PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats

Kills fleas and ticks, while it cleans and deodorizes.
Overall rating:
3.125 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
10 of 16(62%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Review 1 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Great smelling fleas

November 5, 2013
by CynRae
fromConnecticut
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
I bought this because it said it killed fleas instantly and also had insect growth regulator (IGR) so it would keep the fleas away for 30 days. I bathed my cat and held him down for the required 5 minutes for the product to do it's job, and as soon as he was rinsed off I could see fleas crawling all over him. A week later I continue to see fleas and flea eggs. The shampoo smelled great but this product did not work at all. Additionally, the next day I also used Sentry's squeeze on flea & tick treatment and that also did not work.
Pros: Fragrance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews

not very good for preventing fleas

October 22, 2013
by dallazkatt
frombirmingham, al
Used 3 times on stray kitten we brought home. Kills fleas at the time of shampooing. Saw fleas returning within a few days though after the telltale "flea dirt" in kitten's fur. A good shampoo if used just to clean.
Pros: gentle, Fragrance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

June 25, 2013
by D0m1n0
fromClarksville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Me and my husband brought a cat from my mom's house to our apartment and when we got her here we noticed that she had tapeworm so we treated her for that but that also meant she must have fleas, which she does. We bought this back in probably January and we thought it helped but recently we've been trying to use it on our kitty and it hasn't done anything at all for our cat because she still has fleas, even worse than before. I bathed her with liquid dish soap and that was 10x more effective than this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

No problems

January 12, 2013
by AJ28
fromStronghurst, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
When we adopted our stray cat she had fleas. I used this shampoo on her and I haven't seen a flea on her since, and believe me I check frequently. I like how soft she was after her bath too, and the smell of the shampoo is good.
Pros: gentle, Fragrance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews

Works somewhat...

September 15, 2012
by Catmanchoo
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We have five indoor cats, and for the first time in 15 years, we have gotten a flea problem. We bought this shampoo with the hopes that it would do the trick. As it states, it killed the fleas that were present on the cats at the time we bathed them, but after a day or so, the fleas returned with a vengeance. We have not seen any evidence that it breaks the life-cycle of the fleas even with two applications. We are going to try a different brand next time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Great product!

March 9, 2012
by HomeZoo
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
I bought this product years ago when my now 6 year old cat was maybe 4 months old. He had fleas bad and I the poor college student decided to go the cheaper flea shampoo route vs. the exspensive Advantage route (now I do both). This was the only shampoo I could find at Petsmart and I was pleasantly surprised. The bottle says lasts for 30 days and it did get about 99% of the fleas the first use! (I did find one that had been taking refuge on his nose, poor kitty). I bathed him monthly for about 6 months even though the fleas had been gone since the second month, I was playing it safe. I have since bought the same dog version of this product for my dogs and still buy it for my cat and none of my animals have fleas.
I only gave it a 4 for pet satisfaction because for the shampoo to work properly it has to sit for 5 minutes and my cat hates that part. Well, he hates the whole bath process but oh well! No more fleas for him!
Pros: gentle, Fragrance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Not a miracle shampoo

October 13, 2011
by FishtheCat
fromBaltimore, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This product is very good. However the claims of no reinfestations for 30 days isn"t totally true. You need other preventative measures. This shampoo will kill all of the fleas on your cat. If you have fleas in your house (more than likely) they will just jump back on your cat. Spray with Precor 2000 plus take your cats somewhere and use this shampoo while the chemicals dry. Repeat in 2 weeks then 4 weeks. That should break the cycle in most homes (unless you've let it get out of hand).
Pros: Fragrance, gentle
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Seems to have worked

September 3, 2011
by adv112
fromLancaster, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just bought this today and used it on my cat after trying the flea treatment by the same company (which didn't work). After enduring multiple scratches and what I'm convinced was an attempt at human homicide by the cat, she seems to be much better. Her fur is VERY soft and has the luster back after using aforementioned flea treatment. She smells great too, something I wasn't expecting in a flea shampoo. I have combed her a couple of times since bathing her and I don't see the flea dirt I've been seeing for days.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

June 21, 2011
by Evie07
fromSeguin, tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Smells good for a flea shampoo. Doesn't really kill fleas but did help get them off the skin so i could see them better on my white cat and kill some of them. I bathe him weekly, for some reason he tolerates bathing better than brushing, so I figured I would try a flea shampoo. Not bad but doesn't smell as good or strong as the usual shampoo I have for him.
Pros: easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Waste of money!

December 7, 2010
by KittyinIL
fromIllinois
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
I bought this today hoping to stave off the live fleas on my indoor cat until the pills I ordered arrived. I combed kitty and found maybe 6 huge fleas then shampooed with this product. I just checked him again about 13 hours later and found a live flea on his neck. Keep in mind, the only way I found out he had fleas to begin with was from finding flea waste on his fur and had never seen a live flea on him before combing him today. I will try and return this and hope to get my money back. After kitty has the pills to kill the live fleas he will be getting a nice dose of Frontline. People, don't waste your money! All my cat got was a bath that he endured and he's been super tired ever since from the stress of it all.
Cons: ineffective
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Not sure why there are so many positive reviews...

June 25, 2010
by apocea
fromSan Marcos, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
First, I'd like to address the other reviews. None of them seem to mention that this gets rid of fleas. In fact they all elude to it reducing the fleas. How do they know this? Do they take roll of all the fleas to ensure the numbers have reduced?
I'll list the pros of the product first since I can do so in just a few words. It made the cats smell good (they didn't sting before hand, but they didn't smell flowery). This is the only reason I gave it a second star in the effectiveness category, but probably shouldn't have.
This is a flea and tick shampoo, so one who uses it might expect that it will rid your pet of fleas and ticks. My cats are both indoor cats, and they both have fleas for the first time ever. I purchased this shampoo at a local Pet Smart hoping to avoid the more costly monthly medication (even though I knew bathing them would be a pain). On the bottle it lists that it is effective for 30 days. My wife and I suffered through the bathing process, and followed the directions to a "T". I even used the carpet spray in the house made by Sentry to help. Both products appear to have failed. There has not been a moment since using the product that the fleas have relented. It's not even worth the hassle to try and bathe both cats again hoping that it will work on a second go around. I've noticed no reduction in fleas what so ever. I intend to return both the products offered by Sentry, and will just bite the bullet and purchase either Advantage or Frontline. If you are just hoping to clean your cats, then purchase a normal less abrasive pet shampoo for them.
Pros: smells good
Cons: does nothing for the fleas
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Sentry flea Shampoo

June 4, 2010
by Vivaldi
fromSan Jose, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I used this shampoo on my cats. I have 2 that are indoors and 1 that is out. the outdoor cat seemed to have less fleas the second go around, but one thing to keep in mind is just shampooing alone will not eliminate the fleas entriely. Overall I have been bathing the cats about every 3 weeks and it does seem to give them some comfort.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Awesome Shampoo!

September 9, 2009
by Bluuki
fromCamarillo, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
I like to use this shampoo on my cat, Sushi, when he gets fleas. He does not like being bathed, but after his flea bathes he is usually in a happier mood. There always seems to be significantly less fleas after I bathe him, and his fur feels softer. Also, this shampoo smells pretty decent compared to some flea shampoos that I have used in the past.
Overall, it's a great product and I would not use anything else for Sushi. 5/5 stars hands down.
Pros: smells good, makes fur softer, gets rid of fleas
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

follow directions exactly for good results

April 13, 2008
by petpro
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Used in Florida where fleas are year round, with good results.DO leave on for 5 minutes as directed.Smells okay and rinses fairly easily.Worked for my little sensitive-skinned dog too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

I won't buy anything else!

October 7, 2007
by JUSTstacy
fromIrving, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
I have two indoor cats, one who is 18 pounds and the other who is 9 pounds. I have used this product since I brought the first cat home. I have not seen one flea since and I LOVE the smell it leaves them with. Great value for your money. As long as you use the product as directed you should get the results it promises...
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry PurrScriptions Flea & Tick Shampoo for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Not worth the money

June 8, 2007
by Heather1
fromPlainfield, IN
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
I used this shampoo on my kitten the moment we set foot into our house. The shampoo did not kill any fleas like it said and now my kitten who is an indoor cat has more fleas and he is our only animal we have. Do not waste your money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.