PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Pet Hair Eliminator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Pet Hair Eliminator

This versatile tool can be used both directly on pets and on surfaces such as upholstery, carpets and fabrics to remove and gather loose hair.
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
12 of 14(86%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Pet Hair Eliminator
Review 1 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

I was skeptical

July 6, 2013
by JetsetTX
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I bought this despite the fact that I was skeptical that it would work, figured I would return it if it didn't. It works great! I previously had to vacuum the furniture, especially my dining room chairs which my cat loves to sit on all the time. I sued a brush attachment and every few seconds would have to take the hair out of the brush part, that and the fact that I to drag out the vacuum cleaner and move the chairs around made it a chore I dreaded and did less often than needed. This gets the hair out of the chairs with a lot less hassle! I would not have believed it had I not seen it for myself. I also works great on all my other furniture as well as on my cat. Best part is she loves it when brush her with it so that eliminates the need to have to chase her down and then hold her down to do it. I definitely recommend this brush!
Pros: easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Love it!

December 7, 2012
by New2cats
fromMidwest
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Based on the review from the person that said shelter cats loved this tool, I bought it for our kitten. She has short/medium fine white hair that floats in the air and sticks to everything. Wire brushes did nothing, Furminator did a fair job but she didn't care for it much and if a cat doesn't like something, you're in for a frustrating time ending in a bunch of new scratches. Add to it the fact that I was trying to trim her claws at the same sitting and no one was having fun.
True to the "shelter cat" review, my kitten LOVED this tool. She laid in my lap and purred and was even calm enough after for me to trim her nails more easily. It takes a few minutes for enough static electricity to build up for it to really start collecting hair, but once it does it works well. It takes a little while, 10-15 minutes maybe, to do enough brushing to to make a difference, but in the mean time your kitty is loving it. When I am done I am completely covered in hair, it loosens a fair amount of hair that it does not collect, but it's worth it to me to decrease the amount floating all over the house.
If there is a thick coating of hair on a place that she rests, this will decrease it enough to use a sticky roller to get the rest, but it's not my 1st choice for cleaning surfaces other than the cat.
Pros: easy to use
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great!

August 31, 2012
by Nessa3883
fromWichita, KS
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I had to clean out a huge RV that had a cat living in it. The RV had no power so I couldn't vacuum. This brush was great for removing hair from the furniture and carpet.
Pros: easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Works great on furniture

June 9, 2012
by GrubProvider
fromHamilton, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
We purchased this hoping it would help remove the loose hair from our cats. It works, but not as well as I'd hoped. However when we put it to our furniture it scooped up nearly all of the hair. We used it on our couches, all of the cat perches and beds. It lifted off a lot of hair and I was pretty impressed. It also washes easily and dries quickly as well. If you want a cat brush, this one may not be up to snuff.. but if you are looking for a great way to remove hair from your furniture then this is definitely a great buy.
Pros: easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews

good massager

January 4, 2011
by 3bowlsofporridge
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
I would recommend this as a massager, not as a hair eliminator. My cats love, especially the pointy tips at the top, the feel of it as a massager... it didn't 'pick up and out' as much hair as other devices I've tried. It's also not so easy to clean the hair out of the bendy rubber bristles. But, if you're not looking to get rid of massive amounts of hair, and want to stimulate and massage, it's good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Not good

August 28, 2010
by JessicaH
fromBaltimore, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
I have 2 long hair cats and when I tried using this on them, it did not collect much fur and was difficult to contain the excess fur.
Pros: soft bristles
Cons: did not collect much fur, excess fur difficult to contain
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Total waste of money!

