PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Powerhead

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Powerhead

For use with undergravel filters or to provide healthy aeration and surface agitation in fresh or saltwater aquariums.
Overall rating:
2.539 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
4 of 13(31%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

No Instructions, No Adjustments

December 26, 2012
by RiskyFish
fromLafayette, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
So I have an air tube that I have no idea what to do with because this product doesn't come with any kind of instructions (except how not to electrocute yourself).
The box claims you can adjust the flow, so I went ahead and bought the 50 for my 29 gallon thinking I could turn it down until I got a bigger tank- you can't. The "flow adjuster" is a plastic (flimsily attached) fin on the water outlet.
It's INCREDIBLY NOISY! I thought the first one was defective until I put the second one in another tank and it was even louder!!
All in all, it does the job, comes with extra parts, and isn't terribly expensive. But you get what you pay for in this case. Probably worth the extra $5 to get another brand.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

Cheap..and it shows

December 21, 2012
by FyrFytr
fromDayton, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Purchased one of these for my new saltwater tank, BIG mistake. Started off nice and quiet, but the morning was louder then my airpump, which is every bit of 5+ years old. Took it back to my local PetSmart and got another. THis one was noisy from the start, never did settle or get quieter...think it actually got worse. First TopFin product, probably my last. Will end up spending more $ just to get a product that doesnt sound like it is going to vibrate off my tank wall.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews

a litttle bit noise

November 13, 2012
by mygoldfish
fromVancouver, BC
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This product is very powerfu. It's very solid, power and easy to use. The sucktion cup are very good,they are no problem to stick this heave little pump on the glass.I am very happy to have this product. But it just have little bit of noise, it will wake you up at night. If you are picky and you have to be carefully to choose this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

Wouldn't Recommend

August 19, 2012
by 11BLKJK
fromRichmond, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was in the store and saw this power head. I had not planned on buying one so soon but I saw it and the price was right. Brought it home, opened the box (no instructions included) and plugged it up. Immediately noticed how noisy it was and then looked online and saw that I wasn't the only one with this problem. It also doesn't circulate as well as I had hoped. Will return it and find something better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Loud, not circulating as advertised.

May 17, 2012
by mmw09
fromSan Antonio, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Upon initial plugin, loud and no significant thrust... slight bubbles... certainly not going to circulate 100 GPH.
Tried cycling on/off several times as some pumps sometimes need that, bit no luck. This is my second Top Fin / PetSmart pump in 30 days that receives no stars. Perhaps I'll need to try another brand from another retailer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Buyers Beware

February 29, 2012
by aqaballman
fromfrom Maryland cared for fish for 8 years
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Worst investment ever. Its impeller is really cheap and vibrates pretty loudly. It shakes the whole power head and when you attach it to the tank, it shakes and vibrates your tank as well. I would go with a Eheim aquaball power head instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

They should have sticked with the old design.

November 14, 2010
by doranb
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
I got this power head because I was looking for a low cost way to clear up dead spots and aerate the water in my 20 gallon long tank. Also my friend had one and I liked the way it preformed. I didn't know that his was an older version. Now top fin made a newer model, and they cheaped out big time. On the new model, they took away the ability to swivel the nozel. They also put the air intake on top of the power head so the air passes over the impeller before it goes out. I don't know who's idea this was but it makes it even noisier than it already is. The impeller is made of cheap plastic and vibrates against the housing making it louder than my ten year old air pump that i was going to replace. I tried to fix it but nothing changed. It is hard to assemble and disassemble, and when I tried to turn the flow director, it broke off. And to top it all of, you can't adjust the water flow any more. This newer model is made of cheap plastic, poorly designed, and NOISY! Do not buy this item, it is not the same thing it was two or three years ago. I guess the only good thing about this power head is the fact that it has four suction cups instead of just one.
Pros: four suction cups instead of just one
Cons: cheap, loud, made of plastic, air passes over the impeller which makes it noisy, can't swivel the nozzle, not very strong
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews

Decent value for the money

September 25, 2010
by FamilyFishGuy
fromIowa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
I purchased this along with a undergravel plate for my twenty gallon oscar tank(9-25-2010). 2 stars Ease of Use for the lack of instructions(besides a one page electrical warnings, don't need that I'm an electrician). 3 stars Quality for the inexpensive plastic used in the housing. 3 stars Performance for the flow control method, air tube clamp, it is kinda cheesy but fairly effective. 3 stars Overall Rating for the price/value ratio. This works and inside my budget.
I plan on getting two more powerhead 30's for my ten gallons that I use for breeders...
Pros: price, variable flow rate
Cons: could use more instructions
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews

Not the best

December 29, 2009
by Trev
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews
Easy to install,
Well priced,
Poor design, verry loud,
Water director breaks easily.
Do not buy this if you expect more than is advertised.
This pump is good if you are looking for something just to get the job done, if you want quality and quiet, I recomend a different product.
Pros: works as advertised.
Cons: poorly designed loud.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

I love these little guys!

October 22, 2008
by Metalo
fromAbilene, Tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I have three fish tanks (at the moment, will be adding a few more down the road). I use too of these in my 75gal and one in my 29gal. I never really believed in gravel filters until I tried a gravel filter with a power head on it. One on my 75 gal tank has a Co2 generator (with mechanical gas separator) hooked up to it and the other one just uses air, this way the tank get a charge of both air and co2 (the co2 for my plants).
My 29gal tank was just kind of a hobby tank I threw together for a few neons and guppies, but the power filter it had was trash, the water didn't look like it was getting clean, a new filter pad could have fixed this but the motor on it was so loud that I had to turn it off at night just to sleep, so I finally but a undergravel filter for it and one of these powerheads and man what a difference in filtration.
These things are so quiet and I have never had any trouble with them at all.
Pros: quiet, good water circulation
Cons: the plastic directional heads break off easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Cheap Product

May 19, 2008
by sjlchgo
fromchicago
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Bought one of these about a month ago and it died! No signs or anything....just looked in and it was dead. Wouldn't recommend or buy again. Didn't produce much of a current either. I've found most of Top Fin's products to be defective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

First Powerhead for Water Circulation

October 3, 2007
by VILLAINxx
fromsacramento, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
I bought it to use it to circulate the water top flow for my 75 gallon tank and it works PERFECTLY. You will see the water cycle before your eyes. I had Bubble aeration for a while and it does not do the job by itself. Do your fish a favor and Invest in a 25 dollar power head 50. Its surprisingly silent as well.
I dont believe in the cleaning quality of a under graveler. So i could not tell you.<b/r>
PS BECAREFUL when you screw on the waterflow guide!!!! Take off the swivel before you start turning. Trust me, i broke off a pin, but it still works fine. I worry if my oscar will bump it off though.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin(r) Powerhead
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

The POWER

April 30, 2007
by KingKong
fromLansing, MI
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
This power head is amazing! The quality is exellent. It's quiet and the best part is that it's submersible so I can create any type of current any where I want in the fish tank. The water outlet is adjustable meaning you can aim the water jet just about anywhere making this a very versitile product. I use this power head to recreate the curents of a river making my fish feel right at home. Great product for low budget tanks.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.