PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Adams Flea & Tick Shampoo with D-Limonene

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Adams Flea & Tick Shampoo with D-Limonene

Contains D-Limonene, a naturally effective insecticide derived from citrus oil. Safe for use on dogs, cats, puppies and kittens age 12 weeks and over.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 9
11 of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Adams Flea & Tick Shampoo with D-Limonene
Review 1 for Adams Flea & Tick Shampoo with D-Limonene
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Instant flea killer

February 4, 2013
by Hypersweeper
fromRoseland, La
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
This product is great for killing fleas on contact and reducing the number of fleas instantly but does not keep on killing. Only good for immediate use on killing them. But over all pretty good!
Pros: effective
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adams Flea & Tick Shampoo with D-Limonene
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Amazing!

July 4, 2012
by Gamx991
fromColumbus, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Applied this to both my dogs as directed, worked up a lather and let the dogs sit for 10 minutes. Every flea was dead. Thank you Adams! I have tried everything to kill these fleas and finally some relief.
Pros: easy to use, price, effective
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adams Flea & Tick Shampoo with D-Limonene
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great product

April 24, 2012
by je08836
fromHouston, Tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
This is a great product that works quickly and effectively. I used it on all 3 of our dogs and the fleas were dead or gone immediately. You can save 5 bucks by buying this product at Wal-mart, which I learned after I had already bought the first bottle at Petsmart.
Pros: easy to use, effective
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adams Flea & Tick Shampoo with D-Limonene
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Just as good as everyone said!

September 30, 2011
by ashleesue
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My dogs are prone to fleas during the warmer months. I have 3 labs and they get fleas every year, without fail. Unfortunately the only thing that seemed to work was Capstar (oral flea med), and that gets expensive. It also doesn't kill the fleas in the house. I bought some Borax and that helped a little, but they were still found on my dogs and occasionally one would jump on my arm.
I read online reviews for this product and the Adams flea spray, and bought both. The spray works great! Be sure to get in dark corners, which is where flea eggs like to hide.
The shampoo worked better than I imagined! All the reviews were positive, so for less than $20 I had nothing to lose. I bathed all 3 dogs and they didn't bite or scratch themselves for 3 days! Gave them another bath and now they're happy and their coats are healthy again :-)
BUY THIS PRODUCT!! Your pet will thank you!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adams Flea & Tick Shampoo with D-Limonene
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Himayalan Kitty says it works

June 27, 2011
by CherylLovesCat
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Thanks PetSmart Reviewers!
I bought a collar, a shampoo at another big box store when I should've come here first!
I have a Himalayan cat - long long fur and i had to wash her twice in one week because the other shampoo didn't work. This one did. Lots floated dead in the water. As I cleaned the tub afterward I found so many more than the other shampoo I used! and after nit combing her, I found many many more, some still alive but I sprayed the Adams mist on those and "popped" them and put them in a baggie like the other reviewer did just in case.
And her long beautiful coat didn't come out feeling like straw. She didn't groom herself immediately after - and she hairballed the next morning but really she stopped eating because of her fleas and I am happy her appetite is back. =)
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adams Flea & Tick Shampoo with D-Limonene
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

The flea solution!!!!

January 17, 2010
by Idelis
fromSan Clemente, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
My 8 year old Golden got fleas for the first time and I had no idea how to deal with it. First thing I did was run to the store and bought flea drops and a flea collar, WASTE OF MONEY!! I honestly feel as though they made her worse, she was inching uncontrollably to the point where she was totally out of breath. Then I took some time to read online reviews and found this product. I gave her the first bath and it was INSTANT relief. She didn't scratch again for about 4 days. Then by her second bath (exactly a week after the first) she stopped scratching all together. Im giving her her third bath today just to be safe, but I'm pretty sure she's flea-free. BUY THIS SHAMPOO.
P.S.
To rid your home of fleas: sprinkle Borax laundry booster (dirt cheap, available at Wal-Mart) on all surfaces {beds, carpet, couch, etc} and let sit for a few days. Then just vacuum it up and you should be all set.
Pros: fast, effective
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adams Flea & Tick Shampoo with D-Limonene
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

This works, buy it...

November 2, 2009
by boxerman
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Came back from a trip with a flea infestation! Grabbed this product right when we got back and rushed my boxer to the bath tub. Followed the directions and dead fleas started appearing left and right in the bath water. It worked better than I could have imagined!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adams Flea & Tick Shampoo with D-Limonene
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Adams Flea & Tick with D-Limonene works...

June 29, 2008
by MandM
fromDallas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Don't let the thin consistancy fool you, a shot glass worth of product can lather up a 100lb shaggy dog. After five minutes of scrubbing, I was picking off dead fleas. 5 days ago, my house could have appeared on National Geographic for a documentary on fleas. I expected tons of fleas on my dogs, but apparently a prescription for Capstar worked wonders. Capstar is a pill that doesn't hurt the dog, but kills most fleas, ticks, and their eggs. De-flea your house with a spray or bomb, wash all your linens, spray your yard, use Capstar, and use Adams shampoo. You'll have a very happy dog.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adams Flea & Tick Shampoo with D-Limonene
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Adams Flea Shampoo

August 25, 2007
by JerseyShoreJim
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I tried a few diffent flea shampoos on my dogs but nothing really seemed to work. I researched on PetSmart website and looked at some feedback regarding different brands. Adams seemed to have the most positive feedback so I tried it. I was amazed how well it worked. Yes it cost a little more but the results were what I was looking for. Most fleas died right there in the bathtub. I now have happy dogs.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Adams Flea & Tick Shampoo with D-Limonene
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5 12 reviews
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews