PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Tetra WaterClarifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Tetra WaterClarifier

Clear cloudy or hazy aquarium water in just a few hours with TetraAqua(r) Water Clarifier. Safe for all freshwater aquariums.
Overall rating:
2.231 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
4 of 13(31%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Tetra WaterClarifier
Review 1 for Tetra WaterClarifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Works great.

January 20, 2014
by Sammy1674
fromSan Diego, CA
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm shocked at some of the reviews. I use this product in my fresh water tank. It works great. It clears up the cloudy water in less then 24 hours. Unfortunately, every time I go to buy it at the store, they are always out of it. I guess someone likes it. I just had to purchase a bunch on line. PLEASE keep this in stock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra WaterClarifier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Horrible

July 8, 2013
by FishGuy01
fromSan Jose, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Worse product ever that I ever encountered. I tried to made my aquarium look clearer, but instead, after 5 minutes of applying the product; the water of the tank start to change color (greenish) and stay that way until I had to clean out my entire tank..literally the ENTIRE tank.
Even after that.... I reused it again .... still the same result. So, I would not recommended this product to anyone at all!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra WaterClarifier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

WILL NOT WORK

February 23, 2012
by CichlidFanatic
fromSeattle Washington
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
I have struggled with cloudy water in my cichlid tanks for years. everyone comes across these issues and i have tried lots of water clarifiers before.. this is by far the worst. The only water clarifiers that work come in tiny bottles and require drops instead of ml. This is the worst product i have ever bought from petsmart i feel bad putting it in my tank my fish deserve better it makes the water worse i am not pleased. dont buy you will be angry with the results or lack there of...
Cons: didn't work
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra WaterClarifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Great for soft water!!

July 5, 2011
by DCJay
fromDC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I have soft water in my home and nothing else would clear my cloudy water..this product cleared my water within hours and after 1 day my water was crystal clear!!
Pros: works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra WaterClarifier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Junk

March 28, 2011
by Radar83
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
This Prduct is junk. Only made the water worse. Waited few days to see any results if any. Aggressive water change need to be made to get things normal.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra WaterClarifier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

TetraAquaWaterClarifier

November 25, 2010
by rgkfromVA
fromFairfax, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is the worst, doesn't do what says product, I have ever bought. I followed the instructions, and it clouded up my 50 gallon aquarium and stayed cloudy for 3-4 days. What a rip off!
I am going to try SeaChem Clarity and see if that works.
Pros: none!
Cons: doesn't work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra WaterClarifier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

Will ruin your tank

October 15, 2010
by alkemist
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
This product works as stated, but will ruin your tank in the process. Better to just do a water change and clean out the filter. I was setting up a brand new 29G tank with black sand. I had added in the clarifier to help clean up any extra gunk left by the sand. Looked nice and clear.
Few days later, I started to add in water conditioner, granule type PH neutralizer, aquarium salt and that was a huge mistake. It clumped everything, left milky water and sediments every where. It ruined my tank. Had to do multiple aggressive water changes and running the filter to clean up this mess. Not very happy at all.
Pros: does work as stated
Cons: makes a huge mess, leaves sediment every where, for very specific uses
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra WaterClarifier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

Does not work well

August 27, 2007
by Evildead
fromBaltimore
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ok, i've only used 1 dose (5ml) in a 10 gallon tank as recommended. Waited 48 hrs and the water is still cloudy but maybe at best 10% less cloudy. I expected atleast 50% less cloudyness. It says to wait 48 hrs before applying more if desired. IMO i think a single dose should atleast clear up 50%. I could achieve better clarity by just changing out 20% of the water. I have a whisper 10 filter system which is not that good, so i ordered a whisper 30. My other 10 gallon tank has Whisper 20 with larger filter and water is very clear. I know this is not a filter review but i believe my water cloudyness is due to ineffective small weak filter system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra WaterClarifier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews

worked well for a while

March 25, 2007
by MegC
  • Expert
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I have used this product for a few years now, and in the past it has worked well, cleared water cloudyness within a few hours, but recently it has stopped clearing the water, both in my 20 gallon and 55 gallon tanks. I'm going to try another product and see how that fares.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra WaterClarifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Wow

January 16, 2007
by Andromeda
fromPomona, NJ
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Started to clear the tank within an hour... Perfectly clear water in 5, and it was very green when I put it in. The water is still clear, almost 2 months later.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Tetra WaterClarifier
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
0 out of 3 recommend this product