PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack

An environmentally friendly substrate material ideal for all types of reptiles, amphibians, small animals and insects. Each brick will make 7-8 liters of substrate.
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
21 of 22(95%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Review 1 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

HERMIES LOVE!!!!!!!

January 25, 2014
by trinsterdoodle
fromnew york, ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This was the best product of substrate I got!I got it for Christmas, and so when I put it in it was a present for my hermit crabs too! It says it expands eight times it's size... Mine expanded more then eight times the size. It is a great amount for a ten gallon tank with hermies ready to molt!! I have also heard it is also wonderful for other animals and reptiles too.
Pros: easy to clean, eliminates odor
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

great bedding

December 23, 2013
by hermitcrabs1
fromMaroa,IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my hermies love it. its easy for them to dig in and its naturale. it also holds moisture but not for so long mold develupse. i would say if your using it for dessert animals it can take alg time to dry out. also its easy to clean out of the cage but there is no way to remove the waste from the bedding its self.
Pros: easy to clean, eliminates odor
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Works great for Crabs

October 29, 2013
by MelissaW
fromTX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I always use this stuff, especially over their sleeping area. They burrow down in it and seem content. Always use enough to cover them completely though so they feel comfortable enough to molt. I keep about 4 inches in my crabitat.
Pros: easy to clean, low dust
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

hermies like to bury in it

October 13, 2013
by tinb
fromNY, NY
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
this was the only thing from my order that came out perfect!
Pros: easy to clean
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

Good, but can get a bit messy

October 6, 2013
by Becca6725
fromga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
This was my first time using substrate, and the reviews are great so i tried this. First off the wrapper says you can soak it in the sink DON'T DO THAT! it clogged my sink and left a soily mess. other than that its great! it looks natural and its nice and soft but still firm. i have it lying over rocks which makes for a beautiful terrarium
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: messy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Excellent Substrate!

June 19, 2013
by Geckomaster
fromTerre Haute, IN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
One of the best substrates available for reptiles requiring higher humidity. Easy to clean and very naturalistic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Great Product, Okay Price

January 21, 2013
by CrestedGecko2
fromAtlanta, Ga
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Amazing substrate and value for crested geckos. Easy to use! hope price drops soon!!
Pros: low dust, easy to clean
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Best substrate for your buck!

December 2, 2012
by WaterDragonTamer
fromAmboy, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This stuff is awesome! You get a lot of substrate from one brick, and three bricks covered the bottom of my 6' by 3' terrarium about half an inch deep (so, if you have a more average-sized terrarium, like a 2' by 1.5', that would be 3" of substrate!). Also, if you mix it with some moss (I use Exo-Terra forest moss), you get a lot more volume.
As for holding in moisture, the top layer tends to dry out fairly easily, but if you mix it up once a week and mist the tank once or twice a day, you can keep the humidity between 50 and 80% depending on your setup. I have a waterfall, fogger, and an almost-solid top as well, but it should keep the humidity at around 50% by itself with regular misting.
I don't feed my reptile (Chinese water dragon) in her tank, so I couldn't say if bugs get lost in it, but I do know that it makes for a soft landing when she drops down from her branches (tank is 18" tall w/out substrate; 16" with). Also, it makes a great medium for terrarium plants that don't need too much nutrition-wise.
I definitely recommend this product for tropical species, and it is available in-stores at some locations if you don't like shopping online.
Pros: low dust, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Wonderful Substrate

October 11, 2012
by tortoiselover
fromConcord, NH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I use this substrate for my tortoise. I have tried other substrates, and this is the only one she really digs down and buries herself in.
It holds the moisture in well and I feel good that there are no chunks or pieces of debris in it that should could eat and harm her.
The only potential downside is that if it is not kept moderately moist then it can become dusty.
Overall, it is the perfect substrate for us!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

I love This!

