PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Emperor Power Aquarium Filters

First power filter to combine high-end performance with multiple filtration options.
Overall rating:
3.985 / 5
4
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 63
46 of 65(71%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Review 1 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Awsome Filter

September 12, 2006
by TheFishGuy
fromDenver, Colorado
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
I used this filter on a 30 gallon tank for four years and I have been so impressed with it. I have never had a problem with this filter and it keeps my tank crystal clear. I have used wet/dry filters, canister filters, and many power filters and this is far the best one I have used. Highly recommend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

emperor 400

January 16, 2014
by abc321
fromwi.
What is your gender?M
I have been using a 400 for over 30 years. Had to replace the impuler twice. What a great filter system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Power Filtration Survives!

January 11, 2014
by arlum
fromSt. Charles, MO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I've been a fan of "Power Filtration" for over 30 years and have watched as newer methods like canisters etc. have slowly replaced it as the filtration method of choice. I like an aquatic setup that adds current in the tank. Moving water for the fish to swim against just like the natural rivers and streams they come from. I don't raise Angelfish or Leaf fish or any fish that likes to float in a calm tub of bathwater. I like a tank sporting hardy fish that show with the energy of life.
Marineland is one of the last holdouts to continue to produce power filters. Yes. They also make the newer products but they haven't given up on the old. I've used the Penguin 350 for years and recently upgraded to the Emperor 400 and the difference is amazing. The flow is about the same as the P 350 but with much less noise and a better box design that includes extra slots for added media as well as a very smart design that sprays water directly on the BIO wheels to keep them evenly wet and constantly turning. The BIO wheels on the P 350 models tend to become unevenly weighted and stop turning. With the tube sprays provided in the Emperor box this problem has been addressed and corrected.
Another point of consideration is the depth, (front to back), of the box. P 350s, (while very good filters in their own right), leave only a small amount of space behind the filter pads and this causes a buildup along the sides and rear of the compartment as the waste material doesn't have enough room to remain free until reaching the filter pad. While the tank receives excellent filtration the design doesn't allow a quick swap of the filter pads to remove all captured material. The Emperor 400 is deep enough to allow the debris to swirl around behind the pad until it can finally be collected by the pad itself. Much less ends up coating the walls of the filter box.
I've owned better Power filters in the past but they've long been out of production. Of those that remain I'm tempted to say the Emperor 400 is the best available at this time. I do hope Marineland continues this line for some time to come. Watching an aquarium with no internal water current is like watching a painting and waiting for it to do something.
If you're looking to create an environment for fish that live in rivers or streams and want to see them in their natural state you'll need a power filter and, of those still being made ..... I strongly recommend the Emperor 400.
Rick
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Amazing Performance

January 9, 2014
by Tawwny
fromIllinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I don't usually leave reviews but I felt I needed to for this product. I've tried a few different filtration systems on my 29gal tank with poor results. I always ended up doing 50%-85% water changes every 3 days due to the high bio load of my fish. I have a Shubunkin and two small Koi (6-7"). I know Koi are not aquarium fish-it's a temp home until they get a bit bigger and I move them to the pond. I came across the Emporer 400 and decided to give it a try and I'm not sorry I did. Filling the media cartridges with carbon was a bit messy and the filters are expensive but it has kept my tank crystal clear with only the usual 20% weekly water changes and gravel grooming. It's not as quiet as my other filters but it's not loud enough to disturb me. The tank is in my bedroom and I read and sleep just fine. Will definately buy another for my next setup.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 65 reviews

LEAKED

January 8, 2014
by wadi
fromOrlando
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Purchased this filter and was extremely disappointed with the product. Water leaked through the power cord after I filled the filter buckets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

great product

December 2, 2013
by kennyw
fromTerre Haute, IN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought 3 and 2 of them work great! Have them in my 75 gallon and 150 gallon tanks. I like how they work. Filter great! The other one was missing the bio wheel barrings all 4. And missing the clips on the water tube to the bio wheels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

A Workhorse

November 6, 2013
by Spike89
fromLebanon, Ohio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
I have the Penguin 200 That came in a kit with one of my Marineland Aquariums. It is easy to clean, allows for use of two filter cartridges at a time. The Biowheel is a great addition which allows continued growth of good bacteria.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Had this filter for over 15 years!!!

May 7, 2013
by fisherman983475
fromkentucky
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
we bought this filter thinking the bio wheel can keep the xx waste in my 40 gallon tank. first we had a aquaclear but we had to toss it within 6 weeks. then we decided to try marineland. it works A LOT better! you would really love it!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Best Filter

March 25, 2013
by card
fromTulsa, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
I have owned my Emperor for over 8 years (NO JOKE) and still works as well if not better than the day I purchased it. If you take proper care of something
it will last you a lifetime.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 65 reviews

Missing parts

February 26, 2013
by Benhamin
fromNaugatuck, CT
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Purchased this product based on reviews and word of mouth. Opened the box and the bio-wheels were missing. Not bothering to get any replacement parts. First, and last, Marineland filter for me. Will stick with Aqueon products from now on.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 65 reviews

