of the water. He was never able to swim through the log because as I stated earlier, he is too big. Overall though, this product was great when he was smaller. He loved it and I'm sure wishes he wasn't so large so that he could still enjoy it.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Turtle Log

March 30, 2007
by AlgaesMom
fromNew Orleans, LA
We bought this product after realizing that our Reeve's turtle was not using his turtle dock for anything except hiding under. We bought the turtle log- taking a chance, it seemed expensive at the time if it was something he might not like- and he loves it! I agree it must reduce his stress to be free floating in the tank instead of feeling all of the vibrations that must resound through the water when we walk past his tank. And he is in it all the time, so it must make him feel very secure and he is a skittish little guy. (We found him in a sack of crawfish, and don't think he was anyone's pet; he must have been living at the crawfish farm.)
Definitely worth the money for us and our little Algae!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great

February 18, 2007
by Anonymous
fromMI
this is a great product. I have 3 turtles and they love to get on top and jump off they have no problem getting on because the bottom is weighted and will not roll. Also great for them to swim through. Floats very well and will not sink. fairly expensive but worth the money.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Zoo Med Floating Turtle Log
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product