PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter

Use in a freshwater or marine aquarium to achieve crystal clear water. Powerful yet quiet operation.
Overall rating:
3.952 / 5
4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 19
15 of 21(71%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Review 1 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

20+ Yrs of use

June 29, 2013
by KenNEj
fromJohnstown, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
OMG, how anyone can say this mechanism is loud, I do not understand. We have been running our Magnum 350 now for over 3 yrs without any noise. The previous one was for 25+ yrs. The only reason we no longer have it, we moved & got rid of most aquatics, so we started over. We now have a 10gal feeder, 20gal freshwater, 40gal Cichlid & the newest is a 75gal cornerflow w/20gal sump saltwater. The 55gal salt is a quarantine tank previously used for Cichlids, then turned it to a salt prior to the 75. The Magnum is on the 55gal and works great!!! Fresh or Salt. Never had an issue, seals are tight, no salt creep, nothing, so if you are looking a filter this is a great choice. No fuss no muss if you hear noise did you overfill with carbon & get it in the impeller? this would be the only reason we could think of it being noisy. This has happened to us & took it apart right away and cleaned it out, no more noise. We love it!
Pros: works great, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

November 23, 2012
by tballard
fromellenville ny
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews
Had this filter for some time.It's hard to prime and makes a lot of noise.I have mine in the basement so you can't hear it.I have replaced the canister three time so far because the the tabs that hold the top on break.Looking for a new filter now.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

don't believe the negative

February 22, 2012
by deserthobbyist
fromphoenix,az
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
First of all I almost didn't buy this filter due to reading the reviews on this site. But then I figured if it was really as difficult to assemble I could always return it to the store I purchased it from. I let my trust for marineland products convince me to go ahead with it. It is one of the better decisions I made regarding my aquarium. While it does take time to assemble I found it not be anywhere near as difficult as was mentioned in other reviews. The instructions are easy to follow and I had no trouble understanding a thing. The only problem I had was my own error in over filling it with carbon which clogged the water flow when I first started it. Once I removed the overfill it worked like a charm. Just don't block the center cylinder with carbon. This is a great product and the amount of gph of filtration can't be beat for the price.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Hi5 Marineland

February 13, 2012
by PetCareAssociate
fromOklahoma City, OK
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
As one of the first canisters i saw on our shelf from Marineland i thought i would give it a try. About two years later and no problems. It isn't one that I recommend for beginners, or the advanced who have used canisters before. It is a bit difficult to set up for beginners and without modifications will not satisfy those who have been in the trade for a while. it isn't exactly multi-stage like their new filters. But, without the mods and working along side a hang-on power filter it worked great for my 75 gal. Why add a hang on filter? Unless you have plants to provide extra oxygen I would not recommend just the canister.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

Worked great for awhile

January 25, 2012
by DulcieC
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have owned this filter for about 6 months now filtering a 75 gallon fresh water tank. Tonight I'm done. As with the other reviewers who gave this filter poor ratings, I have to agree 100% that it is too complicated to assemble. Way too many parts that are ill-fitting at best. I'm not an aquarium newbie, but new to canister filters. I did get it assembled and working in the tank and it worked very well for about 2 months. Then came the first cleaning and medium change. What a hassle! Water everywhere, difficult reassembly, still thought it was worth it. But then it stopped functioning as well and in the last 2 months it has stopped pumping water at least 4 or 5 times. Trying to figure out why and get it restarted has been a nightmare. Tonight I ended up with several gallons of water all over my family room floor while trying to disassemble it again. I'm done. It might be user error but I don't have time for a filter that requires this much maintenance and skill. I don't know what I'm going to try next but it won't be a Marineland product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

Cumbersome and Complicated

January 1, 2012
by MollyGill
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I've never been so prompted to write a product review until I just tried this product. Upon opening the box, I was immediately overwhelmed by the number of pieces and parts in the contents. There were SO many pieces. SO many parts. And the media was only charcoal and micron filter pad - no substrat for beneficial bacteria.
Even with my initial thought to pack it up and return it to the store, I decided to give it a shot. But putting it together was not easy at all, and I spent about 2 1/2 hours on it before ultimately giving up and taking it back to the store.
I exchanged it for an Eheim Ecco - and wow, I was smiling when I opened the box and immediately knew this would be no problem at all. Everything was EASY, the filter is of much higher quality, and I had the whole thing put together and installed in my tank in about 30 minutes.
The Magnum is probably great for polishing, but it's way overpriced for a regular filter. And not worth the frustration of putting it together. I also thought the parts were of cheap material. Spend the few extra dollars and get yourself an Eheim.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Instructions are backwards.

January 30, 2011
by foresaken
fromCleveland, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Putting this together was all fine til I got to the in and out take lines. Its written wrong and there is not a good enough picture to show you how it should look finished.
If you are having problems with it: in the filter the outtake line is the one that has the black pole coming up from the motor.
That was the part that was backwards in my instructions. It was listed as the intake and it just will not work that way lol.
Hope this helps.
Its a great filter thou, just that one flaw that can be a lil confusing. My water is cystral clear in a 60gal south american cichlid tank. I've had it for about a month.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Magnum 350 is Excellent!