Good idea, bad execution

January 29, 2013
by dagnabbit
fromTexas, USA
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 65 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 65 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 65 reviews
I bought the Emperor 400 for my 55 gallon freshwater tank.
GOOD: 1. Great filtration with two biowheels, and the ability to use whatever filter media you want in the baskets. 2. The price is also great for a large filter!
BAD: 1. NOISE! Holy guacamole! There is no way a person could be expected to live with a machine this loud in their house! I have my tank in my living room, where my TV is, and I have to turn my TV way up in order to hear it. I looked up the problem online, and many people have had the same issue. Apparently Marineland will send you a replacement impeller, as the noise is coming from the impeller hitting another piece of plastic. I have notified Marineland and am waiting for my replacement part; I will leave an update if that solves the problem. However, I have to live with the noise until that happens--if you don't want this hassle, then don't buy this filter! 2. The box says it "filters up to 90 gallon tank" so I figured it would fit my 55 gallon fine. The whole intake valve is way too long for a 55 gallon, so I had to only partially assemble it and my intake now sits at mid-tank level. 3. It is HUGE. As a hang-on-back filter, I am going to have to empty much of my tank and move it about 6 inches away from the wall in order to accommodate this filter! It does not fit on the shorter sides of a 55 gallon tank (too big).
SUMMARY: If you must have a hang-on-tank filter, try it out (knowing you might need to order the replacement part). Better idea would be to go with a canister filter instead.
Cons: didn't work
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Amazing Filter

January 28, 2013
by Shirobird
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
If you are trying to find the perfect filter, just stop here now. Buy this one. You will not regret it. I used this same filter for my 55 gallon tank, and my cleaning maintenance has been minimal thanks to this filter! It's well worth your money!
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 65 reviews

What used to be perfection is now junk

January 19, 2013
by dogsandfish
fromok
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I've had many marine aquariums and always used Emperor 400s. After getting out of the hobby for 5 or 6 years, I decided I missed it, so I got a 90 gal. Since Emperor 400s were perfect in the past, of course I got 2 400s for my new tank.
Utter, total, complete junk. Neither of them would prime. Period. Finally, after messing around for literally an entire afternoon, one started running correctly and 24 hours later, is doing fine. The other one...NOPE. Junk.
I have tried everything and no go. Tried to call the manufactuer but I got in an hour long queue. That ain't gonna happen on my time.
This is frustrating beyond belief, especially since Emperors used to be such a great product.
I'll be shopping for a different brand.
Cons: didn't work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

great filter

January 11, 2013
by jjjmobley
fromRock Hill
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This filter was quiet and keeps my water clear and clean love it!!!
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 65 reviews

Not All That

October 24, 2012
by JoshuaG
fromSalem, Oregon
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 65 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 65 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 65 reviews
I was really disappointed with this filter. For the money I expected higher quality. Maintainence is not exactly a walk in the park. Like anything it has pros and cons. The reusable filter frames are a great idea but you have to be VERY selective when choosing media if you don't want it in your tank. Water flow is awsome but you might find that it sucks up a lot of th fish food before they get to eat it. I have been using them on 3 of my tanks, but the love has gone away. I intend on replacing them with canister filters.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: hard to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

You will fall in love

June 1, 2012
by Latin2012
fromHartford,Connecticut
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a 40 gallon breeder tank and before I bough this it was a nightmare !!!! trying to keep the water clean but now with only a partial water tank every 3 weeks my water is crystal clean !!! been thinking to move up and start a salt water tank soon.. Don't think about it and BUY IT..
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
Cons: hard to clean, didn't work, Hard to Install
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

the absolute best

April 3, 2012
by jpdow
fromBurlington, VT
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Awsome all around
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Best Filter I have come across

March 5, 2012
by OscarLoverChester
fromJoplin, MO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I CAN NOT STRESS ENOUGH HOW MUCH I LOVE THIS FILTER. A MUST BUY IF YOU WANT AN AQUARIUM MINUS THE HASSLE.
I have a 45 gallon tank with five fish and always had issues keeping it clean. Since I bought this filter my water is no longer murky, but crystal clear even without the use of chemicals. Its great that you are able to put 4 pieces of media not including the biowheels (two slots on each side). In the past I tried two power filters both rated for 50 gallons, but nothing touches this filter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Best HOB filter

January 25, 2012
by stevenjohn21
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This filter is the dogs danglies ! I bought this filter for a 40 gallon turtle tank and it kept it sparkling clean. I upgraded to a 75 gallon and it still kept it sparkling clean. . . . i recently bought a 125 gallon tank and along with a AC 110 it still keeps it clean. When i do my monthly filter clean i can tell the emperor has been working overtime as the color of the cartridges are far dirtier than the AC 110. This filter IMO is the best HOB filter money can buy. . . . . full stop !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Emperor Power Aquarium Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Great Filter

May 1, 2011
by tom250sd
fromIndianapolis,IN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have one of these Emperor 400 in both of my turtle tanks,the turtle tanks r 40 L,they r great power filters, they keep the water crystal clear for a month or longer, super quiet operation, great product to use,tried other filters but there's no match to this filter, Thanks
Pros: easy to clean, easy to install, works great
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next