PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318

A fully submersible, 4-watt internal filter for aquatic turtle tanks up to 30 gallons in volume.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 18
10 of 19(53%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Review 1 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 19 reviews

Nuehh...

January 17, 2014
by YellowTurtle
fromValley City, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It's okay.
My turtle has a 50 gallon tank, and a little fishy to chase.
The water is kept clean for about a month, then I have to clean it again. It makes loud noises, and I have to unclog air that gets trapped in the impeller so it works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 19 reviews

Not good filter

December 10, 2013
by SanDiegoTurtle
fromSan Diego
I have a 10 gallon tank and it does not keep the tank clean. It clogs very easy and the filter must be cleaned every other day. Not happy with the results along with the cost of the filter. Does not keep the water clear. I do not recommend this filter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 19 reviews

only worked for 3 months!

January 18, 2013
by rocker
fromNew Windsor, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Not worth the money. Lost it's prime after just 3 months. Cleaned tank regularly every 3 weeks and eventually the filter stopped working properly.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Keeps tank clean

October 2, 2010
by resdude
fromNew York
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews
I bought this filter for my 40 gallon red eared slider tank. I have one red eared slider in it and it keeps his water pretty clean. It is very quiet, and i don't even notice it unless i turn it off. It is very convenient, with a peg you rotate to change the water flow. Also, it is pretty small and doesn't take up much space at all. Overall this is a great filter.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews

Good for the size

August 22, 2010
by mrb2217
fromChester, MD (Kent Island)
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
This filter is good if you use it on the right size tank. I had a 55 gallon tank filled a little less then halfway and it worked as long as I cleaned the filter once a week. I only used it for two weeks until I could get a bigger filter and redid my whole tank. I only use it now when I'm cleaning my turtle tank. I put the filter and my turtles in a 20 gallon plastic bin filled a little less then halfway and it works like a charm. Good for the size as long as you know that you shouldn't use this in anything more then a 15 gallon tank.
Pros: easy to clean, quiet
Cons: only good for 15 gallons or less.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 19 reviews

Max Output is 35gph!! Overpriced!

July 19, 2010
by TriskaidekaPunk
fromHouston
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 19 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 19 reviews
Says for up to 30gal, that bull I'd only use it for 10gal in under, even at a ten I'd say you'd need 2 to do the job. avg filters run at 5-7x the size of aquarium size, 10gal 50-70gph. Great filters run over 20x, 10gal 200-300gph. So it filters okay for 10gal but best results no more then 5gal. Better off using under-gravel with airstones, be the same price and work better.
I have multiple turtles so dont buy this for turtles, turtles are easiest to care for but are the messiest. Suggested for 4-5 little fish. I got this for free when I bought a 20gal on craigslist, but I still chose to rate so people know. If this was only ten bucks its worth $10 not $35. Still bottom line for a small easy filter the idea is good, price in high and filter is on the low side of quality.
Pros: one piece, comes apart for easy cleaning, adjustable flow nozzle
Cons: gph, filtering, more of a water mover then filter
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 19 reviews

dont buy

August 8, 2009
by REDEAREDSLIDER
fromINDIANA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 19 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 19 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 19 reviews
i HATE this filter it doesnt WORK
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 19 reviews

Not a really good filter!

July 26, 2008
by SanFranJ
fromSan Francisco
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 19 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 19 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 19 reviews
This product hardly filtered the tiniest mess that my turtles made! I also didn't like the fact that it was noisy, so I returned it for a better filter. I don't know if this was the case with other customers who purchased this filter, but I suggest for future customers to not purchase it! It may look great, but it's pretty bad!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 19 reviews

Use for Smaller Aquariums

March 13, 2008
by MLML
fromAtlanta
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 19 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 19 reviews
The item description states that this can be used for an aquarium up to 30 gallons, but it didn't work well for our 25-gallon. I would suggest maybe using this for a 10-15 gallon aquarium. If you have anything bigger than that, then this filter will struggle to keep the water clean and you will find that you are cleaning this filter daily, then it still doesn't clean well or reduce odors. Turtles are very dirty little creatures and create alot of waste & odor. As stated before, if you use this for a 10-15 gallon aquarium, then this filter will perform well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 19 reviews

ZooMed Turtle Clean Filter 318 is good for beginer

February 24, 2008
by Wadefrom114
fromOklahoma City
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 19 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 19 reviews
I bought this product about 4 months ago and it has preformed its task, but now has formed a short in the wiring and if bumped might stop working. I would recommend it to a beginner with a small tank no bigger than a 20 gallon. However any bigger setup I would suggest a larger canister filter with a higher flow rate such as the Magnum 350 or a 250. Cleaning the 318 is a twice a week chore and it must be done and change the carbon about once a week. If you have a small turtle and are on a tight budget this is a sufficient filter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Very Nice Filter

