PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave

A natural looking slate rock cave for your fish to explore.
Overall rating:
4.85 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
38 of 40(95%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Perfect for any pet

February 17, 2014
by hushangel
fromWindsor, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
I originally bought this as a resting place for my gerbils for when I put them in water (to swim or to clean them). They enjoyed both the perching aspect of it as well as the cave part. It was exactly what I was looking for and not very expensive. When I got a new fish tank for my betta, I needed some decorations and somewhere for him to hide so I cleaned this and put it in there. He loves swimming in and out of the cave and it makes a perfect centerpiece with the natural look. It is durable, sturdy, stylish, sinks fine (remember to let all the air bubbles out from the cave portion when you put it in the water), and it's easy to clean. I have it in a 2.5 gallon tank and it fits just right (without much else in the tank). I wouldn't recommend putting it in anything smaller.
Pros: durable, stylish, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Natural looking

February 4, 2014
by Noelle16
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Bought this in store for my aquarium and it was $1 less than the price online so it was worth it.
Pros: durable, price, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 40 reviews

Disappointed with quality

September 22, 2013
by paperflowers713
fromSanta Cruz, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 40 reviews
The cave looked great in my 5 gallon freshwater 72* African dwarf frog tank. Unfortunately, the quality is poor and so a hole appeared in the front part of the cave (the thinnest part of material) and it eventually progressed into a large hole after chipping off. This occurred a few weeks after having it in the tank. I don't recommend this product at all. I'm hoping that I can still return it or at least exchange it because I through away the receipt because it looked so great.
Cons: flimsy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Awesome Cave

August 7, 2013
by Megan24
fromIllinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I just bought this today, literally. My fish haven't been in it yet. I have 3 Neon Tetras & 3 Guppies. I like the look of it in the tank, it's very pretty! Goes along well with the fake plants in the tank. Fits well in my 5.5 gallon, But wouldn't recommend putting it in less than 5 gallons.
Pros: durable, price, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

good place for betta to hide

June 27, 2013
by itsuki
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
i like it, betta likes it. its a good place for them to hide and its a decently sturdy piece and has a somewhat natural look going for it. linked a video its in the center on the video abit to the right.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Is kind of the "centerpiece" for my 10 gallon

April 6, 2013
by AnnasPets
fromPortland, Oregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love this decoration. My african dwarf frogs love to hide in it, and it looks great. I recommend using with a natural themed tank with natural gravel and other decorations. When the fish swim around it it makes them shine more because it's sort of dull colored. It has fake algae on it and looks like something you'd see in a professional aquarium.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Convicts are breeding in it

March 10, 2013
by falcon1
fromVictoria, BC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My new convict cichlid pair is breeding in it. I reccomend this ornament for breeding smaller cichlids, or just for a cool decoration. Definitely too small to be a centerpiece ornament however.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

nice decoration

January 24, 2013
by bettakid1
fromWasila AK
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i got this for my 10 gal aquarium. it looks good and my fish love it! i reconmend getting it
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Great Decoration

January 8, 2013
by Mandigirl
fromTexas and Oregon (currently Texas)
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I like this decoration. It looks great in my 20 gallon community tank with my fish. It really compliments the colors of my neon tetras.
I enjoy watching my fish zoom around and under this. I would definitely recommend!
Mandigirl
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Great Product!

January 5, 2013
by YOLO
fromFarmington, MI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have two of these caves, as well as a hollow log, in my 25 gallon freshwater tank, and all my fish love them. Platies to kribensis, danios to loaches, everyone of 'em liked them. I started out with one, then I got another, then I had to get the log. Toby the rubber-lipped pleco blends in so well inside the log, I once didn't find him for two days! Thanks Petsmart!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Betta loves it 5g tank

December 23, 2012
by Rgoodie
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My betta loves it he sleeps and comes out of it every time I walk in the room. There are no rough edges so his delicate fins stay unharmed and it looks so natural.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews

Good Cave, but.....

August 1, 2012
by KashiA
fromRed Deer, AB
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It's a great cave except for the fact that it floats.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Excellent

July 2, 2012
by FishyFrends
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a very well made product. I have it with my betta and 2 blue apple snails in a 2.5 gallon tank. I don't recommend this for any tank smaller than a 2.5 gallon, and even in that size tank it's a little cramped. A 5 gallon or bigger would be the best. But other than that, it is a great product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

January 1, 2012
by SummaTIME
fromWashington
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
I got one of these except it is green. Its very sturdy and looks awesome in my tank. Its a great hiding spot for small fish. I would definantly recommend this.
Pros: durable, price, stylish
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

October 27, 2011
by brezzerie4
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I am very happy with this item . I got it on sale, and its awesome for my fish, it has two entrances which is awesome roomy for fish 3-4 inches and smaller! Its very sturdy and a pretty natural looking decor which is my first priority.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Looks great and natural!

June 24, 2011
by Jaepd
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Great poduct in my 5 gallon tank. It doesn't float, stays on the gravel and doesn't dirty water. fish love to hide in it, and it doesn't have any sharp edges or anything, very smooth finish, and the colors haven't faded. I've had it for about three months now.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

its for fish?

May 30, 2011
by neenie
fromknoxville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
I got a baby leopard gecko, and the worker at petsmart told me to get something for her to hide in. I didn't see anything I liked in the reptile section, so she told me to look in the fish.
Jasper (the gecko) loves this. it looks great in her habitat, and she hides under it all the time.
It could be a little cheaper, but over all this is great.
Pros: stylish, durable
Cons: price
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Cool Rocky hideout

May 29, 2011
by Gerbilcraze49
fromAtlanta,GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 40 reviews
I was walking by the fish isle and saw this cave. I wondered if my gerbils would like it to sleep in. I bought it and they loved to sleep in it and climb around on it. The only problem I had with it was that the paint came off when I washed it. There was no harm in that. I didn't care.
Pros: stylish, price, durable
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

goldfish love it

February 24, 2011
by lankie
fromtampa, florida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i bought this for my goldfish in my 12 gallon tank and they love it. the size it nice too.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Fin(r) Medium Rocky Cave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 40 reviews

Great Natural Hide.....

January 23, 2011
by LeoLver
fromMeridian, ID
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This wonderful cave is originally for fish, but when I was searching for a hideout for my Juvy Leopard Gecko (for when he gets 6+ inches) I came upon this dream-come true. I immediately went the following day to the nearest PetSmart and bought this. I am extremely happy with this product and so is Squirt! I wanted a good hide that is large and has a basking spot and this fit my requirements perfectly! This morning, I found her peacefully asleep on the top. I definetly recommend this cave, for any small animal.
Pros: natural, not to pricey, large, reptile basking spot, very sturdy
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next