PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve

Plastic check valve keeps aquarium water protects air pump from back-siphoning damage--preventing flooding during power failures.
Overall rating:
3.464 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 27
17 of 28(61%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews

A good product

March 9, 2014
by steves02895
fromWoonsocket, RI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
The quality was average-- it feels like you have to be careful when putting the valve inline as has a flimsy feel to it. Once installed, it works fine. Nothing fancy-- just a check valve.
Pros: easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 28 reviews

not too good

February 3, 2014
by linco5259
fromplymouth,MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
I find it really restricts the air flow. And I know it can only go one way but it lets very little air through. It will probably ruin my pump. I will have to get one elsewhere because that's the only kind petsmart sells.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: No Bubbles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Smart To Have!

February 2, 2014
by AshleyPauls
fromBelleville, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
You're taking a risk not using one of these. They work great, easy to figure out, and so inexpensive you have no excuse not to have one.
Pros: powerful, easy to install, quiet, lots of bubbles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Easy to use, cute.

November 19, 2013
by BPORT
fromLos Angeles, California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Very cheap and can help your air pump just in case something bad happens.
Pros: easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Did what it said

October 29, 2013
by Charmed79
fromNH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
That pretty much covers it, it did exactly what it said, kept the water from coming back out of the air tube.
Pros: easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Saved my pump

October 10, 2013
by Dashboy1998
fromColonial Heights, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
If your pump is below your tank then you will want this,
it very much so worth it's money
Pros: easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Great product

July 7, 2013
by Maizee
fromSioux City, IA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
This product is great it does not restrict the airflow at all. The only reason other people say it does is because they don't know the air only flows through one side.
Pros: easy to install, lots of bubbles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 28 reviews

Broke in half

January 6, 2013
by Applefish
fromRegina, SK
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews
I bought a complete aquarium set yesterday, and I am not happy with this check valve. I installed it a little too low to my taste, so when I tried to remove it to place it higher, it broke in half. Well, it's more like the glue that keeps it closed gave up when I pulled. Of course, I cannot re-assemble it without gluing it back. Not worthed for its price. The flow of air was the same as without it though.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Cheap Insurance....

May 6, 2012
by Brody26
fromNebraska
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Easy to install. just make sure the arrow is going the right way. I put mine about 6" from the back of my tank. These work great and save your air pump and your house....
Pros: easy to install, lots of bubbles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Aquarium check valve

January 16, 2012
by EddieB
fromBushkill,Pa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Cheap item to purchase to protect a more expensive product. No issues whatsoever with this item.
Pros: easy to install, quiet
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Great Check Valve

December 5, 2011
by PDragon
fromCa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
I have a tetra 100 air pump and these check valves work fine with it. Not sure if it will be good with weaker pumps.
Do NOT buy Aqua Culture check valves, they do not work!!!
Hope this info is helpful
Pros: easy to install, lots of bubbles
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

So Far, So Good

July 25, 2011
by PurdyMunster
fromOdessa, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Just bought this & put it together. So far, so good. Easy instructions. No problem with less hair when it runs through it either.
Pros: powerful, quiet, easy to install, lots of bubbles
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Best Accessory to Every Air Pump

June 20, 2011
by Lahariel
fromArizona
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Every person who has an air pump should get one of these things. Even if the pump is above the tank surface I still had water backlog into the pump and obliterate it when I turned it off at night. After installing one of these guys I don't have any problems.
The one review that claims that it didn't have any air come through and that it burned out the air pump must have either had a defective one, or didn't install it correctly. There's a specific IN - OUT direction that is labeled on the valve so that you know which direction to place it within your tubing.
Super easy to install! Just snip a portion of your tubing that's closer to the tank and shove everything back together again. Took me less than a minute to put it together, works beautifully, is super cheap, and protects your air pump. What more can you ask for?
Pros: easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

amazing

June 6, 2011
by dokitty
fromboston
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
this product works great i installed two of them to my pump no loss of air flow and no syphonage to my air pump
Pros: powerful, quiet, easy to install, lots of bubbles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

October 8, 2010
by Angeltothefish
fromSacramento CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
I have it on a 60 gallon pump, nothing wrong
Pros: easy to install
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 28 reviews

Bad

July 11, 2010
by kdblue45
fromSt. Louis,MO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews
I bought this item to put on my air pump for my 1.5 gallon betta tank. the valve won't let any air through it. it would be better if someone used it on a 10 or more gallon rated air pump. it ALSO BURNS UP YOUR AIR PUMP! but is is very easy to set up though.
Cons: very little air flow, wont work most of time, burns up airpump
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Easy to install and very helpful

June 18, 2010
by ashbagosh23
fromRochester, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
If you place your airpump below the surface of the water, you need to install one of these check valves in order to prevent water from backflowing into the airpump. This does the job just fine and very inexpensive. Simply cut your airline and insert the check valve! I didn't experience any change in my airflow.
Pros: easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 28 reviews

April 14, 2010
by Jeff0803
fromIndianapolis, IN
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 28 reviews
Do not waste your money!! All this product did was restrict the air flow to nothing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews

An OK product

January 15, 2010
by Anonymous
fromCharlotte, NC
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
This check valve is incredibly easy to install. It does work, but I've noticed a decrease in the amount of water my air-powered filter is churning out since I've installed this check valve. I have a fairly small air pump though, so it could just be that it isn't powerful enough.
My tank's water is still clean, so evidently it isn't too much of a difference.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Fin(r) Aquarium Check Valve
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 28 reviews

Not enough air flow

July 24, 2009
by KytW
fromNE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
I bought two packages of these, both packages had to small of an opening inside. One was even completely closed, I couldn't even blow through it.
I do not recommend this as there are other, cheaper ones, on the market that have a great air flow.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: does not allow air flow, more expensive then other valves
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next