January 6, 2008
by AlexR
fromChicago IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews
I'm happy with this product. I've had it for about 2 months with no problems. It's very quiet and it filters very effectively (up to 15 gallons or so). It's good for use in shallow water (2" or so). I have this one placed in about 15gal of water with a 15 year old painted turtle, and no gravel in the bottom (gravel is hard to clean and turtles just kick it around, but it holds good bacteria that keeps the water clear)
The filter boxes are adjustable to specific applications. The charcoal can be replaced with an additional sponge to improve biological filtering in turtle tanks (turtles are not very sensitive to chemicals in the water...but they make a LOT of waste that can cloud the water very quickly). My turtle tank was clouding up days after water changes, adding a foam element fixed it. (even without gravel!),
Alternatively, both sponges can be replaced with charcoal to improve chemical filtration for amphibians, who don't make much waste but are highly sensitive to chemicals.
Plus, the foam elements from any filter manufacturer can be cut to fit into the filter boxes to give different filtration profiles.
Servicing the unit is very easy, easier than any aquarium filter I have. The suction cups release easily so they don't tear out of their holes, and the filter boxes come out very easily. Just swish the elements in some running water, rinse of the boxes and put them back in.
Sludge buildup and cloudy water are the result of poor water maintenance, not poor filtration. Turtles are very messy eaters and produce a lot of waste. Feeding them in the tank will blow out even the best aquarium filters within a week or two. (I know, I've used them, those elements get expensive really quickly). Infrequent water changes will allow nitrate buildup, which produces bacterial haze and sludge in the tank, which is harmful to your turtle's sensitive eyes. No filter can remove nitrates, only water changes. For turtles, a 50-90% weekly water change is appropriate.
In addition to the turtle tank, I keep three aquariums; a 10gal goldfish tank (feeders for the turtle, but they're pretty too!), and 20gal and 75gal tropical community tanks. the turtle used to be in the 75gal tropical tank (with weekly water changes of about 30-40%, and replacing filter elements every 2 weeks), but was moved after eating some nice fish...
Don't scrimp on maintenance (water changes, keeping a separate feeding tank, etc), it's harmful to the animals and only leads to more work and money in the end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 19 reviews

HORRIBLE!

December 30, 2007
by Hatter
fromNew York, NY
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 19 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 19 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 19 reviews
This is the most disappointing filter I have ever picked up. Not only does the suction inside lose its power, but it hardly performs as good after only half a months use! its too weak! the only thing its good at is blowing food around, other then that, picking up what it's supposed to pick up is nearly impossible.
Most might think cleaning up revolves around just changing the 2 sponges and the active carbon? it doesn't after the 6 months of use, muck builds up all in the fan, and there is no way you can really take it apart to clean it without breaking a little piece of it.
Inside after taking the sponges out, I had to clean it with a toothbrush and even that didn't reach places that needed cleaning.
The 2 in one case? yeah the 2 "DOORS" broke off already.
Will never buy this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 19 reviews

ARGH!

October 7, 2007
by asylum1919
fromDurham, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 19 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 19 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 19 reviews
I've gone through 2 of these filters in the year that I've had my turtles. At first they work really well, you just have to be careful to replace the sponges and carbon. Then suddenly the filter starts making terrible sounds, and the small pin inside comes loose and the machine will not function correctly. The noise is too much to take.
I'm on my way now to search for a new brand.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews

Great Filter

June 23, 2007
by OhFod
fromSaint Marys, GA
I like the filter. It works much better than those "easy to clean" ones because if all you need to do is change the cartridge, then it doesn't clean very well AND it will end up costing you more money because of how many cartridges you will buy. With this one, you need to clean the sponges (and if you do it as often as you should, it will take you only a minute) and change the carbon rocks out (easy as dumping out old and pouring in new).
And it works very well, keeps the water pretty clean.
Plus, my turtle loves to play in the flow of water. =)
I just wish I knew if there was a way to buy new sponges because mine are getting a bit old.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 19 reviews

filter for turtle

January 27, 2007
by michelle76
fromeast brunswick , new jersey
its ok it cleans but not powerful enough , gets filthy easy , need at least 3 to keep tank clean. not worth the money it cost. for the job it does. if you have a 5 gallon tank 1 little turtle ok fine but not for biggder tanks and over 1 tutle.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews

This filter is great but with one problem

January 17, 2007
by skfjsofmdhd
fromToronto, Ont
I have a 10 gallon tank and a 4 year old Red Eared Slider Turtle. I the tank I have a fine layer of River Rocks. One problem I have is the heavy flow of water from the front, so my turtle is sceptical of crossing the water flow. Also I have a water plant and when bits of it's roots are bitten off by my mischevious turtle, they clog up the filter.
Overall I think it is of good quality and now I only have a do 50% water changes once a month and full water changes one every 5 weeks or so.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Love this filter!

December 6, 2006
by LuvMyAnimals
fromMount Gilead, Ohio
I have two red ear sliders, one baby and one about 6 years old, that I got from a friend that couldn't keep them anymore. This was the only filter I found that actually did the job. I rinse the sponges about once a week, and it keeps the water crystal clear; I only have to clean the tank about once a month! If I ever need another, I'll definately buy one of these!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 19 reviews

Not worth the money

October 21, 2006
by RESTurtleOwner
fromFillmore,CA
I got this filter when I got a RES hatchling. It was great when he was baby but as he grown a bit and it doesn't keep up with his mess. I change his water and filter sponges once a week because by day four the water is cloudy and the sponges are filthy. I would not reccomend this filter.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Zoo Med Turtle Clean Filter 318
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product