PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments

Get to the "root" of great natural style in your aquarium or terrarium with these Top Fin Natural Tree Root Ornaments.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
11 of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great centerpiece

March 4, 2014
by PapaPitt
fromMillport, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am using this as the centerpiece in my African cichlid tank. It is beautifully proportioned in the 29 gallon tank. I would definitely use this decoration in other tanks.
Pros: stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Excellent

January 5, 2014
by 04harley
fromFlorida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Very lifelike and light weight. I am using it in a African Cichlid aquarium and the fish absolutely love the extra hiding places. Quality product, I would definitely recommend it instead of natural drift wood because natural wood lowers Ph levels and these fish like a Ph over 8.
Pros: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

great piece

December 8, 2013
by feekyqueen
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
my jewel cichlids are shy with one aggressive male who chased the others relentlessly, but now with all the twisty roots they can ditch him quickly and hide easily. looks great in medium sized aquariums to add vertical interest--don't need much else in the tank. if it's as colorfast as my other TopFin ornaments i'll be content. (would have bought it ages ago but i waited for it to go on sale.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Not made for long-time usage

October 1, 2013
by WolFF
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
I had this in a 55 gallon aquarium for about a year. It's lost coloration, now it's a faded khaki, loses the texture, and becomes almost brittle.
If you want to have this for long term use I recommend it for a snake tank or terrarium. Snake's get a kick out of it by just hanging their loopy bodies off the branches, it also helps with the shedding process.
It seems this was not made to be submerged in water for a long period of time however attraction it may be.
Pros: stylish
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Nice Piece

November 12, 2012
by Gryph70
fromConnecticut
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I have this in a 125 with Oscars and Dempseys. The Dempseys can hang out under it and the Oscars have plenty of space to swim over and around it. Good fit and nice look.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

decent

October 19, 2012
by Gulfy
fromNew Orleans LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I've had mine for a little under a year and it's a nice looking piece. My fish love to swim through and under it. That being said, for a little under a year, it has lost a lot of its coloring, and have become flimsy to the point of cracking in some places.
Pros: stylish, price
Cons: flimsy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

great ornament

August 13, 2012
by Cehszar
fromMatamoros Mx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
barely fits on my 55 gal aquarium, other than that, it does the trick
Pros: stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great Tree Root Ornament

September 11, 2010
by Tom8pie
fromMartinton
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
This ornament is perfect for my 125 gallon tank containing Pink Convict Cichlids! It matches other natural tree-oriented ornaments that I have purchased in the past... and is very natural looking and beautiful! It provides cover to reduce combative situations, regarding this somewhat combative species. It looks fantastic as the center piece of the aquarium, and does not look artificial at all! Superb!
Pros: very natural looking; exotic in appearance.
Cons: not for small aquariums.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Goes great in 75 gal Cichlid Tank

July 24, 2010
by Jenn159
fromShreveport, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Surrounded it with weighted artificial plants and it's perfect for my Cichlids! They love to hide in it and I can still see them. It is quite large so check dimensions if using in a smaller tank.
Pros: blends very well with aqueon coral plastic plant, goes great in natural theme tank
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Looks great, even years later

February 17, 2010
by NYConMYmind
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I've had this piece for, gosh, probably close to 8 years or so I'd say & it's been in 3 or 4 different aquariums - currently a 50 gal freshwater, and it looks as good as it did the day i bought it. I love the natural look for an aquarium, and this looks just like something you pulled out of a lake or river. People always think its real & never realize it's "store bought," which thrills me! The area beneath it provides a great shelter for my fish when they want to hide or just get away from the current.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Looked good, until it started to crack.

April 9, 2007
by ILoveMiPerro
fromAL
I love the natural look in fishtanks, so I purchased one of these tree root ornaments. It looked great, but after a bout a month, I noticed that the ornament started to crack in a few places. It's still in one piece, but I wouldn't be surprised if it fell apart in a few months.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin(r) Natural Tree Root Ornaments
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Natural Tree Root Ornaments

October 30, 2006
by Angel23
fromOttawa, ON
This ornament is beautiful and looks amazing in the tank...BUT if you have catfish of any type they do smash themselves inside of it and are very difficult to get out.
I recommend it to people who have fish who either can easily go in and out of the hollows in the middle or who have fish that are much too big to fit inside! It should have been made that the legs of the ornament are not hollow. Overall it looks amazing in the tank, even after several years when the paint starts to wear off, gives it a realistic look with algae growing on it.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.