PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder

Great for vacations or every day--feeds a preset amount of food once or twice a day.
Overall rating:
2.214 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
5 of 14(36%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 14 reviews

Pick another feeder

December 20, 2013
by FishStink123
fromColumbia, SC
How many pets do you have?2
notice my name. three reasons this thing stinks: 1: putting batteries in is confusing 2: figuring out how much food you want to dispense is confusing 3: attaching the part with the food to the part where you put batteries is extremely hard. Use your money on another product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Works once you figure it out

November 1, 2013
by TurtleFishDogCatToadOwner
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The feeder does come with instructions now but you have to read them carefully. Once you set up the clock you set as many of the four feeding times as needed then have to also indicate one or two revolutions per feeding. I missed this the first time I read through and had to figure out why it wasn't dispensing. Once I got it programmed it works great. I am using it on several tanks that I am raising fish in so I monitor the feeders for quantity of food and watch for the low battery indicator. If it is placed well away from air stones and filter splash it does not have the condensation issue that many of the reviewers have had. It DOES work best with the pelleted foods. I changed to this after reading several reviews. Large flakes are so light they often don't dispense so I was crushing them to a small uniform size.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Don't waste your time or money

December 8, 2012
by poewrmax
fromOregon
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Bought this for vacation feeder.
Poor instructions.
No clock, I guess it starts when batteries installed?
feeds once in 12 hours? or two times in 24, crazy
This one worked manually only. Had it sitting on a pie pan for 2 weeks and got no feed.
Bought the Eheim every day fish feeder and everything you would expect in a feeder.
Clock, adjustable timer and 4 double feedings.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews

Fair product, just have to figure it out

June 8, 2012
by DC150
fromLargo,FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
When I bought this product online I was skeptical because of the bad reviews. I opened it and it is true that this product does not come with instructions, so I tried to figure it out and i did. First remove the plastic container where food is stored(which is in the front) and there will be a white, plastic flap with a little stick pull that stick and the flap will open and then fill it with food, then attach it back. Second on the plastic container there is a knob that allows you to set how much food to dispense and set it. Next I would replace the battery in the back since mine didn't work. Then reattach the back and test it by pressing a button that is next to a picture of a fish, this will rotate the dispenser and is used as a manual feeder. Once batteries are set this will begin the timer. Finally set the flap on the outside of dispenser down above water line and set it to feed every twenty four hours or twelve hours. I personally would set it to every twelve hours so that water evaporation will not get on the inside.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

junk

January 5, 2012
by Jaegermann
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this unit to replace my prior auto feeder that failed as well. Many of the reviews indicate poor quantity dispensing which is very true, getting it right is difficult, opening it and filling it was a pain. I have a 55gal tank. The feeder is poorly sealed so water evaporation from the tank caused the food to mold in about a week, twice...I found this problem after returning from a long weekend trip. It also stopped feeding. I dismantled it and found it full of moisture...it's too late to return it. I hope there is a better auto feeder out there so I can be confident when I take trips. I have tried flake and pellet food, and the flake must be crushed down smaller to feed decently, and the pellets either feed too few or to many never just right, and adjustment is difficult to get it to work even close to acceptable feed quantities.
I would NOT recommend this at all.
+16points
21of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

not worth the money

December 27, 2011
by busymomofgrk
fromLancaster, Pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We bought this for a 10 gallon fish tank but it was too big to mount on the side where the opening was. My son was very disappointed in this since he used his christmas giftcard to buy it. Definately going back!
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Don't get this

February 4, 2011
by Parkave
fromNew York
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
I purchased this from Pet Smart, and put new batteries in it. I used it a couple of days before vacation, I didn't think it was working. I set the feeder for once every 24 hours. I went on vacation and when I returned, the dispenser didn't dispence any food. I had others watching our other animals, so they feed the fish. I would not buy this. Stay away from this item.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

dont buy-it doesn't work

July 1, 2010
by aqueonfan
fromCA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
I got it a day before my vacation and I wasted 10 minutes just trying to open the stupid thing. I also wasted a whole lot of food just trying to get it to work. I have a bunch of different aquariums but I keep all my fish in a 10 gallon one. It overfed the fish so much that one of the tetra's belly is budging and the rest of the food is lying at the bottom making algae grow. My fish were so overfed I didn't feed them until the vacation started.
-it overfed the fish
-the feed button was WAY to sensitive
-the price wasn't worth it
I ended up having someone feed my fish while I was on vacation.
I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Fulfills its purpose, but one major downfall!

