PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder

Sentry has harnessed the power of natural botanical extracts to produce a line of flea, tick and mosquito control products that feature natural active ingredients.
Overall rating:
2.542 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
11 of 24(46%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Review 1 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

Works

December 22, 2013
by R3dOtaku
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
Product works. It smells fine. It is not overpowering at all. The chemical and perfume isles at stores are much stronger. Product does seem to help keep the fleas away. However, every container we received was like a bag of chips in that it was only about a third full at most.
Pros: effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Great product

November 2, 2013
by 2rosey
fromJersey shore
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Have used this powder for the past few years and it works. The smell at least to me is a cinnamon and spice like. Never bothered me. It might linger for a few days....just felt like it was still working. The fact that it is natural is huge, hate using powders and sprays that say to wash everything and not to breathe it. Might kill the fleas but harsh chemicals will kill everything.
Pros: easy to use, effective
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

seems to work

August 31, 2013
by njsweetnlight
fromMays landing, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I'm 9 months pregnant and recently had to get rid of my cat. Well after my cat left she left fleas behind which I dreaded because I'm allergic. I couldn't bomb or spray chemicals. So I found this product and bought it immediately. I rushed home and applied it as directed and like other reviews the smell almost knocked me to the floor. I sprinkled and ran to the next room and then went downstairs. The smelled followed me downstairs and was so bad I had to grab my 1 year old and run out of the house. I had my oldest sweep carpet when she came home and vacuum hours later. So far day one NO new bites or seen a flea. I would do it again no matter what the smell is because Fleas are a NIGHTMARE! I dusted because it was on everything and opened Windows and all is clear. Hope I've seen the last of the horrible flea problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Works Great!

July 7, 2013
by MommyofRogue
fromYadkinville
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I am not sure why there are so many bad reviews with this product. I purchased this last night as a first effort of taking care of a potential flea problem. Found fleas on my inside only cat and decided to go with this product as a way to take care of any fleas inside without harming her or any of the people living in my house. To apply, I used a broom after sprinkling it on the carpet, this allows the powder to get deep down in the fibers. I tried this in our den while we slept (a good 8-9 hours), and after the first round of clean up, there was about 50-100 fleas dead in the vacuum, among some dead spiders and other bugs that we didn't know where in the carpet. Second round of vacuuming, only about 10 dead fleas total. Yes, there is a strong smell with this product, however, nothing you can't deal with, if it's too much, open the windows. But for those who are saying this doesn't work, I'm willing to bet they didn't follow the instructions, and didn't allow the product to sit long enough. I can't wait to do the rest of my carpets to see what we find.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

All natural - no chemicals

February 21, 2013
by suzpinky
fromLa Jolla, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
I bought both the powder & the spray. I liked the powder better because it didn't smell as strong and it isn't oily like the spray. The spray does kill fleas right on contact, but it smells very strong. Best to spray their bedding outside or open your windows up in your house. This product is better than using toxic chemicals that can cause cancer in your pets and/or you. The nasty fleas are now gone!!! I also use K9 Advantix and put drops evenly on their back starting at the shoulder blades, middle back, and back hip area. Remember to treat all environments. If you see baby fleas on your pet, it is an environmental issue. Good Luck!
Pros: effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Would rather smell harsh chemicals. AWFUL PRODUCT

October 12, 2012
by DV123
fromLong Island, NY
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Would rather smell harsh chemicals. AWFUL PRODUCT
Cons: didn't work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Great stuff.

August 16, 2012
by Ettlinger87
fromMaine, USA
We used a standard carpet powder that kills fleas then left for a while, came back, cleaned up then applied this to the carpet and made sure we rubbed it in really good. Left for a while then vacuumed again. It leaves a scent but I never had fleas for the rest of the summer.
This year we are gonna fog the house then apply this and bathe our pet. I know it shall work great.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Product does NOT work!

June 8, 2012
by Vega149
fromVirginia Beach, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
I wish I would have read the reviews BEFORE I bought and applied this product. As stated by all reviews, smell is VERY strong.. but I actually could have lived with that. I can say though its been almost 24 hrs now since I've applied and there are fleas everywhere.. including crawling thru the powder on my cats scratching post. It doesn't work.. at all!! I took the powder on my finger, pressed it directly on a flea & the stinking thing jumped away as soon as I released him. This powder also makes a horrible mess.. I don't know how long it will take me to get all the dust out of my house.. maybe forever. WASTE OF MONEY!! If you must try it, buy online and you can get for 1/2 price than charged at Petsmart.
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Very Satisfied

May 30, 2012
by Tiggergirl0325
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
We have used this product twice (about the same time of year each time) and have been quite satisfied both times. It should be noted for those that said it didn't work that all flea products usually require two applications for best effect. The first to kill the first round of adults and the second to kill the ones that hatch from the eggs left behind. There is a strong cinnamon and clove smell...not unpleasant, but quite noticeable and reminiscent of pumpkin pie. I would rather my house smell of that than other chemical poisons. Both times we used it, it both killed the fleas and kept them away.
Pros: easy to use, effective
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Horrible smell that won't go away...

