PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters

These filters feature complete 3-stage filtration, virtually no bypass and work with freshwater or marine aquariums. For 30, 55, and 100 gallon aquariums.
Overall rating:
4.439 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 37
35 of 41(85%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Review 1 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Excellent Product

February 12, 2014
by PDD68NY
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I have found this to be the easiest and nicest product for my 28 gallon tank, as my filtering system. It just took a matter of minutes for the tank to become crystal clear as compared to the product that was sold to me when I bought the tank. The product was easy to assemble and fully understand its use. The directions and CD provides full information that I found to be extremely helpful. I would highly recommend this product for anyone using a 28 gallon tank or a tank of higher recommendations for its use.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Worth the money

December 29, 2013
by Laxer
fromMaryland
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Best filter. The video was really helpful and keeps the water really clear. Hardly makes a sound
Pros: works great, easy to install
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Marineland 360 canister filter

December 18, 2013
by Jpkolson
fromChamplin Minnesota
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Easy set up watch the DVD before you set up it helps water is crystal clear very quite I have a 55 gallon cichlids tank well worth the money
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

it's great

December 18, 2013
by fishyh
fromSnow Hill Md.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Had it less than a week and my very murky tank is now crystal clear. My fish even look happier. I have had many filters over the years and this is the best thing I have ever used. Super easy to set up too.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Impressed

December 15, 2013
by supreme21
fromND
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 41 reviews
Bought this for a 20 gallon long tank for 1 large goldfish. Had a Fluval HOB that kept up until the past few months.. recent cloudy water I could not get rid of. Daily water changes and maintenance couldn't make a difference.
This is my first canister filter.. I was hesitant for spending this kind of money. Fairly simple to set up, just follow the vague directions and use your own discretion. Mine leaked like a sieve once I got it running. Had to mop up a bunch of water out of the carpet, re-check and re-seal everything and it's been running great since.
Took about 3, 4 days, but surprisingly, the tank is crystal clear now. I've only had it for a few weeks now, so I can't vouch for the longevity and maintenance on it, but it's cleared up my p00p-factory-goldfish's tank.
Pros: works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

October 27, 2013
by 977mary
fromHammond IN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
This filter is great I have four of them highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews

Good Filter

October 14, 2013
by roshski
fromWestern New York
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 41 reviews
Once I finally got the filter all set up and primed, the filter works great. It was the set up that was kind of a pain. the inlet and outlet are not marked so I originally had them backwards, not a big deal. But what was a big deal was there was a piece of plastic stuck inside the pump to the point where I had to take the pump apart and retrieve it. Now, good flow and circulation. Quite happy with pump !
Pros: works great, easy to clean
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Big difference.

October 9, 2013
by DennisL
fromEncinitas, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Switching over from under gravel and in tank filters to this product made a huge difference. The water is crystal clear. The set up is easy, and simple to detach for cleaning. Since the return flow pressure was not what I hoped, I added a Marineland power head to create more current. My aquarium looks like a mountain stream. Great product.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Excellent

August 6, 2013
by Russel
fromCypress, Tx
What is your gender?M
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Wow, just replaced my HOB filters on a 55 gal freshwater tank with the C220. I'm planning on adding a second since the C220 is rated up to 55 gal. However, after about 36 hours, my water is cleaner than it has ever been. Everyone one in the house keeps commenting that it's so clean it looks weird. This my first canister filter and so far I think it's great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Very surprised

July 5, 2013
by PatInGA
fromMilton, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 41 reviews
I needed to get a replacement canister filter since I was sending my Fluval 206 for repair because it was leaking. I went to my local Petsmart to see if they had any Eheim filters but they did not and the girl working there recommended the Marineland as she had one. I got the C-160 for my 36 gal corner tank. After one month I found it keeps the water extremely clean (better than the Fluval) and changing the media was very easy. The initial setup and priming took some work. Once I get the Fluval back, I probably will keep the Marineland on my tank and keep the Fluval as a backup.
Pros: works great, easy to clean
Cons: Hard to Install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Great Filter (if you give it a try)

June 10, 2013
by FragOutMan
fromKingsport, TN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ok, I am a Canister Filter "virgin"... or should I say WAS. I remember my first aquarium in the late 80s had an old fashioned Box Filter (yeah, you remember how somehow the darn thing either clogged or wanted to float all the time). After a few years (and a few new aquariums), I gave the Underground Filter a try. It was an improvement but really didn't work with live plants, and the "fake" plants then looked...well... fake. Eventually I upgraded to the HOB (hang-on-back) Filters. So for a decade or so, I thought that I'd finally found a type of filter that was easy to use, maintain, and wasn't a noisy piece of equipment. Well, I'd been timid to try out a canister filter based on people's remarks about leaking, noise, cheap materials, etc... Well, I have to say, I bought my 1st Canister Filter in March (model C-220) for a 55g Cichlid tank when the HOB finally bit the dust after 4 good years. I can not believe what I was missing based on other people's reviews. It is easy to set up and maintain PLUS it is quiet (it's like it isn't even there). So, before you discard this filter, you should try it out...
Now, first issue I'll address.... People watch the DVD that comes with it... it's broken down in Chapters and the man on it doesn't use BIG words and you won't need a Phd to understand it. Second issue is some people claim it's noisy. Well that is probably either trapped air or the ceramic rings clanking together (which I actually put in a mesh bag in the tray to prevent this) Third issue people have is cheap parts. Which I totally disagree with. Every part of this filter is sturdy and well made. Fourth issue I've read about is leakage. Now this was my main concern with getting a Canister Filter. I have NOT had any kind of leakage since setting mine up. The only EXCEPTION is when you are doing maintenance and removing the valve block, it would be advisable to have a small bucket underneath it to catch any drips (common sense). So, I hope that before you discard this filter based on someone else's review, you give it a try. Worst case scenario: You don't like it and have to return it.... BUT best case scenario: you will not only have a quiet, efficient, and easy to maintain filter, you'll be happy thus your fish will be too. And that's the whole point in having an aquarium, Right? I'm so happy with mine, I have already replaced all my HOBs with Canisters.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 41 reviews