June 7, 2010
by Tesh
fromNJ and SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
I got this feeder this past fall in preparation for my college's month-long winter break. I couldn't find any feeder that promised much more than 14 or 20 days of feeding other than this one. As a daily feeder, you fill it with food and set an amount released daily. This feeder lasted the entire 35 days that I was gone, AND there was well over half the food I had put in there left (I filled it about 60% to begin with!) My fish was alive and well (to my own astonishment) after the long month and she is still alive today.
The bad thing about this filter, however, is that the quantity of food dumped into the tank each day is very hard to get right. I had just 1 goldfish in a 10 gallon tank, so i set it on the lowest setting. Some days it would release 8 pellets, and some days it would release NONE (I usually feed her 5 pellets). However, on average, it would get the quantity right 2/3 of the time. So at the worst she went 1/3 of the days I was gone without food, which for a goldfish is perfectly acceptable. (About every 3rd day, she would not be fed)
As for the other reviewers, I never had a mold problem with this feeder, and I have used it many times, not just on breaks.
One thing to watch out for is the knob that controls the quantity not getting caught on anything and opening up the whole food bin! One time i slid the hood of my tank forward, and when it went to feed the feeder spun in the direction of the knob's control and it got caught on the lid and the whole thing emptied into my tanks (the water was gross for weeks)
I just suggest taping it down, if you have lots of fish this probably works a LOT better than just the smallest slot for 1 fish.
Pros: reliable long-time feeder, kept food dry
Cons: unreliable distribution
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

March 25, 2010
by RAFA
fromES
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
BAD BAD, with water condensation lost all the food inlet and crash battery life, is the most wrong buy!!!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Excellent units - use 2 if they'll fit!

September 28, 2008
by McCats
fromLancaster County, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I run 2 of these units on my 20 gallon tank. I fill one with flake food, and set the adjustable mouth all the way open. The other I fill with a pellet type, and close the mouth about halfway. Test the filled units over a bowl or plate to see how much food will get dumped with each rotation.
I like how there is a button on top to manually feed. This gives me a chance to test the batteries. As I run 2 units, there is a backup in case a battery fails while I am away overnight. I have another, less expensive unit from another company that I run on a 5 gallon tank, but it does not have the manual button. I am concerned that the battery might die and I won't notice (the window is trasnparent orange, which is harder to see through, compared to Topfin's clear window.)
I bought another feeder made by a good German company, but so far do not use it, because it cannot clip on the back of the aquarium like these Topfins. If I want to use the German unit, I will have to make a bracket out of metal or plexiglass, so it can rest on top.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

auto fish feeder

May 6, 2008
by lankimanc
fromSacramento CA
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Great feeder. Continuously accurate timing, good size container to keep a large fish tank full of fish well fed for a week or more. We liked this so much we immediately bought another one when we bought another tank. Good quality for a great price.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Poor product

January 7, 2008
by Me1977
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Difficult to adjust, and always full of mould.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin(r) Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Top Fin Feeder needs to be re-designed

November 22, 2007
by Cichlidlvr1
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
I
bought this feeder 1 year ago and used it twice while away for the
holidays. It comes with no instructions and takes some detective work
to sort out its features or lack there of. Its difficult to adjust the
feeding size with a poorly designed plate that slides on a track with
teeth. If you push it slightly too hard it will pop off the track and
you have to start over which entails turning the feeder on its face and
carefully trying to grip the non -existent outer drum while twisting
the clear food barrel in the opposite direction. There is also no
adjustment for timing whatsoever. It will feed every 12 hours from the
time the batteries are installed - that's it!
Once accomplished and you've cleaned up all of your spilled fish flakes
you can then re-insert the silly sliding food plate and try all over
again - goodluck :-( Then you have to re-insert the batteries and wait
12 hours to verify the actual food quantity you've now adjusted it to.
Get my drift its no easy task. Once I got through this process after
trying for several days in my office attached to a cereal bowl for dry
runs I mounted it to my aquarium.
As I mentioned the first two vacations I used it, it seemed to work
okay. I recently got it out to prepare for the winter holidays and put
a new pair of Duracells in it and the motor is clearly spinning but the
food drum is not moving. It sounds as though there were plastic gears
inside and the teeth wore off? Thats my best guess and it had only been
used twice.
Thankfully I still had my receipt and was able to return it at my local
Petsmart store for a full refund. Thankyou Petsmart!
Since there are two several nicer more expensive automatic feeders here
I think this is simply a case of you get what you pay for.
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.