January 22, 2011
by Blueangel08
fromKnoxville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased this canister filter for a 56 gallon aquarium that houses 4 goldfish a couple of weeks ago. It is absolutely amazing!
My water is crystal clear, I have no algae, my goldfish are quite happy with the circulation, and my water parameters are perfect.
I thought installation was relatively easy. This is my first time ever owning a canister, and it took me 30 minutes to put it together. It comes with a poster of all the parts, showing how everything fits together.
The biggest drawbacks are #1.) "technically," it only has one place for bio media, but you can manage to layer different types. However, it's very limited and #2.) You have to "burp" the thing to get it to work correctly after taking off the lid, turning it off, etc. You have to turn it on its side, upside down, etc to eliminate all of the air bubbles.
Other than those two drawbacks, I really like this filter. For the price and the amount of GPH, it is amazing!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

Spend a Little Extra for an Eheim

December 28, 2010
by Ostara
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
I bought this canister for an 80 gallon heavily planted discus tank, liking that it had a higher flow rate and a water polishing attachment. Definitely a poor choice on my part.
Upon unpacking everything you are left with a ton of rather flimsy parts and an under-descriptive set of instructions for putting everything together. I am quite handy at assembling things but this was still time-consuming, taking over an hour to get everything set. Attempting to tighten and attach the parts well enough to try to make them watertight was also quite painful on the hands, and the parts weren't sturdy enough to use pliers.
It took a few tries to get it primed and going, and even when it was set it made a horrible loud noise that the cupboard couldn't stifle, sort of a grinding hum. I immediately looked up solutions on the internet from others who had problems with it and tried them all, but nothing stopped the obnoxious noise. It also leaked, as the components for attaching the hoses and valves are completely inadequate for forming a watertight seal. Unless you find another method for securing them, they WILL leak. When I disconnected it to return it it sprayed water everywhere even though it should have been sealed off.
After returning it I purchased instead the Eheim canister that I had been considering. It was close in price and the difference in quality and ease of use is astonishing. The parts are all much better made, showing just how cheap and flimsy the Magnum's parts really are. It took me all of ten minutes to have hoses cut and attached, media inserted, and the filter placed, primed, and running. It cleared an 80 gallon tank full of murk from plant substrate and driftwood tannins in no time flat.
Lesson learned on my part. A word of advice to anyone considering this: Spend a few more bucks and go with the Eheim instead. It'll be the best couple of bucks you'll spend and save you a lot of trouble.
Pros: none
Cons: leaks, cheap construction, difficult to assemble, loud
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Polishes well

August 17, 2010
by JP19937
fromWashington
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
I've had this filter for nearly 6 years now and I can tell you two things about it. It polishes the water very well and the bio wheels work wonderfully. The only negative thing about it is the diffuser as it doesn't provide much flow especially if you have a tall or long tank my 120 is both. It also has a 100g rating but I think it's more suited for something 75g and down. I use it in combination with a rena xp3 on my tank with one at each end and the water is always crystal clear. It was definitely worth the $100 I paid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Fantastic Filter >> Big Bang for the buck

November 30, 2009
by CatFishCatFish
fromChicago,IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
This filter is unbelievable, I love it. I had one of these “hang on the edge of the tank” type of filters and my water was constantly filthy even with weekly gravel vacuuming and 1/3 water changes. I purchased this water filter and installed the sponge “Rite Size” filter over the polishing filter, it fits perfectly, and it prevents quick clogging of the water polishing filter. I changed ½ of the water in my tank while vacuuming my gravel. Even after the water change the water was still very cloudy with various debris, but I did not want to do the 100% change. I turned on the filter and “Oh Baby” this thing really moves a lot of water and cleans it fast, after about 3 hours most of the junk was gone. The next day the water was so clean it looks like there is no water at all. I will buy another one of these without thinking if need be. I looked at Rena XP3 and Eheim 2217 both are comparable but I really love this magnum. Make sure to soak the end of the hoses for 20 seconds in very hot water before trying to insert them over the filter and valve attachments it’s much easier that way. Make sure to "Burp" the filter until you get all the bubbles out, its pretty silent after that.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

SIMPLE CRYSTAL CLEAR WATER

August 10, 2009
by OSCARFISHIES
fromPeachtree city , GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
First of I walked into store and they price matched an online retailer and sold it to me for $89.99 WHAT A DEAL!!!!! I followed the instructions and had it running in 30 minutes. This is my first canister filter! My water has NEVER been cleaner!
Maintenance is simple turn off the motor turn off the double tap valves and clean. NO LEAKS NO SPILLS! I have read quite a few poor reviews I am glad they didn't stop me from buying!!!
FOR $89.99 5 STARS
2 oscars, 2 plecos, 3 tinfoil barbs
2 200 Marineland bio wheel HOB/ 1 Marineland 350 canister
75 gallons of beauty!!!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