March 9, 2012
by Barney12
fromHuntsville, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have never had a flea problem with my 12 year old dog until the last 3 months. I was bathing him regularly in the flea shampoo and the fleas continued to show up (he is an inside dog). I figured out the fleas had gotten in the carpet in our master bedroom closet (6'x10' space) and everytime he slept in there they would get right back on him. When I opened the container of powder the smell was horrible (understatement). I sprinkled the carpet powder generously in the entire closet and left it for 24 hours. I vacuumed the area for a good 10 minutes and the smell did not get any better. I had to disassemble my vacuum cleaner and rinse it completely out and change the filter. The next evening the smell hit us as soon as we walked in the door. I vacuumed thoroughly again (clean the vacuum again) and the smell was just as bad. I have a small hand held carpet cleaner. I coated the carpet with a liquid carpet cleaner and cleaned it and the smell was just as bad. This evening I rented a carpet cleaner from my local hardware store and have shampooed the carpet. I can still smell the powder. We have the windows open in the house and fans blowing and still have the smell and today is Day 4!! There is nothing 'Natural' about this product. My husband has sprayed so much Febreze that now there is nice smell of chemicals and Febreze in the house!! GAG!!!
I have not seen any fleas in the closet as of yet...but I'm sure they died from the smell!!!!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Dont Waste Your Money

November 6, 2011
by LILBIT2
fromDry Ridge, KY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this after my 3 dogs had fleas and started to notice them in our spare bedroom. I used the product and even left it on for the full 24 hours before vacuming. When I went in to vacum the fleas were just as bad as before I put the product down. This is probably one of the worst products I have ever used.
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

natural but powdery

September 30, 2011
by 2greydogs
fromboston
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I liked that this product wasn't all chemicals. It does have a very strong clove smell which I don't mind, I applied it then shut the room off with windows open overnight. It did vacuum up fairly easily but tends to get in the air via the vents in the vacuum, don't wear contacts while vacuuming!. I put it on my microfiber couch and most of it vacuumed up easily, i think ill have to do a second or third pass with the vacuum though. Too early to tell how well it worked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

DONT BUY

September 27, 2011
by DISGUSTING
fromPA
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
AFTER READING THE REVIEWS AND THE PRODUCT BEING "ALL NATURAL" , I PURCHASED AS I ALSO HAVE A PREGNANT PERSON IN THE HOUSE AND WAS SCARED OF OTHER PRODUCTS. WE DID LEAVE THE HOUSE AND PRODUCT FOR 24 HRS, WE THANKFULLY HAD INDUSTRAL MASKS W/BUILT IN RESPIRATORS, AND WE STILL HAD TO STOP AND GO OUTSIDE FOR FRESH AIR, THIS PRODUCT SMELLS HORRIBLE!! WHO EVER SAID IT SMELLED LIKE COOKIES .......LETS JUST SAY COOKIES WERE THE LAST THING IT SMELS LIKE, AND LASTED DAYS WITH VACUUMING 3TIMES A DAY, AND THE FLEAS ARE STILL BITING....ALL OF US. WORST PRODUCT EVER- THE SPRAY FOR THE CATS WAS JUST AS BAD, AND THE CATS WERE MISERABLE, DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Really like it!

August 18, 2010
by Negative459
fromSeattle
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
I was skeptical about this product but we didn't want to go through the trouble of putting up our three cats somewhere in order to do a fogger or chemical powder and then have to do all of the detoxifying of the dishes, surfaces, etc. afterwards. I got the Natural Defense and crossed my fingers. We had a pretty good infestation that came in with our inside/outside cat.
There was enough in the container to cover our medium sized 2.5 bedroom apartment. The stuff smells like spiced egg nog or something. We've actually lovingly dubbed it "Christmas Death". I think it's very pleasant smelling. I sprinkled it around it and then used a broom to sweep/spread it around the carpet and the couches. It spreads kind of clumpy so the sweeping ensured very uniform coverage, got it underneath the edges of the furniture, and kicked up a good cloud of it to settle on the furniture and get into the random nooks and crannies.
Within a couple of hours we were finding dead fleas everywhere. I'm not sure how long we let it sit. Maybe 4 hours tops. Then I did the light vacuum on the floor and couches - enough to get the worst of it but leave some behind for the long-term. By the next day, there was no sign of flea-life to be found, the house smelled nice and the only cleanup to do was a light dusting of the hard surfaces. We went the rest of the summer without a problem.
I would absolutely recommend this stuff. Just make sure that you pull all of the couch cushions and treat them top and bottom and try to get it behind/under furniture etc. The sweeping really helps too, I think. We had to do it again this year and I got lazy and didn't pull the couches apart. Plus we had just moved and we had a lot of boxes stacked up that didn't move to treat around/behind. Plus I vacuumed sooner. The fleas came back a few weeks later. Not a fault of the product, but of my application. Be thorough and let it sit as long as you can, up to the recommended 24 hours.
Pros: non toxic, smells nice, works well
Cons: a little bit of dusting to do afterwards
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

