PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

T-Rex Crab Island Substrate

Premium substrates for hermit crabs and other reptiles and amphibians.
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
11 of 14(79%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Review 1 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

great

February 26, 2014
by Kittycatlovercover
fromWinnipeg Canada, wc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
i recpmmend it now its great for your hermit crabs. but if you dont change it unce and a while your going to see some bugs of corse because its wet bugs like water.
Pros: looks great
Cons: messy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

love it!!!!

January 25, 2014
by anolelover101
fromTunkhannock, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Looks awesome.Although it is messy I have to say my green anole lizard loves it.She likes to burrow in it and it looks great in my terriam and it goes along with the tropical seenery great I highly recommend it.:) <3
Pros: looks great
Cons: messy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Mites Burrow Underneath This Substrate

December 25, 2013
by Savethecrabs
fromMount Laurel, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
After 4 months I started to see mites, (tiny white pests) appear all over the tank and in the substrate. I do not recommend this product at all.
Cons: messy
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Hermit Crab Substrate

December 9, 2013
by tmart00
fromTX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
My hermit crabs love this stuff and can burrow easy.
Pros: looks great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Its great

March 14, 2013
by micronat
fromMonterey bay
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Don't listen to the haters because this stuff is great! Great for hermit crabs!
Pros: looks great
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Horrible

October 21, 2012
by GoBudgiesGo
fromFl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
I put the bedding in my hermie cage, after a while i kept finding bugs in the bedding.
Pros: looks great
Cons: price, messy
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Mix this with Cypress Bedding

August 26, 2012
by Rachel31177
fromRaleigh, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
My crabs prefer this mixed with cypress bedding over sand. It holds in humidity better, and it really does resist mold. I had a couple bags for a month before i used them and they still had some moisture when i opened them-and no mold! I really like it and more importantly so do my crabs!
Pros: looks great
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Almost perfect!!

June 28, 2012
by Hermitlover6669031
fromSaratoga,NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I got this for my hermit crab a few days ago, i just got him but what i had at first got in his water a lot and didnt help humidity wise. He would try to get everywere on his climbing thing and wouldnt go on the sand, but now he goes on the substrate all the time! it helps with the humidity a lot! the only issue is that it still goes in the water a bit but not as much.It looks ok but is a bit hard to clean. Its a great price!!
Cons: messy
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Amazing!!!

March 16, 2012
by HermieLuver
fromPhoenix, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I love this stuff!!! The only thing I use for my hermies!!! Cheap too!!! :)
Pros: looks great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

lots of humidity

April 22, 2011
by dallie
fromwarwick ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I got the jungle version.
I use this for my hermit crabs. it holds water very well and gives off a lot of humidity.one of my hermit hermit crabs already dugg its self all the way to the bottom of my tank i think it is going to molt.
Pros: looks great
Cons: messy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

This stuff is awesome!

November 8, 2009
by HermitGuy101
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My hermit crabs love this stuff! I HIGHLY recommend it! It will keep up humidity when moist, and my crabs love playing around in it! I do half cypress bed, half play Sand! They love it!!!!
Pros: good for burrowing, keeps up humidity
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

GREAT!!!!!!

June 27, 2009
by crabber551
fromOxnard, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I love this product! When I used sand for my hermit crab cage;My shy hermit crab never really came out of his hermit crab hut, but when I put this in there cage, my shy hermit crab became the most outgoing hermit crab.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

October 16, 2008
by crabmama
fromDE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The mulch version is a poor choice as substrate for land hermit crabs. It does not allow for tunneling which is necessary for LHC to have healthy molts. I suggest play sand and/or Eco Earth.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for T-Rex Crab Island Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

CRABBIES LOVE IT!!

May 25, 2007
by Megg
fromSpringfield,MO
I started a new home for my crabbies and put in the Jungle version.
It smells great, keeps in moisture, allows for burrowing and even my shy crabbie liked it.
GREAT VALUE TOO!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.