PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone

Layers of stone add a natural dimension while giving cover to your finned friends.
Overall rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
11 of 13(85%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Nice for hiding places

November 2, 2013
by marvinhay
fromATL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I added this to my 55 gallon fish tank, to give my African Cichlids an additional hiding space. It looks good with my other decorations.
Pros: durable, price, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Simple

July 13, 2013
by PilotSully
fromJefferson, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Simple, but the fish love hanging out underneath it. Can't really complain about anything on this decoration. I have had it for about 2 years and it has held up perfectly. Easy to clean every couple water changes.
Pros: durable, stylish, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

Fish like it

June 25, 2013
by Trish2013
fromoshawa, on
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
I bought this item and my fish liked it, but does seem a little over priced for something that is plain looking. Adding small plants around it makes it look better.
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

An Open Cave

February 24, 2013
by FishDaddy
fromFrederick, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I was looking for something that my fish would feel safe but were still visible. This rock stack fit the bill. It has a natural look to it and the fish love it. My corys rest in it and on top of it through out the day. My neons like it as I placed some plants around it too.
I like the detail in that the flat "rocks" have grains and are not perfectly flat.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

An Open Cave

February 14, 2013
by FishDad
fromMD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I was looking for something that my fish would feel safe but were still visible. This rock stack fit the bill. It has a nature look and the fish love it. My corys rest in it and on top of it through out the day. My neons like it as I placed some plants around it.
I like the detail in that the flat "rocks" have grains and are not perfectly flat.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews

Good Product

November 9, 2012
by Perrytastic
fromWashington State
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews
I've used this with bettas and guppies alike, and had great results. The only downside is that the color seems to wash off quite easily.
Pros: stylish
Cons: price, flimsy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

love it

July 12, 2012
by Caitlin131
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I didn't want to get any ornaments that would hide my fish inside them so I couldn't see them. This provides a hiding spot in and behind it in my tank for when my fishies need some alone time and I can still check up on them and make sure they're doing okay. I put a tall fake plant behind it and it gives the ornament a great natural look like you would find it out in the wild.
Pros: durable, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

Flat Stone Paint Issues

November 19, 2009
by goldfishmom
fromOmaha, NE
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
I bought this stone thinking it was perfect for my goldfish. ANd they loved it. The only problem is, in 2 months the paint was removed entirely. I'm wondering if it was the algae eater since he liked laying on top of it, but I don't think the paint should have come off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews

Layered Flat Stone

January 3, 2009
by o0katherine0o
fromgulfport, ms
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews
my newts and frogs loved this because it was a great land area for them to rest on. i regularly clean my tank, so i washed the rock because it would get dirty. well, a small amount of paint peeled off each time i washed it. eventually after a while i would find huge chunks of paint in my filter and aquarium. not good. idk, maybe i got a defect or something but watch out!
Pros: great look and very functional
Cons: terrible paint job
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

This looks great in my 10 gallon tank!

June 17, 2008
by JennaD
fromBirmingham, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I thought this would be too big for my aquarium but I loved the look of it so much that I bought it anyway. It proved to be a good choice because my very timid black molly loves it! I got this and a couple live plants to start out with and the tank looks very nice and my fish are happy! :o)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

aquarium decor...

January 31, 2008
by fishdude
fromVancouver
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I got this decor 6 yrs ago, and it has stood strong, not a lot of color has worn off since, and it provides great hiding places for shy fish. I definitely recommend this ornament as a center piece for any aquarium.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

long lasting and nice to look at.....

July 19, 2007
by bettaboy
fromcanada
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
this is very nice as it provides a hiding place for many fish, and what I like about it is that even after 5 yrs it is holding strong. very good decoration.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin(r) Layered Flat Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Solid!

June 29, 2007
by blondecatfish
fromLas Vegas
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
This is great for Corydoras catfish! They like to hang out on the top terrace. They like the smooth surface. This item may be small for tanks over 50 gallons, depending on your preference. This cave is very solid and heavy! The smooth surface also provides a good spot for algae to grow (not all algae is bad) for herbivores to pick at.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.