May 10, 2010
by grovishdt
fromSE Ohio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
I tried this brush on different types of fabric, and different types of dog and cat coats. It took some hair off of my couch upholstery, but failed miserably on car upholstery and all four of my pets (2 cats & 2 dogs). I have read many reviews of this product on several different web sites, and most of them rave about this product. I don't understand how anyone could be happy with this brush. In my opinion DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!
Pros: pretty teal colored brush head
Cons: does not perform as advertised
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

January 12, 2010
by Pockbun
fromToronto, Ontario Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
My cat loves this brush! Patches was an abused cat who was hit on her back and hind quarters. I wanted to groom her but was afraid I would hurt her with a regular bursh so I got this one. I go nice and slow and she is letting me brush her back! She also rolls on her back and makes me do her belly! And it really does work! Also I do not have to worry about poking her by accident. Great product!!! <3
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Effective brush

June 1, 2009
by ne00
fromCupertino, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
First brush I ever bought for our new kitty. Picked it over all the other brushes at the store because of the cost, the soft bristles, and the claim to eliminate pet hair. Our cat was shedding badly as we had just adopted it from the pet shelter. As soon as we got home we brushed her and the tool really worked. We were able to get a lot of her hair out, without it going everywhere and she seems to love it, rolling over for us without us nudging. Only downside was to pull out the hair from the brush. Need to wash it to really get all the hair out.
Pros: our cat loved it, gets the hair out
Cons: need to wash to really clean the brush
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Best cat brush

May 5, 2009
by optomcat
fromMiddleton, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Very effective at removing loose hair--if I were used this several times per week, I probably wouldn't have cat hair tumbleweeds at all. I really can't believe how well it works! And my abyssinian cat who hates most brushes can't get enough--worth it just because my cats love it so much.
Pros: cats love it
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

The cat that would never be brushed loves this!

November 11, 2008
by Love2Sing2MyCats
fromAtlanta Metro Area
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I have a 20 year old girl cat who in the 8 years I've had her would never never let me brush or comb her, even with the softest brush and the most gentle handling. She would howl and hiss and scream bloody murder!
I bought the Pet Hair Eliminator for my new young boy cat but decided to just try it on Miss Jessie anyway. Lo and behold, she LOVED it... like one of the other reviewer's cats, she kept rubbing against it as if to say "more, more!" and let me brush almost her entire body. She (a long haired orange) has never looked so beautiful! I was amazed.
Then I took the PHE to her cat bed and all the hair came right up in seconds... I won't need to wash her bed as often now ... nor will there be all those little balls of hair left in the washing machine and dryer.
This product is really worth the money. Cleans up easily, too.
Pros: easy to use, easy to clean after use, my cat loves it
Cons: none
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Ask a Scared Shelter Cat

November 1, 2008
by Cully
fromValrico, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I volunteer at my local SPCA. When cats first get to the shelter, as you can imagine, the are petrified, mostly cowering at the back of the cage. Scientific studies have shown that a certain stress chemical in cats is astronomically high in the beginning, and not fully receding to normal levels for about nine days on average.
This means that many cats are not even adoptable for several days, and anyone that is involved with shelter life knows how vital each day is.
I have a secret weapon though - the Pet Hair Eliminator.
When I open up the cage of a scared cat who otherwise would not want to come out and socialize, I start grooming them with this magic rubber wand. And I can see what they are thinking... I swear.
They are thinking, "Nothing that feels THIS amazing could possibly want to hurt me." And after literally 1-2 minutes, the once petrified cats are maneuvering their bodies to give me better access. After another 1-2 minutes, they are climbing on me, wanting to be loved.
It is my personal opinion from my experience with this product that it actually can save lives! Every day counts for a shelter cat. If I can make an animal adoptable 2-4 days ahead of a normal schedule, I give that animal a fighting chance at a happy life.
I give this product my highest recommendation.
Pros: rubber bristles feel amazing to the cats.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

amazing for furniture & rugs

August 24, 2008
by seb96
fromLos Angeles, CA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I fight a constant battle with cat fur on my couches and living room rug. Vaccums can't pick it up, sticky rollers only do so much. But this brush is amazing! It is the one product that actually works. Hair comes off and rolls into little clumps which are easily swept up. I am buying two more since I've worn down the first to its nubs.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pet Hair Eliminator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

February 24, 2007
by yippie
fromMI
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
This product removed fist full of hair that I was unable to remove with other grooming products. My pet enjoyed the grooming so much she did not want to get out of my lap. As far as a cleaning tool around the house didn't work as well.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.