PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Tetra ReptoFilter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Tetra ReptoFilter

Using Whisper filtration technology, the ReptoFilter is for frogs, newts, and turtles.
Overall rating:
3.886 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
26 of 35(74%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Tetra ReptoFilter
Review 1 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 35 reviews

I would highly recommend Tetra ReptoFilter.

January 29, 2014
by Sally63
fromSt Simons Island, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The Tetra ReptoFilter has worked very well for my 20 gallon turtle tank. It looks great, it is quiet and adds a nice touch with the waterfall to turtles environment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Best filter I have ever tried!

July 2, 2013
by Maria92
fromTallahassee, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have gone through a lot of filters in my day but this one by far works the best. I have two baby painted turtles, 5 guppies, and a few ghost shrimp and snails. They're all in a 20 gallon long filled 2 inches below the rim and the 90gph filter keeps the water crystal clear. It's extremely quiet and blends in with my background so it looks great in my tank. I only wish i could keep my water level lower because it creates a beautiful waterfall sound (and display) when the water has a few inches to fall. You should be careful not to knock off the suction cups, they don't come off easily but when they do it takes a lot of patience and elbow grease to get them back on. Overall this is an amazing product for a great price, it should definitely be given a try.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

I love it!

June 16, 2013
by turtlegal
fromAthens, WI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The ReptoFilter is excellent! The waterfall feature is relaxing and makes your turtle happy. My turtle, Bruno, loves to swim under it. The Filter part works well and keeps your water clean and clear for twice as long than before you had a filter. The ReptoFilter is great.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 35 reviews

Good enough

November 24, 2012
by MissBoo
fromSpringfield, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had this for four months in about 3 gallons of water (I have a ten gallon tank). My painted turtle, Yertle, likes to try to climb it. It works well enough, and the waterfall feature keeps the water oxygenated for the feeder fish I put in the tank. The only problem that I have is that the filters, even though I rinse them out every few days, last for ten days at the most.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 35 reviews

Terrible, end of story.

June 26, 2012
by luckyducky111
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I recently purchased this filter for my two new baby red eared slider turtles. The first day it worked great, it was very relaxing! When i woke up the next morning I realized that the water had gotten worse and not cleaner; I therefore had to take the turtles out to clean the tank (once again) since the filter wasn't working then all of a sudden it stopped working. we tried removing it from the tank and the suction cups fell off. After we tried putting them back in and it was next to impossible (hence we never got them back in)! The top of the fliter also does not snap on so it sits there and can be very easily hit into the water. This has a very poor design since the bottom needs space around it for the water to be sucked up, but you cant build a waterfall around it the rocks prevent all the water from being filtered in the rest of the tank. So now I am stuck with a tank with no filter, with the filter only lasting me one day. I DO NOT recommend this product what so ever. If you continue to read other reviews I am not the only one with this problem. I'm disappointed and now have to return to petsmart tomorrow to buy a different filter. This product remains only to create waterfalls, not filtration.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Tetra ReptoFilter

June 11, 2012
by Henry54
fromNorth Georgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have used shallow water filters in my turtle aquarium for approximately 15 years. My box turtle lived for 23 1/2 years. This is the best one I have found. It is quiet during operation. It is the first one I have found with 2 filters, which does a much better job than using one filter. I have 2 new box turles now, and unless the quality changes, this one is the only filter I will ever use.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Wonderful for Aquatic Turtle Tanks

May 25, 2012
by NuyoRican
fromHackensack, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
It's easy to use, is a relaxing water feature, and keeps the tank water crystal clear. My Red-Eared Slider Turtle Wrennie loves it and so do I!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 35 reviews

Easy Filter

April 20, 2012
by Nordwind
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I don't think it's noisy at all. The noisiest part of the filter is when the water is low, and the filter drains the water from the top and I can hear it splashing. But it's not even bad.
The suction cups unfortunately don't hold up the entire filter, so the whole thing falls to the bottom, but it still works and is fine! I only use one filter cartridge and it seems to work. The instructions tell you to change cartridge every 3 or 4 weeks, so I do exactly that.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 35 reviews

NOISY NOISY NOISY!!!

December 18, 2011
by LongTail24
fromAnniston, AL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got one of these at petsmart. It was good at first, but then the suction cups fell out, then the motor got VERY VERY VERY loud. I had to use two filters at once to keep the water clean, and I still couldn't see to the back of the tank! I do not like this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 35 reviews

Fell Apart!!!

August 8, 2011
by animallover27
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
When I got this for my Fire Bellied Toads, it worked great, but within a few days of purchase, the suction cups fell off and i wasn't able to put them back in. The filter wouldn't work after that because of the two holes where the suction cups had been, so I siliconed two smooth rocks to it and it worked fine after that.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 35 reviews

worst filter possible !