September 27, 2009
by tracker
fromMaryland
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
tried this product not because I'm a green freak but out of concern for poisoning my dog. The smell made me want to wretch it was/is so strong. I could'nt leave it down for more than an hour. I vacumed the house and the smell is still here after two days. It's giving me awful headache and making my nose run. I don't know if it kills fleas but it's doing a real number on me. I will be returning this product for a refund.
Cons: smell could gag a maggot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Worked for me!

September 17, 2009
by springclean714
fromOrange County, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Seems everyone is having a different experience with this product. I've had effective results. My cats are indoor/outdoor. They brought fleas home and we had a huge infestation. I did some online research and decided to try a cheaper but hopefully effective method before calling in the pros. I bought 2 bottles of this powder (the bottle is only about half full when you purchase it). I picked up EVERYTHING off the floor that I could. I sprinkled it ALL OVER every inch of floor that could be vacuumed up. (For places that couldn't be vacuumed I bought the carpet flea spray.) Now, you don't have to super coat the carpet. Just cover it in a fine layer. Then you take a broom and sweep it into the carpet. While doing this, I recommend covering your face. Also cover anything that you wouldn't want to have a little bit of powder cover (which is easy to clean, wipe it off like you would dust). I let it sit for 2-3 hours. Then I vacuumed the top layer with a regular vaccuum 2 times. Then THOROUGHLY went over it with a shop vac. I also stripped and washed EVERYTHING I could. If it was something that couldn't be washed, I put it in the dryer on the air (no heat) setting. The cats got a good bath with flea shampoo, good brushing, then treatment of Advantage. They've also been kept indoors since. The powder was strong smelling, so I suggest sleeping in a different room or other place if you can. For 2 days after, we vacuumed again and aired out the rooms. The smell was gone in about a day.
All of this has worked very effectively so far. My roomate was skeptical and was expecting the fleas to be gone asap. I told him you have to give it time to work. I asked him again a week after doing all of this if he's been bit or noticed any fleas, and he said no. He says it's been effective. Fleas are tricky and hard to get rid of. Have patience and be thorough in your cleaning. It takes a FEW days to notice a difference, not just one. I do recommend this powder along with washing sheets and vacuuming.
Pros: worked effectively (give it few days though) :)
Cons: the smell but that's not unexpected.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Nope

June 1, 2009
by VitaminC
fromSomewhere, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I tried the version of this that you're supposed to put on the cat and around the bedding and house and anywhere else that needs to be treated and I would have to agree with everyone else, the smell is really strong. No a nasty smell, just really, really strong. It makes the cat's fur feel tacky.
Oh, and no, it did not work at all.
Pros: none
Cons: true
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Works well

May 15, 2009
by Piepie
fromSan Antonio, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
If your goal is to try to rid your house of fleas without putting down poison then this is the right product for you. It smells like cloves which I guess really offends the other people who used this product, but since we have used the flea prevention liquid before we were prepared for what it smells like. To me I would rather smell this stuff than the poisons used in the other products. Keep in mind fleas are crafty little bugs and it could take several times of treating pets and house before you are completely rid of them, but I would definetely use this product again because I can use it in the same room with my birds and after it is vacuumed up I can let my daughter walk around in the room barefoot without being worried she'll need to go to the ER. As for effectiveness it works by dehydrating the fleas, eggs and larvae so leaving it down for as long as possible is the best way to get the most out of it.
Pros: works not using pesticides
Cons: most effective if left on longer than 1 hr minimum
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

sentry flea & tick carpet powder

November 4, 2008
by crmolly
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I would never buy this product again the smell was so offensive we had to leave the house. 3 days later and you can still smell it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry(r) Natural Defense Flea & Tick Carpet Powder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews

Great idea, poor results

October 17, 2008
by DBfromNC
fromRaleigh, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Fleas in new house. Wife nuts. Must kills fleas. Have kids, prefer green methods. Applied per instruction. Fleas still there. Failure.
Pros: not poisonous to kids
Cons: doesn't work effectively
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next