September 22, 2012
by IAmAnimalCrazy
fromIowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is the only bedding I've used for my anole, and I'll never use a different bedding! It comes in a small brick, but there's a HUGE amount in that 1 brick. The only con about it is that it stocks to my lizard, after he goes in his water dish, but it eventually comes off.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Great for maintaining humidity

September 4, 2012
by Tarantulaowner
fromKelowna, BC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I live in a desert, and keeping humidity up in my Rose Hair Tarantula's cage was very difficult before I got this. It's one of the cheapest substrates I've ever used, too.(The reusable carpets are obviously cheaper, but they look bad and don't do anything to help humidity.) Don't put too much dry material in your cage, as it expands A LOT. I would definitely recommend this for frogs and tropical reptiles as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Ideal For Hermit Crabs

August 17, 2012
by myrab51
fromTampa, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Eco Earth is perfect for a hermie crabitat. There is a large amount in each block. Once it is soaked, it really expands. It is great for holding moisture, and does not have a funky smell. I did my 30 gallon with sand on one side and EcoEarth on the other. All of my hermit crabs always bury themselves on the EcoEarth side. They definitely prefer it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

this bedding is bad

August 5, 2012
by snakelover15
fromapple valley mn
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
dont get this bedding when u have to make it it smells really bad and its really messy and snakes dont like it
-10points
1of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Perfect for high humidity and hiding; great value

June 27, 2012
by Kelliq
fromHSV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We bought this for our 8-month-old Brazilian Rainbow Boa as a replacement for cypress mulch, which had little bugs in it. The BRB requires very high humidity and spends a large amount of time in his hide box.
Immediately I was pleased with how much substrate the brick made - it entirely covered our 40 gallon enclosure (about 2-3 inches deep on average). We keep some sphagnum moss in there as well. Together they are excellent at retaining moisture, though I believe the substrate is the main cause for that; humidity is in the high 90s compared to the 60s - 70s with cypress. We formerly spritzed daily or every other day, but have not had to a single time since switching from the mulch.
Lucius has also completely abandoned his hide box and spends all his hide time partially buried beneath the coconut husks. His favorite hide is half substrate, half moss.
The bricks are significantly cheaper than the loose coconut fibers, as each of the three bricks will subsist for a complete bedding change, compared to one bag for the same price.
100% recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

The Best for all Reptiles

June 10, 2012
by ElGallo
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I use this for my Iguana and he loves it, you can even grow plants in it! yes plants can grow in it. I grow lot of frijoles (beans) for my Iguana and he always eats them. and if you want to add a more natural setting you can buy tropical plants and just plant them in the habitat and watch them grow and your reptile will love the natural feeling to it; I recommend this product to all who want to add a little extra to their set up whether it be a small cage or a huge enclosure you can't go wrong with this product Believe it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Works great for my leopard geckos!

January 26, 2011
by cam92
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I use this for my gecko's "humid hiding spot" and they couldn't love it more. I'm amazed at how much dirt is actually in those packages, it'll last me a VERY long time.
Pros: very affordable, last a very long time, doesn't smell, retains moisture very well, geckos love it!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

awsome

December 18, 2010
by Hamsterhorse
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
i got this stuff for my anoles and it looks great mixed with flunkers farms natural moss
Pros: really nice, and u get your moneys worth
Cons: a lil dusty
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

I love-LoVe-LOVE this stuff

July 5, 2010
by JenneGibLar
fromLas Vegas, Nv
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I have probably bought a dozen-dozen of these, for all my reptiles. It's natural, it holds moisture like magic, great for digging pets, when kept moist there is no dust, it helps decompose waste, I could go on forever about the pros.
The only con is that it gets moldy, but you know if you put a pinch of salt in with the water while soaking it you virtually kill any mold or insect eggs from that beginning! SO NO CONS!
I HIGHLY recommend this for EVERY REPTILE
Pros: great moisture, soft and easy to dig in, decomposes waste, easy to store untill needed, add salt and there is no mold or insects!
Cons: dusty when dry (you shouldn't let it dry anyway!)
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

the best substrate!

April 11, 2010
by Mandarin
fromBay Area, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This substrate is perfect for pets that need a humid enclosure and burrow. My Pacman frog loves to be partially covered in the substrate, and it keeps the humidity in her tank at the desired level. It is also fairly easy to clean, and a pack of three blocks can provide for five or more complete substrate changes, depending on the size of you pet's enclosure. This substrate is easy to prepare and your pets will love it!
Pros: keeps humidity, easy to clean, easy to prepare, good for burrowers
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Value Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Perfect for Hermit Crabs

May 17, 2009
by Crabber
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
All 7 of my hermit crabs love this. It is great to dig in, fantastic for molting, and holds in humidity very well. Plus, one brick expands a lot and makes enough substrate for a 20-gallon tank! If you don't like the earthy smell, though, it may take a while to get used to. It can also clump sometimes if it gets too dry.
I'd also recommend mixing this with regular playsand for a nice mix in hermit crab habitats. I use a 60% EE, 40% playsand mix for mine and my hermit crabs love it.
All in all, this is a great product. Definitely check it out!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next