August 1, 2011
by Rachel1324
fromCherryhill, nj
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Says its for 20 gallons, I had it in a 20 g tank with only 5 gallons of water and it didn't work! the suction cups are impossible to put back on when they fall off, you have to make holes in the back for them so they actually fit, it didn't clean my turtle tank at all. It stuck to 1 little side of the tank and basically forgot about the other side where his basking area is. I hope my store doesn't have problems with me returning this horrible product. I should of just went and got a cheap fish or canister filter inside. Would of been so much more happy!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

awesome

June 9, 2011
by NewtsAndFrogs
fromillinois
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
this filter is the best, i have it in the tank with my two newts. they would always creep into the one without the lid that i had before, but now they can't get in(thats good). also, in past reviews ive read, people say that its impossible to get it as good as it has it on the box. i coudlnt do that either;i could only make it look better. anybody can, just get a few rocks and plants from the park, boil them, and be creative! you can also add some plants and small pebbels and vines/branches for decoration. i just know that my newts and i love this filter. another reason they love it is because it keeps their water nice and clear.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Filter haunted lol

May 5, 2011
by Turtlelicious
fromScarborough
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
On day 1 and 2 this filter was very quiet dare i say 'silent', day 3,4 and 5 it got noisy so i followed the tip and cleaned the impeller/motor section with cool running water but it never went back to "silent", day 6 the noise has somehow miraculously quitened (i think it maybe an improperly seated impeller? i really don't know...lol) I picked up a Fluval 205 just incase, it's for my turtle's "Soup" 20 long tank which i've also recently got (thank you store sales and Petsmart's Perks)
I'd still recommend this product because of price and cleaning convinence. I would just caution when cleaning spin the impeller to seat it back (hopefully) in it's "quiet" position.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 35 reviews

January 30, 2011
by turtlemasta
fromcolorado
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 35 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 35 reviews
The minute i got this product and went back home i put it in my terrarium and then took it out to rinse out but the suction cups fell out and are almost imposible to put back in. I have to put a weight on the cord so the product doesnt just sink to the bottom. besides the cheap suction cups this is a very nice product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 35 reviews

Good, but not great.

June 24, 2010
by Hattori
fromApex, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 35 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 35 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this filter for a baby yellow-belly-slider as well as a few fish and a snail.
The first filter stopped working in a day. I brought it back and exchanged it for a new one, hoping it was just a fluke and I wouldn't have to buy a more expensive one.
The second one works perfect. I glued together some rocks to put under the waterfall "lip" so that it wouldn't be quite so loud, but it is still very noticeable in the tank.
When I say loud - I don't mean the filter. It's extremely quiet except for when the occasional snail gets tossed around with a clacking noise. The only obnoxious noise is the water falling such a long way.
This works perfectly for what I need. It keeps the water extremely clear and my boy, Sixty, is one happy turtle about it.
Pros: quiet, works
Cons: ugly, water has a long way to fall
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 35 reviews

Does the opposite of the box

June 5, 2010
by willber
fromBirmingham, AL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 35 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 35 reviews
First of all this filter looks very ugly inside the terrarium. There is no way to create a waterfall with this filter like the picture on the box. When I tried the filters body got really scratched up. Also this filter failed to clean my turtle tank to the "clear water" that it said on the box. The support people from tetra were no help to fix my problem and just said " turtles are dirty animals, thats just what happens". I was only filtering four gallons of water!!! It says it can filter 20 gallons of water. This filter might work if you have frogs or other amphibians, but it does not work for turtles.
Cons: leaves water foggy
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Relaxing

August 10, 2009
by TaffyQueen
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 35 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
This is a great product. The filter sounds like a waterfall & is SO relaxing, the turtles don't bother it & its tiny so there is a lot of space for them to roam. Definitely buy this, You wont regret it
Pros: relaxing, small, easy to work, lasts long
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

March 16, 2009
by TJMjr
fromSan Diego, ca
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
I got this for my two red ear sliders. My old filter could not keep the tank clean for a day. This filter keep the water clear and not smelly with little care. I replace the filter every 4 weeks and after 8 weeks i take it apart and cleanthe inside. that only take about 5 mins and it dose not realy need it. i just do it because I am cleaning the hole tank. The water fall is grart featcher for and trutal or frog tank my only problem is that it is hard to hide. i have tryed to plie rock up and that kind of works but not for long.
Pros: can be used in shalow water., cool water wall
Cons: hard to hide in the tank
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Tetra ReptoFilter

January 3, 2009
by o0katherine0o
fromgulfport, ms
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This product is amazing! I bought it a while back for my firebelly newts! Its so easy to clean! all you have to do is take the lid off and remove the cartridge, then put the new cartridge in! it doesnt even take a minute. definatley change it once a month like it says, especially if you have an animal that sheds like my newts (eww!) its a very quiet filter, you can only hear the hum if your right next to it. *make sure the lid is all the way on if you have a climbing animal- my lid was slightly cracked one day and when i went to check my tank norman (my boy newt) was in there!! but other than that two thumbs way up!
Pros: everything about it!
Cons: none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetra ReptoFilter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 35 reviews

very efficient, does its job well

July 10, 2008
by wiimaster193
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 35 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 35 reviews
this filter is definately worth the price. it cleans very well and only requires changing the cartrige after a while and a little scrubbing to get off some scum every so often. it has a waterfall which my turtle seems to enjoy and does not suck your pet into it. it is very quiet, and if you are looking for a great filter, i would definately suggest buying this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next