Cheap Quality

February 11, 2013
by ReefKeeper
fromTampa, Florida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Well, The title should say it. The canister is made very cheaply. I felt like I was going to break it putting it together. But, I was optimistic... Especially, It was on sale. . . I took it home, Cleaned everything, Than installed it onto my reef tank. My first problem besides the cheap quality, was when I started to try and Prime the filter. Immediately after the filter began to actually fill with water(which took for ever) it started to leak water out of the priming button every time I push it. So, Than keeping up with my optimism. I kept moving along. I plugged the filter in. It flowed greatly and was pretty quiet. But that I unplugged it for a moment to adjust some things and began to hear water. . . Which as we all know isn't a good thing. Come to find out it was leaking like crazy from the motor gasket. No matter what I did it just keep leaking! I traded it out for a Fluval 306. It is so much nicer!!! Extremely quiet and easy to mess with. Also, The Fluval isn't as cheaply put together.
Cons: didn't work
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Great , Quiet filter

February 5, 2013
by Castleslayer
fromCanada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I bought the C360 model, works awesome , been up and running for a month now, very quiet , powerful, easy to clean , the fine replacemant pads are available at ur Pet Smart stores , just have to change the fine white cleaning pad every month, the Carbon charcol, I am going to buy extra , and recharge the media bags of ammo carb i replaced , you are getting a great filter for your money.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Excellent Product! Great Store Too! Petsmart Rocks

January 17, 2013
by LawManMac
fromColumbus Ohio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
The set up was quick and easy, and the filter is very quiet, works well.....
50G Tank, with Freshwater Fish
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Marine-land is built for quality

January 11, 2013
by Gearhart
fromFlorda
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I've owned my 125 gallon aquarium for a few years now. While having this aquarium I've used 2 Marine-land magnum 350 canister filter. This was a fantastic filter but also had a few draw backs. But after my last one broke i finally decided to give the C-360 canister a go and i could not be happier! maintenance is a breeze, easy to start up, and my water couldn't be clearer. I own several turtles and given how dirty they can make a tank,I've just purchased my 2nd one and am excited to have both installed!
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Great filter!

July 30, 2012
by MaybeInTime
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Love the Marineland 360's. I have 1, one for my 30gal salt tank and 90gal fresh tank. First purchased a fluval for the salt tank and had nothing but problems with it, got a marineland for the fresh tank and loved it so much I got rid of the fluval asap to replace it for a marineland. Its much quieter running, has a better internal set-up to actually force the water through all the media, has a handle so it can easily be carried from room to room for cleaning, extra clasps to hold the top down also help remove it for cleaning so youre not reefing on it or using a pry-bar to get it apart. Wasn't happy with the carbon it came with, checked on the filter pad in a week after install and it was black from the carbon, so those just got tossed and replaced with another brand of carbon but thats nothing to do with the preformance of the filter. Love it love it love it!
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

June 13, 2012
by smay
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I have had a lot of fish tanks in the past so i have tried every filter out their and this one is the best i have ever used I have 2 55gal tanks and a 10gal. my tanks stay crystal clear with this filter. I love it, dont have to use any kind of cemacials.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Its good

April 5, 2012
by Norfleet81
fromspringfield ohio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
I like this filter. I have a 90 gal. tank and I did have two power filters on it. I thought that was good enough until I did my water changes and two weeks later I was doing it again. Well I bought the C-360 after looking online at filters and this one works perfect
Pros: works great, easy to clean
Cons: Hard to Install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews

marinland canister filter

June 13, 2010
by jmr11
fromcolorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
This product is awsome. I switched from the external power filter because I couldn't stand the vibration/humming noise it produced. I bought the c220 model for my 46 gallon. Assembled it which a monkey can d,o and started right up. I left the old filter run with the new one running as well to get it established without ammo spikes for 2 weeks and removed the old one after that time. Have had to clean it, which is fairly simple. One suggestion is once you remove the motor head from the unit, have it hang over a bucket to catch water that leaks from it while you are cleaning the unit or you will have water all over your floor. another thing I should have done was bought the largest model that cleans larger tanks as I like to keep a very stocked tank, and I believe the largest model would have done a better more long term job of keeping tank clean and balanced, and I wouldn't have to clean filter as often. The down side to buying this at petsmart is they don't carry the foam inserts or polishing pads when replacement is needed. If you want these items you will have to buy them online and pay shipping costs, or find a lfs that carries marinland canister filters and hope they carry the inserts.
Pros: keeps tank crystal clear
Cons: petsmart doesn't carry replacement carbon bags s
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland(r) Multi-Stage Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Marineland Multi-Stage Canister Filters

January 27, 2010
by Pounce86
fromChesterfield, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I've had two of the Marineland C-220's for 3 years now and they work like a charm. They keep my water crystal clear! Yes, sometimes when i open one of them and forget to relube the main o'ring it will leak a tiny bit, but if i re-open it and let it dry a little and add some o'ring lube to it lightly it stops the leak. You just have to make sure they stay lubed. Its not only with marineland canisters, its with all canisters. O'rings are ment to stay lubed to keep the seal. And its a good idea to make it a habit of checking on your canister anyway, its not something you just set it and forget it lol. I recommend getting a small kitty litter pan and sitting the canister in the kitty litter pan. Most canisters are housed in cabinets anyway no one can see the litter pan. That way if the canister ever does leak a little, it has no where to go. These canisters are a great investment, I recommend them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next