July 7, 2009
by asmga
fromAtlanta, GA
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
I purchased this filter in a PetSmart store and the first thing I noticed was the difficulty putting it together - it took me somewhere between 2 and 2 1/2 hours from start to finish. The directions are out of order; it seems to instruct you to put this together in the hardest way possible. Once I had the canister assembled however, it filtered well for a few days, turning my water from cloudy to crystal clear and absolving the tank of an abnormal odor. However, after a few days of operation, the filter became excessively noisy and started to leak everywhere that the hoses had been cut to connect to the water-flow-control-valves. (Because, it must also be noted, the hose does not come pre-cut for your convenience. You must cut the hose in half, and then cut 5 inches away from each half, and then two more cuts to fit your tank, allowing for no more than 2 inches of slack.) I tried dissambly and re-assembly and was able to rid the noisiness, but not the leaking. Waterproof silicone did not absolve the leaking either, so now I am exchanging the filter for a different model. Overall, I would NOT recommend. Assembly is aggravating and disassembly for maintenance is MAJOR trouble.
Pros: crystal clear water, powerful waterflow
Cons: bad assembly directions, hose not precut, prone to leaking, prone to excessive noisiness, difficult and time consuming to assemble, inconvenient to maintain
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

GREAT

December 25, 2008
by AquaDude757
fromMiddletown, Delaware
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
This filter makes owning a fish tank so much easier. You hardly ever have to change the water in the tank. I change the water maybe once every 1 to 2 months if that. The filter comes with two diffrent types of filtration systems and everything is included you dont have to buy anything extra. It is just overall a great product. I have had no problems with it so far.
Pros: keeps tank very clean
Cons: a little tricky to put together, hard to get water tight at first
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

A functional design that works well

April 11, 2008
by flstffxe
fromC.R., MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
The design makes this canister filter user friendly. Not to say it doesn't have room for improvement, every thing we buy could be improved these days. The canister holding the filter and media can be separated from the pump motor by turning the unit off and has some quick disconnects for the hoses running to the tank, which then allows you to take the canister portion to a sink/tub to perform the maintenance on it. To get it to self prime, fill it to or above the line running around the canister ~75-85% of being full. Very little water is lost in the maintenance process. The ares that could use some improvement are: 1. The disconnects, they feel like they may be prone to breaking after a couple of years. I replaced mine with a set of garden hose disconnects from the hardware store. 2. The discharge pipe is a little short for my liking and could be a inch or two deeper in the tank. 3. The carbon media that comes with the filter does plug up easily. None of these short falls have prevented me from buying another one as they are easily over come. The 350GPH flow rate is hard to beat for the $$. If buying it in the store bring a print out of the online add and have them price match it for you: $90 online $150 in store, at my time of purchase.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

MAGNUM CANISTER FILTER 350 DELUXE by MARINELAND

May 8, 2007
by BOBKEL
fromINDIANA,47875
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
MY WIFE PURCHASED THIS FILTER FOR ME AS A CHRISTMAS GIFT. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS FILTER TO A BEGINER OR AN OLD HAND AT TAKING CARE OF AN AQUIRIUM. IT DOES A FANTASTIC JOB AT KEEPING YOUR TANK AT IT'S BEST. THE MICRON FILTER KEEPS THE WATER IN MY 55 GALLON TANK WITH 23 FISH SPARKLING CLEAN. MONEY WELL SPENT. I WOULD NOT BE WITHOUT ONE.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

This may help

March 2, 2007
by SLIARMOR
fromEastpointe
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I own two of the 350 Magnum pro's. first off I have been keeping Fish for 34 year now, most of the fish in My 150 gal. that were not born in the tank, I got them when I set up this 150 in 1999 So You got it they are 8 years old. well anyway I like the 350 and also the Bio Wheels, I have had better luck with them than the sand filters. the only thing I did not like about the 350 is it got slowed down to fast and needed to be cleaned a little to often, I found that it is not the filter pad that gets clogged as much as it is the charcoal, So if You own one of these try this replace the charcoal they give you with the filter and replace it with a box of Fluval Pre - Filter Media they flow great and run twice as long and seem to do a great job along with the Bio - Wheels good luck.
Don
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Good Filter

December 4, 2006
by Chloebug
fromLos Angeles
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
I use this on my turtle tank and it's pretty good! Once I got the hang of disconnecting it and hooking back up after cleaning, it's a breeze! :)
Only thing I wish could be changed is the length of the intake tube... my tank is huge and it's not quite long enough for me.
But excellent filter!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Throw away your vortex filters!

November 20, 2006
by AlbatrosS
fromMD
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
This is a great filter and the micron inner cartidge serves well. I used to have a seperate vortex filter to make my water sparkle, but this filter does a rather decent job at that.
I do not like its water output (not a lot of filtered water comes out of the diffuser) and have supplemented it with a powerhead for water movement.
Overall a great product.
The easy disconnect tubes are wonderful, no more water spills during cleaning sessions!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Marineland Magnum 350 Canister Filter
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews